1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice

west coast usa issues

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tylerdonohue1, Dec 15, 2020.

  1. tylerdonohue1

    tylerdonohue1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    im having an issue with the new update. for me west coast usa has no bridges or overpasses. and has almost no buildings, along with none of the new spots loaded. wondering if anyone else has seen this or how to fix this.
     
  2. Beam NG Driver

    Beam NG Driver
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    51
  3. gscare10

    gscare10
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    I am having the same problem. I don't have any mods installed and have already cleared cache I will try verifying game files in a minute and see what that does
    --- Post updated ---
    I verified files and it found one but unfortunately it did not fix west coast USA so for now I just wont use it
     
  4. fivedollarlamp

    fivedollarlamp
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,964
    Do a clean re-install.
    --- Post updated ---
    https://documentation.beamng.com/support/support_tools/clean_install.html
     
  5. gscare10

    gscare10
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    I would but my internet sucks and that would take 2 days of me leaving my computer on full time and it doesn't like that very much. I don't usually use that map to begin with so i will just wait until I get some high speed internet to fix the problem. until then I will watch this thread to see if it works for anyone else.
     
  6. B3_Burner

    B3_Burner
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Messages:
    400
    Mine loaded fine with all the new doo-dads and fixins. Sorry I can't be of more help than that. Just wanted to confirm that it does work for some people, just so that it's not viewed as hopeless.

    It is a shame that you could have 100 people with the same game, and depending upon computer, hardware, etc; get 100 different results. That aspect of technology has always bugged the be-jeezus out of me. I hope you find a solution soon.
     
  7. iPlayzTG-BMG

    iPlayzTG-BMG
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    159
    Nothing is broken for me, try reinstalling your game
     
  8. B3_Burner

    B3_Burner
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Messages:
    400
    EDIT/ADDENDUM: This is a long shot, but when I went on East Coast USA, I had a whole bunch of missing textures, and the gas stations and bridges were gone. As soon as I tossed my ECU custom level (that I had made back in v0.20) back in my "hide" folder, and restarted the game, the default map with everything proper came back.

    Make sure you didn't make changes to WCU and save it as your own personal level in your Documents/BeamNG Drive/levels folder, from version 20 or earlier. I've never had that "break the textures" before, but maybe this update is different. If you did, it's worth a shot.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. gscare10

    gscare10
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    I did consider doing this at first but I didn't do it right away and forgot all about it. but now that you brought it up i realize that i did change and save the visible distance option in the map editor. I'm not sure if this would cause the problem or why it would but it is worth a shot.
     
  10. B3_Burner

    B3_Burner
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Messages:
    400
    Yes!!!!! A change is a change, no matter what. Any change you made, automatically detoured the mapping of the level, away from the default program folder, and toward your custom documents/ levels folder instead. Yes indeed, even something small is all it would take. It's not what you did, so much as the change altered the entire folder and file mapping.
    All I did was change time of day and angle of the sun in mine, and that was enough as well.

    Disregard the above. I was only able to replicate the above situation with East Coast USA. Something unique about it in my folder. Other maps having the old custom map levels made no difference. So sorry to lead anyone astray.
     
    #10 B3_Burner, Dec 16, 2020
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2020
  11. gscare10

    gscare10
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    well as much as I want to test this to see if it works my crapshoot of a pc decided that it now does not have enough ram to open west coast USA even though it did 3 hours ago when I first tried to use it. oh well eventually it will let me. (Italy did this too, for about a month I could not load it in and beam would crash due to low ram but it started working again recently.) until then hopefully anyone else with the problem can get it solved
     
  12. default0.0player

    default0.0player
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,727
    You don't need to do a clean re-install. That's because the game files are very unlikely to corrupt, in fact, when loading the map the files in the user folder have priority over game files. Thus if the map load has error, delete both the "C:\Users\yourusername\Documents\BeamNG.drive\levels" and "C:\Users\yourusername\Documents\BeamNG.drive\cache.0.21.0.0"
     
  13. AN2Felllla

    AN2Felllla
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    For me it's covered in no textures. Even after deleting a ton of mods and clearing the cache...
    Well, for east coast USA lol
     
  14. gscare10

    gscare10
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    west coast was fixed by the way i tried. my pc just thought it didn't have ram but I fixed that problem and west coast almost runs at 30 fps compared to the 15 it used to
     
  15. Gagarin001

    Gagarin001
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    same problem
     
  16. Jeyden Edwards

    Jeyden Edwards
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2021
    Messages:
    14
    can anyone please help me with the west coast USA issue going on? I did a clean install, verified the integrity, cleared the cache, and nothing is working.
     
  17. den_chik

    den_chik
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    830
    Clear Levels in Documents/BeamNG.drive

    ...while "clean install" should be enough.
     
  18. Jeyden Edwards

    Jeyden Edwards
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2021
    Messages:
    14
    For some reason my friend I do not have a levels folder.
    --- Post updated ---
    Also, forgot to mention when I load in the game I have no control. Cant drive, cant turn the wheels, anything. It’s not my wheel everything is working fine. It happened after I reinstalled the game
     
  19. Jeyden Edwards

    Jeyden Edwards
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2021
    Messages:
    14
     
  20. den_chik

    den_chik
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2019
    Messages:
    830
    You have to assign new controls after Clean Install.
    .
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice