Map Creator

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by Jake Miller, Nov 21, 2015.

1. Jake Miller

Jake Miller
    Expand Collapse

If I wanted to create a map from scratch, where would I start?

BTW is this in the right thread. Im a noob to the forums

2. Nadeox1

Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

-Woopsie-

#2 Nadeox1, Nov 21, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2015
  3. torsion

torsion
    Expand Collapse

Nadeox1, that's your scenario tutorial! Jake Miller, there isn't a complete tutorial for map creation in this game. You don't really want to make a map completely from scratch - if that's what you wanted you'd already know what to do. What you want is to start with the 'shell' of a map with a few things already put in place.

Let's see what we can do for you here:
    1. Find the stock Gridmap level in a place such as C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\BeamNG.drive\content\levels\GridMap.zip
    2. Extract the actual Gridmap folder from that and put it in C:\Users\your_user_name\Documents\BeamNG.drive\levels - this will become your working directory.
    3. Use this handy tool to fix the Gridmap into a new level. Use the "Duplicate" command, not the "Rename" command.
    4. Edit the info.json file for your new level, fix the name etc. Do not attempt to remove the preview image until you get a new one to replace it with.
    5. Delete all *.prefab files and all the files in the scenarios folder.
    6. Install Notepad++, it will come in handy before long.
    7. Load up the game, open your level, and drop into the editor with F11. Changes you save will go to your level folder.
    8. F1 to get into the Object Editor.
    9. Pause physics with "J" on your keyboard.
    10. In your Scene Tree, delete everything other than: Sky / Player Drop Points / CameraBookmarks / Physics / vegetation / thePlayer / AIDecalWaypointsGroup
    11. File - Create Blank Terrain
    12. Choose your settings, then put the terrain under your truck.