Z97 or X99

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by pillojon106, Mar 24, 2015.

  1. pillojon106

    pillojon106
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    So will 2 980s play games at 4k smoothly?
     
  2. BlueScreen

    BlueScreen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    624
    Go for an open air card, unless the case is very small. mATX is large enough. EVGA's blower isn't very good and reference cooled cards are super expensive for some reason.
    I'd recommend the MSI Gaming G4, ASUS Strix, or EVGA SC. The Gigabyte G1 is also great but might not fit in a mATX case. MSI's cooler is thinner and has no backplate so the top card should run cooler on an SLI setup.

    Yes. Very.
     
  3. Bubbleawsome

    Bubbleawsome
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Without any AA but otherwise maxed you will see between 45-60fps in popular games. The newest AC, FC4, and other games like that were not tested though. They might drop into the 30s maxed at 4k.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/NVIDIA/GeForce_GTX_980_SLI/1.html

    If you really need 4k maxed I would wait for this summer. Big maxwell and the AMD r9 300 series are coming out. R9 300 will even have HBM, and that might really help 4k minimum fps.
     
  4. BlueScreen

    BlueScreen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    624
    SLI 980's should max out almost every game on 4K with no AA and still get 60 FPS.
     
  5. pillojon106

    pillojon106
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Ok I secected the Msi 980. Here is the link to the build I got so far. The reason I got 32gb of ram is cause my brother uses software that uses a CRAP load of memory

    http://pcpartpicker.com/p/Z82bD3
     
  6. BlueScreen

    BlueScreen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    624
    That's a single 980, definitely not enough for 4K.

    Also, what does your brother use? 32GB is WAY overkill, I never managed to top 8Gb with Gmod, Photoshop, 3ds Max, Visual Studio and 20+ Firefox tabs open at once plus Steam, Skype, antivirus and other services running in background.
     
  7. pillojon106

    pillojon106
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    My brother will buy the second 980 once he builds the computer. And he uses notation software that uses a crap load of ram
     
  8. Funky7Monkey

    Funky7Monkey
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    How much RAM does he usually use with the software? Because 32GB is beyond excessive for almost every PC.
     
  9. pillojon106

    pillojon106
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    8gb to fun the software
     
  10. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    What is this software exactly. I mean the actual product not just of being notation software.

    8gb is way overkill.I am honestly doubtful it uses that. Even so, the logical choice is still 16gb not 32gb if that software is using 8gb.
     
  11. pillojon106

    pillojon106
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Ok I will go with 16gb then.
     
  12. superpat89

    superpat89
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    The most ultimate candy crushing system in the world...
     
  13. Dennis-W

    Dennis-W
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    289
    Preciesely.
     
  14. pillojon106

    pillojon106
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Should I also get 2.5 ssd or an m.2 ssd?
     
  15. Bubbleawsome

    Bubbleawsome
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    You could go m.2 or pci-e, but you don't need too. It's up to you and your budget. Don't get rid of anything just to have the m.2 ssd though.
     
  16. pillojon106

    pillojon106
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    I might get some but I don't know about compatability for my moherboard. I want the Samsung SM951 but I don't know if it will boot with my motherboard
     
  17. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,966
    m.2 has both SATA and PCIe signalling in that connector. The cheaper m.2 hosts (motherboard) only bother linking the SATA connections, the cheaper m.2 SSD's also only understand SATA. Only the more expensive motherboards and SSDs actually have PCIe capability.

    Chances are you're going to be using SATA m.2 devices. In which case the only benefit of the m.2 over a 2.5" device is that its mounted on the motherboard. The SATA m.2 devices ultimately aren't even any better than mSATA SSD's (although mSATA isnt always available on PC motherboards, usually only on small form factor or laptop boards), if anything, they cost more and are physically larger.


    Unless you are willing to spend out and 100% confirm that it is a PCIe capable m.2 motherboard and that you are buying a PCIe m.2 SSD, I wouldn't bother with m.2 and would just get a 2.5".

    Full pcie slot SSDs are also uber expensive. You just plain dont need one.
     
  18. pillojon106

    pillojon106
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Ok I did changes to the current build and please tell me some things I would need to change or leave alone

    http://pcpartpicker.com/p/p42WCJ
     
  19. Bubbleawsome

    Bubbleawsome
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    I changed out the RAM to a single 2x8GB set because compatibility, the HDD I just dumped both because the 5400rpm and got a 2TB 7200rpm, I changed out the cooler to the new h100i GTX.
    Also, if you aren't going to RAID them I would just get a 512GB SSD. Better value.

    http://pcpartpicker.com/p/gcmNjX
     
  20. BlueScreen

    BlueScreen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    624
    Good edits, but you should change the cards to MSI, ASUS or EVGA ACX 2.0. You'd save over $100.

    I'd go with MSI just to match the board's look :p
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice