Compatible Terrain Generation Software

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by OGTrout, Jan 18, 2017.

1. OGTrout

OGTrout
    Expand Collapse

TL;DR: I've bolded my main question

Hi, I'm fairly new to Beam.NG while it's been sitting in my library for quite some time. I have to say the product is brilliant, I've spent countless hours messing about and I'm excited for continuous development

I've started using the built in world editor; and so far I've found it to be really good. I've just come off a few months working with the Spintires editor, where I got to the point where I could make a fairly enjoyable and quality looking map in fairly small amount of time. So while I am an absolute beginner, I understand some of the concepts behind creating a map.
    Compared to the incredibly unstable Spintires editor working with the BeamNG editor is an absolute breeze. They're both fairly similar in toolsets, although the fact that BeamNGs is in engine meaning proper draw distance and the ability to instantly drop in to test is a boon.

However I wanted to know what was the common and up to date way of creating terrain from scratch. The built in tools are nice for fairly small adjustments, but hand shaping large areas of terrain in the editor is incredibly laborious. It's less of an issue in Spintires due to the smaller map sizes and large brush size.

I've done some searching and found a few tutorials here and there, however some of them are apparently out of date and the methods apparently no longer work.
    So what I would like to know; is there an accepted terrain gen software that easily exports a heightmap in a format that can easily be dropped into the world editor. I'm perfectly willing to learn a new bit of software if the end results work. L3DT looked promising, but the tutorial that was hosted here suggested it was outdated and no longer worked with BeamNG.