1. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.23 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

Will Adding RAM memory stick improve Frames Per Second

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by the_grahams478, Mar 11, 2014.

  1. the_grahams478

    the_grahams478
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    I have an Acer Aspire laptop that has 2 gb memory. if I buy a 4 gb ram card to add to my computer will that increase my frames per second? (that should be 6 gb ram total) I can only run the grid map with the obstacles and the plain grid map at 25 FPS. The other maps are just too laggy. I had a kick ass asus laptop but it quit on me and this is a cheap $300 replacement for Wal-Mart.

    Thanks in advance, Ron
     
  2. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,968
    Well, it will only be 6gb if you are running 64 bit windows (in general if the machine was supplied with under 4gb then they supply 32 bit windows which can only utilise 4gb) and if the laptop is dual slot which again I would think if it had 2gb of ram from factory it would either be a single slot machine or 2 sticks of 1gb, I have never seen a laptop come with a 2gb stick and an empty slot.

    But yeah, 2gb isnt enough for BeamNG. Chances are though that if you only have 2gb (here we go again :p) it doesnt have an even half respectable CPU or GPU either so will still lag no matter what.
     
  3. the_grahams478

    the_grahams478
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Can you recommend a laptop that will run this game and all the maps and wont break the bank? Pretty much all I'll use it for is to run BeamNG, surf YouTube, play dvds, and look up porn.:p lol.:p
     
  4. Kitteh5

    Kitteh5
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    Beam runs OK on 4GB, but 6 is better for opening multiple tabs of XXX 18+ content (or anything else with multiple tabs running, like forums and YouTube) while running Beam and other programs.
     
  5. lucky74dog

    lucky74dog
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    170
    I would not suggest a laptop. There expensive, not as powerful as desktops, not as easy to work on, and break much more easily. I would highly suggest building a PC. It is much cheaper than anything you can buy, and suprisingly easy.Don't know how to build a PC? The only place I'd really suggest buying from is NCIX(http://secure.ncixus.com/ncixpc/). You could also learn! There are many great youtubers who know a lot about tech, and make helpful reviews(https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXuqSBlHAE6Xw-yeJA0Tunw ,https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNovoA9w0KnxyDP5bGrOYzg,and so many more)! If finding the best price, or compatible parts is too difficult, or time consuming, I'd suggest this website(http://pcpartpicker.com/). If you really do need a laptop for portability, I'd suggest any asus gaming laptops, or MSI gaming laptops. Not much else really can play games well without overheating.I hope I have helped inform you on what to buy, and if you haave any questions, pm me, I will be more than happy to help!
     
  6. Kitteh5

    Kitteh5
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    Yeah, I bught a $350 Asus a year ago for school, and it runs Beam at 76C, but if you have a better PC, use it for Beam.
     
  7. Cardinal799

    Cardinal799
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,074
    Great example? Umm lol.

    But isn't BeamNG 32bit? So right now wouldn't it only be able to use 4GB?
     
  8. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,968
    Factor in windows and other applications wanting about 2gb and 6gb becomes a reasonable value for how much RAM you should install in your system, throw dual channel optimisations in and you end up with 8gb as a more realistic value for best performance although you can usually get by on 4gb and my laptop runs 6gb just fine in a mismatched pair.
     
  9. Cardinal799

    Cardinal799
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,074
    I know, but I was talking about the actual program itself. I thought that 32Bit applications/programs can only use up to 4GB, and 64Bit can either use infinite, or some other number.
     
  10. DrowsySam

    DrowsySam
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    943
    No, adding another "Random-Access-Memory Memory" stick wont do much at all IMO.

    If you had a good CPU and GPU, with 2gb RAM, then you would see a big increase when adding more, but you're on a laptop, which have poor CPU's and GPU's(most).

    The max BeamNG uses for me is 1.6gb, and that's on the insanely detailed East Coast map. (Max settings too).
     
  11. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,968
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa366778(v=vs.85).aspx

    Lots of technical mumbo jumbo.
    End result though is that a 32 bit program by default only accesses 2gb of RAM unless set to large address aware in which case it can access 3gb on 32 bit windows or 4gb on 64 bit windows. 64 bit windows programs are 8tb (yes tera) on non server versions and 128tb on server versions of windows, although it is possible to clear the large address flag (which defaults to being on for 64 bit applications) to restore the 2gb limit.

    Your bigger limitation is actually the operating systems *physical* limit. Windows 8 pro and enterprise editions will "only" recognise 512gb and windows 8 128gb. Windows 7 home basic was 8gb, home premium 16 and then pro, enterprise and ultimate 192gb. Some of the windows server versions are upto 4tb.
    IN theory you can run into absolutely huge amounts of RAM, on a 32 bit system you can use 2^32 different memory addresses each 1 a byte large, 2^32 bytes happens to be 4gb. 2^33 would be 8gb, 34 would be 16gb. the x64 architecture might be 64 bit arithmetic but is only actually a 48 bit address, 2^48 addresses, 256tb of RAM. That is something which can be confusing, a particular processor type might be marketed as being a 16 bit processor but might have a 20 bit address space (Remarkably common) and then you have the supposedly 64 bit intel chips in our machines which actually have a 48 bit address space.



    BeamNG using 32 bit torque should be either 2 or 3gb, I do not know if it is large address aware or not but if I had to hazard a guess I would say it is. Windows itself depending on version wants 1-2gb. Then you might have steam, skype and antivirus running as background tasks. My machine right now has 2.8gb of RAM utilised yet the only programs I physically have open infront of me (well 1 isnt infront of me) are chrome with 2 tabs open and windows 8's built in mail app.
     
  12. Kitteh5

    Kitteh5
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    275
    So technically, 32 bit is limited to 2 GB, and 64 bit can utilize multiple amounts of memory depending on OS. There are also differences in memory controllers between 32/64 and the microarchitecture itself. Beam addresses a depending amount of RAM, based on if you are:
    32/64 bit
    How much RAM you have installed
    And how much RAM each object in-game uses, there are differences with vehicles and maps.
     
  13. Davidbc

    Davidbc
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,334
    All that to tell us that you played on East Coast Map. :cool:
     
  14. Cardinal799

    Cardinal799
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,074
    Six, you lost me, and I will have to look over your post repeatedly to get it, since I am stupid with the techno jumbo.

    OT, but I am now gonna learn some code, and I am starting out with HTML and CSS.
     
  15. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,968
    Well I am studying for a computer systems engineering degree so errm, yeah :D


    Not a fan of web development myself, can throw a little HTML, CSS and javascript together but I'd rather not.
     
  16. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,085

    :O, you've played on the east coast map?!?!?!
     
  17. pulley999

    pulley999
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    818
    Totally off-topic, but I'm surprised Drowsy isn't a moderator yet. He seems to have all of the privileges of our other non-developer moderators and seems to be a generally reasonable and level-headed guy(?).

    OT: You won't find a laptop that will reasonably run games for under $800, and even then that's cutting it thin. If you have a KB+M and a monitor laying around I'd recommend building a system. If you're not sure what works with what, Newegg offers some nicely balanced DIY PC bundles with a good chunk of the price lopped off. Just be sure to read reviews on the components before buying it, it seems the bundles are usually mostly good with one stinker component the Egg is having trouble moving on its own.
     
  18. mike22

    mike22
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    339
    LOL, yea, that's what I do and I'd rather not.
     
  19. Cardinal799

    Cardinal799
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,074
    The site I am using has html first, but JavaScript and Python and Ruby are a few others it has.

    By the way, it is codecademy. Friend showed it to me today, and it seems helpful for me.
     
  20. Bubbleawsome

    Bubbleawsome
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,875
    *squints loudly*

    Anyway, wouldn't a map influence VRAM while physics changes RAM? Would someone mind checking out their ram and VRAM usage on different settings? (I'm on spring break away from home) There was a theory that the 32-bit limit is what caused bng to crash after ~80 cars.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice