Beta (City of) Los Injurus 2021-06-21

The large city of Los Injurus welcomes you with an update!

  1. Allots
    Allots
    5/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    This is arguably the best map in beamng. It is huge, and there are plenty of different buildings, houses, and roads (especially highways) that make the game really feel real. I've probably spent hours on this map and I still don't think that I've discovered every single inch of the map. I also like that Los Injurus is most likely a combination of multiple southwestern states. Only problems are is that it lags in some places even with one car (e.g. the tunnel with a bit of skinny lanes near the airport), and the map does have places that feel a bit empty of unfinished, but other than that it's a must try if you can run this map.
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      The slow spot over by the huge airport gets slow because of it's size in video memory. If it gets too slow for you, then it's running out of video memory (if you have an 8gb GPU, use medium texture detail, then restart and test to see that it works better). I aim to reduce the size on disk of the tunnel sometime next month so it should be fixed by September, hopefully, as I'd like to release another public update sometime by the end of September.
      That tunnel is just a bit TOO detailed, as even the bolt heads that appear on pipe clamps, guide-rails, and fans in the ceiling are represented, even the little vent in the corner of the tunnel entrance is 3d. That creates a huge size on disk (it was many GB before I shrunk it down to around 500mb or less), and in video memory, causing it to go over the limit.
      Glad you enjoyed the map!
  2. Thedriftnewb
    Thedriftnewb
    5/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    I dont have the best Rig out there but even my little cousin who uses a Early gen Apple Mac can run this surprisingly well, not at 60FPS mind you, but she can run it at around 15-20 FPS on the lowest quality with Three (3) cars loaded in. Its a perfect map, keep up the good work.
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      If you open the map editor, go to the object editor mode, and search for something named THELEVELINFO, you'll see a field in that object itself that says either 'far clip plane' or 'far view distance', which is the threshold of how far from the player the game will render the world. If you turn that down to 1/4th of what it usually is, you'll gain some much-needed performance back. I wouldn't go any lower than 800 meters though or you could get really lost.
      This trick works for any map.
      When I release the next version of the map publicly, I will offer a lower-spec option with this value changed for those who don't have great computers but are wise enough to add a single file to the map zip file in the right spot.
      Glad you and your buddy enjoy the map! There's so much more to come for Los Injurus and the BeamNG Drive community.
  3. 박현진
    박현진
    5/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    What an amazing mod! Now this map has become my favorite map on beamng.
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Glad to hear you use this as your primary go-to map for BeamNG Drive. While the developers created somewhat smaller maps, I felt this was much more fitting & what the game truly needed to show itself and stretch it's legs.
      Rest assured that while it will take me possibly a year or two to finish it up decently, there's no way I'm putting this down as I love to make it as much as most folks here love to play it.
      I am only limited slightly by draw calls (this will be better in the future) and the amount of video memory on your video card (which will also get better in the future, as prices on graphics cards are coming down a little bit). Those things in mind, I keep a close watch on performance in-order to get the best level of content and play ability for a given area at acceptable performance. A bit of a slower spot (mostly limited to portable PC's playing BeamNG Drive) exists near the default spawn point but that will be fixed soon enough - and it's no-where even half as bad as the default spawn in Roane County (my last map). I learned my lesson and worked smarter, not harder.
      As I continually try to raise the bar for my own work, I am also pumping out over 1000 modular pieces of infrastructure - just about every type of road you'd ever need, within this map data structure in the MRK folder. There's already a ton of them in there so if you ever figure out how to map, you can make your own road or just make modifications to an existing section of the city. You could even make a 'road roller-coaster' if that's what your heart desires.
      --Cheers!
  4. Andryusha
    Andryusha
    2/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    Optimization and quality should go b4 quality (my pc is 2021 but think about the other ones)
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      You don't have the game configured properly for your hardware to run this map.
      This map runs fine, like everyone else said. Try running it on MEDIUM graphic detail (you can leave model detail on max), if you have an 8gb card you may experience slow-down on high detail textures after playing a while. This map can exceed 8 or 9 GB of VRAM use on some configurations. Somewhere around 3.5~6gb is used on 'medium'.
      This map uses HUNDREDS of textures, many at 4k and some even 8k textures or 4k by 8k textures. I did not shy away from graphics detail - you can often even see the very stones that make up asphalt or concrete when running high detail - but keep in mind you need a top-dog GPU to do it.

      ***Please configure your computer properly.***

      My 2019 computer runs it just great and it always stays over 60fps.
      That said there's nothing like running this map on high or even medium graphics, with a bunch of traffic, to get rid of any buyer's remorse you may have accidentally acquired. Please re-read the resource (main) page of this mod and configure your computer as-stated.
      If your 2021 computer cannot run this correctly, either the game is not configured properly for your hardware, or you have mis-configured the computer and/or have another issue related to drivers/hardware.
      That said a 10gb or larger card can run this great. I recommend a 12 to 16gb GPU to be able to run this map into the future without issue on high detail (such as a AMD 6700xt or 6800xt). Nvidia doesn't put enough VRAM on their current GPU's with the exception of the 3090 and that's sky-high prices right now.
      The GPU market is recovering, so wait a bit if buying a GPU.
  5. =SAGA=Rnzi
    =SAGA=Rnzi
    5/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    good job!
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Thanks, doing the best I can here!
      There will be many updates in the future which expand this map (it will not be abandoned before it is completed).
  6. Justy4WDTURBO
    Justy4WDTURBO
    5/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    You need a stupid amount of VRAM for this map but god damn ITS HUGE!
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Yes, there's 100+ 4k textures or so, and even some 8k textures. It's 2021 so no surprise that this map will saturate an 8gb GPU with no issue as you drive around the map. Usually people get some slowdown near the large civilian airport, so if you do, flip texture detail down to medium but leave mesh detail at max (the map is designed for max mesh detail).
      Sure I could make it less texture resolution, but if you run it on medium, it's the same anyway. This leaves high detail for those who dropped a brick of cash for a super-high-end GPU with more than 8gb of VRAM. You'll thank me in the future when you have a 12gb ~ 16gb GPU, but for now, it looks fine on medium and that's what I run it at here.
      That said I doubt there's even half the models in this map already, it's going to be *BIG* and it's going to push this game engine to it's limits, and likely past it (got rid of a few game engine limits with my maps already - thanks to the awesome developers!).
      If this project gets enough funding behind it, maybe we can bribe the render engine guy to make a streaming routine that can not only load-on-the-fly like we do now, but unload 'stale' assets to make room for new stuff as you roam around like many game engines do today. That's why it slows down - it eventually runs out of VRAM on high detail on 8gb cards if you drive long enough. So use medium for now, it's plenty good enough, and I feel that when it's done you'll appreciate the detail that is realized by this massive lump of data we call Los Injurus.
      --Cheers and thank-you for the feedback/review!
  7. Ascendancy
    Ascendancy
    5/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    This map, along with the others you have made, are simply excellent. As I have said before I really appreciate the fact that you share the progress of your maps with us. While my machine is aging, and I can't get a consistent 60 fps on this map, it is still very much relaxing to take a cruise in.
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      I'm always trying to make something fun, and make each release better (not just bigger) than the last. There's plenty of room for some good cruising though on this map, and plenty of more roads which will be improved or even new ones added in. There will be more destinations, and new sights to see in each version.
      It's sure going to take a while to finish but with me being physically disabled, and unable to otherwise work, I can keep myself busy with this. I enjoy creating game worlds and always wanted to since I was 10 around/just after 1990 or so. So I've had a LOT of time to figure out what I want, but never a game engine good enough to make it. In the last 3 years I could finally model things, and then nothing but VRAM and draw calls are stopping me from success (well, they won't stop me, but it hurts performance if you push either of those too much).
      So being it's not 1994 anymore and a small Doom level just won't do, I am building a whole city for everyone to enjoy and lose themselves in.
      No shoe-box panoramas here! Glad you enjoy it, there will be plenty more to come as this map is *barely* half done.
      --Cheers and thanks!
  8. buddy boyo
    buddy boyo
    5/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    Bob has created multiple very high quality maps and this is no exception, 5 stars!
  9. Moses von Levitikus
    Moses von Levitikus
    5/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    I haven't had the pleasure to try the new version but I was a big fan of earlier ones.

    For some reason your mod shows up in the ingame repository but not in the mods manager. Also no sign of it in the freeroam page. I deleted so_cal first and cleaned the cache (deep clean).

    Tonight I am going to wipe all mods and reinstall them one by one, since I finally created an account to review all those beautifull resources and a review and rating is the minimum respect I want to show you lovely people. <3
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      If that happens, check your console for lots of red lettering. There is sometimes a bug with the mod manager that crashes it out (but otherwise the game seems fine outside of the mod manager).
      If that happens, and you can re-produce it, send in the log under bugs/crashes on this website, as that's one with the game and out of my hands.
      I can reassure you though it does work fine with 0.20, 0.21, and 0.22 game versions.
      DO enjoy the new version though, there's a *ton* of stuff added in.
  10. carsmin
    carsmin
    5/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    Amazing! New update.
  11. silvermanblu
    silvermanblu
    5/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    great map, support the creator if you can!
  12. Agent_Y
    Agent_Y
    5/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    Finally a new update of the best map, I'll download as soon as I have time, which might take a while as this always takes a long time to download and takes a lot of my download speed so I need to reserve some time for this. It's totally worth it, every update gets it closer to being finished, and improves the overall driving experience on it!
  13. Fredr3x
    Fredr3x
    5/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    Please help me. With a GTX 1060SC 6gb, 16gb ram and an intel i5 8400, I cannot get more than medium settings at 40 FPS on west coast. I know this is a review, however when I last tried this map, it is unplayable even though my pc isn’t terrible. I really like this mod however. Thanks for making this
  14. WarDaddyUSA
    WarDaddyUSA
    5/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    Very nice to drive around on this map, the AI drives/follows the roads pretty great too! One of the best modding maps out there for sure.
  15. Nacho Problem
    Nacho Problem
    5/5,
    Version: 2021-06-21
    What a great map
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Thanks! That was fast - an update just landed moments ago.
  16. Scotty Kilmer
    Scotty Kilmer
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-12-02-mod
    Awesome, I have an AMD FX 9590, Nvidia GTX 780 and 32 GB of ram.
  17. Theoasispc
    Theoasispc
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-12-02-mod
    Best map in Beamng.
    (Got a 6700xt 12gb just for this)
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Awesome buddy! Your 6700xt 12gb should be good to run this no issue, and I will try to keep the project from going over 12gb of VRAM usage.
      I only have 8gb VRAM here and sometimes it gets dodgy on highest texture detail / gets a little slow near the huge airport (due to one of the super-detailed 500mb tunnels there).
      I can't wait until this video card shortage is over, so we can all get 12gb / 16gb (or more!) VRAM equipped video cards, as that and 'draw calls' (cpu work to make the gpu render things) are the two most limiting factors in DX11 (and below) game-engine world design. However, knowing these limitations I can do my best to keep FPS up for the most part. That said, no sense designing this for 5-year-old hardware when we'd rather have an immersive next-gen environment to drive in. While the buildings aren't up to AAA quality for the most part, the roads certainly are packed with detail as that's where you spend most of your time.
      A new public version should be out within the next 10 days, hopefully; barring crazy stuff going awry as it sometimes likes to do in life.
      --Thanks for the review, doing my best here to make the city map WE deserve as loyal BeamNG Drive fans!
  18. garbage human
    garbage human
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-12-02-mod
    I was looking for a map this big and with a lot of variety and thank god i upgraded my computer my old pc would die after 2 seconds and would probably not even load this, great map seems like you put a lot of effort into it heres a 5 star rating.
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Thanks!
      We're talking over 10,000 hours of work, for this map just in MY hours - not including the work the people did for the assets of which I purchased, nor the work of the people who (very kindly) donated some assets (such as buildings). By comparison, Roane County has around 5500~6000 hours of work.
      There's a LOT of detail, there's a lot of out of the way places to drive, and there's even stuff you won't find until you've played this half a dozen times or more.
      I hope it has everything you could want in a driving / crashing simulator. If it should happen to NOT have something you feel you would enjoy, or even more-so if many would enjoy; DO join us in the discussion thread and make your voice heard. This is a community-supported, community oriented map project. This is the map with a huge city and sprawling rural area surrounding it, that this game and it's large fan-base *deserves*. While the city is roughly maybe 35% built AT MOST, and the map is maybe 50% of the way along in general; there's SO much to include yet and not every space is spoken for - in-fact I'm leaving quite a bit of it to be filled impromptu just in-case one of us wants another race track or abandoned building to peruse at our leisure (or at dangerous speeds).
      One day it will be done, but I'm not stopping until it's FINISHED. The only way I'll even momentarily pause development is if I completely break the game engine (but the developers and staff are really cool and have fixed these things before on very short order). As far as anyone knows, all limits have been removed except the limits of PC hardware and DirectX 11. With a firm knowledge of this hardware, I'm trying to keep this running well just as any game developer would, while still having a ton of fun packed into a somewhat immersive setting. Remember, always take a look around and see what there is to see, and keep an eye out for hidden things that may be just out of view.
      There is plenty more to come and a new update coming out in the next 2~3 weeks or so, so check back soon to see what drops around the end of the month.
      --Cheers and thanks!
  19. MultiGamerClub
    MultiGamerClub
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-12-02-mod
    Its cool to see 3gb gets downloaded in less than 2 minutes, with 16 cars i have some 23 fps which is funny and without any cars (except my own) i have some 90-110fps at 2560x1440p resolution.

    Its an alright map, ive missed playing with bigger traffic with more than 20fps even if its just some 2-5fps more than normal.

    Will soon switch to a 3600 in some 10-11 days, should run even greater.
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      The more cores on the CPU, the merrier BeamNG Drive traffic experience is, up to the absolute draw-call limit of DirectX 11 (the rendering back-end of the game). Buying beyond a 3900x / 5900x or buying into high-end desktop territory may prove a bit wasteful currently, due to the absolute limits of what DirectX 11 can render. You'll only get about 3~5 more vehicles in traffic moving from a 12-core to a 16-core processor for example, but moving from a quad-core to an eight-core processor will cleanly double performance.
      A 12-core 24-thread processor, with a competent video card of RX 480 or GTX 1060Ti or better (nothing fancy, thankfully), and 16GB or more of system memory and a half-decent SSD will get you a long way into a beautiful awesome experience of what it's like to spend thousands on PC hardware to simulate a traffic jam.
      You can generally expect, that on any processor with SMT or Hyper-threading (same thing, different brand; doubles worker threads in the CPU), you can run TWO vehicles per-core generally on any 3.5ghz (give or take a few hundred mhz) or higher CPU. This only starts to drop off after about 15~20 vehicles total. However, that said, if you run one vehicle per core, a 16-core processor will still do better than an 8 or 12-core processor, for example; as 16 vehicles will still be below the absolute rendering limitations of DirectX 11.
      I keep buildings and road objects fairly simple (though most detail is reserved for road infrastructure itself VS buildings you just drive past or around), so that it leaves a lot more 'rendering budget' for the vehicles in traffic. This means more vehicles in play before you get below 20fps, where-in the game will start to slow down as to not bury the CPU. While I can't match the absolute lack-of-level that is pure-grid-map, I will promise that performance should be decent provided you don't exceed your video memory (keep an eye on that, even if you have 8gb of it).
      Should things slow down suddenly, consider switching down the texture detail one notch to prevent video memory over-run.
      I hope you enjoy the map, and look forward to a new public update soon.
      --Thank-you for the review. Join us in the DISCUSSION forum here if you wish to provide any additional input or critique.
  20. Kipas
    Kipas
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-12-02-mod
    Without traffic 70-60 fps
    With 5 cars 20 fps
    Ultra graphics i5 7400 gtx 1060 3gb
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Thank-you for the performance feedback.
      Make sure you use medium or low graphics detail if it's too slow.
      Your i5 will only be able to do 4~6 vehicles max, before it starts really tank the FPS, due to only having 4 cores and no Hyper-threading / SMT.
      Grab yourself an 8-core Ryzen processor when it's affordable (not to mention available) so you can run a bunch of vehicles (15~20 vehicles) if you desire. The GTX 1060 3gb is still good enough to run medium or low detail on the graphics, but you can keep mesh detail at max.
      Turning shadows to player only isn't required, but might help when you have a ton of traffic in play. Use LOW detail if things get real slow though to see if it speeds things up. You may have to re-load the map for it to activate though.
      I continue to try and optimize the map as I add more things in, so that it keeps the FPS from going down much. I still would recommend looking into getting a Ryzen if you want to run a bunch of cars though, an i5 is really going to struggle and games are now starting to use more cores. BeamNG Drive can use up to around 8~12 CPU cores effectively, before draw calls start really tanking performance when running 15~18 vehicles or more (so buying more CPU than that will be a waste of money).
      However, if you can't get your hands on one, or it's just not in the budget right now, don't despair. Just try to keep 3 or less vehicles, possibly including your own in play if you want the best FPS, and make sure the web browser or anything else processor-intensive is closed out before running. I had to stash cash for a good solid year to get the Ryzen CPU I have now, but I can whole-heartedly recommend the 3000 or 5000 series to anyone looking for a new chip for lots of traffic. Don't go for anything less than an Ryzen R5 3600 though. If current prices are too much (due to the parts shortage / buying craze / pandemic), just hold out for around 3~6 months and hope the market clears itself up.
      What I've typed hopefully shall be of use for yourself and others.
      --Cheers!
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice