1. Thread posting restricted: Only the BeamNG team members can post new threads in this sub-forum in order to prevent spam. Posting is available on unlocked threads.

World Editor 2.0

Discussion in 'Microblogs' started by nekitu, Feb 16, 2019.

  1. KyotoBlissard

    KyotoBlissard
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Thank you, great information!

    I have an unrelated question; is it possible to combine assets from 2 different maps ? Asking in case there's an easy way in the World Editor 2.
    I would like to add the ruined piers from Dry Rock island to the new Jungle Rock.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. ltntai

    ltntai
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    265
    I know this is not a how-to-thread, but we are still waiting for the official promise of "Importing assets from other maps will be covered in a different tutorial eventually" to be fulfilled.

    The basic principle to get an asset is to copy its model .dae, its materials from .json, and all its .dds textures to your map's art folder. Here's a BBQ in ECUSA.
    screenshot_2020-12-27_23-51-22.jpg screenshot_2020-12-28_01-12-42.jpg
    On the Inspector window you can see it's located in art/shapes/buildings and on the Material editor that it's made of four materials, each having a few textures. Except lod_vertcol. No one knows what the hell that is, better just ignore it. Copy the .dae and .dds files to your map's art/shapes/buildings folder and merge the .json material "data blocks" to your .json file, rename the paths, and if luck was on your side you're done.

    There's many things to go wrong and it's easier to just copy the whole folder and not worry about the individual materials - just copy and rename all the paths in .json. But that method will fatten your map to gigabyte -class pretty fast.

    In KyotoBlissard's case the ruined pier is six objects and it's in old .cs format so it might be justified to copy the whole buildings folder (only 33.8 Mb). Place it in art/shapes after renaming it e.g. "buildings_dri". Rename the paths in material.cs. Use or delete the extra assets that came as a bonus. But converting it to .json format and copying only what you need would be the right way.

    If there's an easier way, please let me know. It is hideous amount of work just to get:
    screenshot_2020-12-29_00-24-10.jpg
    BBQ at the ruined pier, JRI
     
    • Like Like x 3
  3. KyotoBlissard

    KyotoBlissard
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2020
    Messages:
    28
    Thank you very much Itntai ! I didn't know there was merge option for JSON files, I tried to copy and paste the Ruiner Pier section in the file but everything else got No Texture so I probably did something wrong. I will try again today.
     
  4. ltntai

    ltntai
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    265
    By merging I meant opening the files side by side and manually copy-pasting the bits you need. I'll drop the converted .json in your Nature Preserve thread to not clutter this one anymore.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. DuneWulff

    DuneWulff
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,011
    I have perhaps the dumbest question I've ever asked on this forum.

    With the new World Editor, how do I... put the decal on the... decalroad? :T
    upload_2020-12-30_22-18-17.png
    I don't see that in the documentation, maybe its there and I'm just blind ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

    ----
    I found it lol
    Perhaps having an option to make the "inspector" window open by default when the editor opens would be helpful for people of lesser intelligence such as I :j
     
  6. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    1,706
    It is on the default layout. But the problem is that for some reason the "default layout" is not default. No idea why but it's dumb.
     
  7. DuneWulff

    DuneWulff
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,011
    So here's another question.
    Is there a way to, say, make an "object" unselectable in the world (ie can only be selected in the scenetree)
    I ask because despite having the "lock" icon on my terrain block, I still find myself accidentally selecting it and suddenly I've duplicated my entire terrain block...

    Also, I'm I just daft or does "ctrl x" to cut an object... not actually cut the object?
     
  8. nekitu

    nekitu
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    You can make classes of objects unselectable, by going to View->Visualization Settings... -> Selectable tab, uncheck Terrain.
    Or you can set the TerrainBlock's property isSelectionEnabled in the Inspector to false/unchecked.
    isSelectionEnabled - the object can be selected if checked
    locked - the object can be selected but cannot be move/scaled/rotated
    It is a bit weird, we might change these in the future.
    Ctrl+X will cut the selection, but still leave it until Ctrl+V is pressed to paste it, in the case of objects selection it doesnt do anything, it is usually used for other cut/paste operations, depending on the context of the editing mode.
    Cut doesn't refer to the actual literal cutting/slicing of an object, if that is what you meant.
     
  9. DuneWulff

    DuneWulff
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,011
    o_O
    Neat as that would be - no thats not what I meant. I've just kinda gotten used to working around copy/paste and just using the duplicate-at-camera instead.

    Anywho, I've sent a couple bug reports out but figured I'd write here. Something with clicking the mesh road editor tab causes the game to lock up and crash. I couldn't tell you how to trigger it beyond that it simply... does, sometimes. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    I have noticed though - I think - that it tends to happen more often after changing from the forest editor.
     
  10. ltntai

    ltntai
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    265
    Would it be possible to add some kind of "AI speed" road node property? You could mark the nodes where AI needs to speed up or slow down. Mostly for oneway race tracks and offroad trails.
    screenshot_2021-02-10_23-49-23.jpg
    Here AI gets stuck in sand in traffic mode. If there were a couple of "Floor it!"-nodes before and on the slope it would make it to the top (it does in flee mode). If there is already some inclination detection speed control, it's not working well enough.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  11. beamhole

    beamhole
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2021
    Messages:
    37
    OK, it is helping to lead me in the right direction, but the trouble for me is that I don't know how to get the object's info to get it into the map that I want it to be in.
     
  12. ltntai

    ltntai
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    265
    Is there a way to turn off the decal road auto-width-assumption thing?
    Tonight I was placing many short, decorative (non-AI) dirt and mud road bits in a forest. When I set the default road width to 4.0 I know that want to make 4 m wide road all the way. But the computer knows better and changes road node widths depending on (my guess) the terrain and surrounding objects... badly.
    And when starting a new road, the default 4.0 I set a moment ago is now something random between 0.001 to 10.

    Then the pop-up road material selector. Always pops up half out of screen, needs to be dragged every time to do a search or a selection. Resetting to default layout doesn't help. Also it should remember the recently used roads. Searching back and forth dirt_road and mud_tracks gets old pretty fast.

    edit: had to check the "Only AI Roads" box to get the road width stay fixed :oops:. Shouldn't the checkbox be "Not AI Roads"?
     
    #152 ltntai, Mar 4, 2021 at 3:51 AM
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2021 at 4:14 AM
  13. nekitu

    nekitu
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    I will make this a task for us, we will analyze and fix, thanks.
    The popup might not be linked to the docking system, we will make it so it retains its size and position.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice