1. Intel iGPU (6xx series) crashes
    Fixed drivers available!
    Instructions here

    Dismiss Notice

Beta (City of) Los Injurus 2020-04-10

The large city of Los Injurus welcomes you with an update!

  1. Taygeta
    Taygeta
    3/5,
    Version: 2020-04-10
    I am giving this only three stars, because I value quality over quantity.

    Of course I understand that it needs to be FPS friendly as well.
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      It's not done yet. Of course it won't be quality, not until it's much further along. This review should have more substance, what was good, what was bad, etc. Can't improve things if I don't know what's wrong. You should hit the discussion tab and say how it can be improved while it's being made.
      Those who value quantity can enjoy the mods. For those striving for quality, you'll have to look around some, both in the map and at other mods.
      There's surely a handful of good quality maps, a handful of good quality vehicles such as the Olds Fullsize (of course!) and the Minivan (yes I used to own two) based off the Pessima, among many many others.
      So, really, go enjoy the mall, that you can enter and bumble around in, race down the over 50 miles of unique highway present in the map, and likely 100~200 miles of other roads that are just... everywhere. Why, this map is virtually INFESTED with roads. Good thing it's a driving simulator.

      I could make this map super-duper detailed, but know that with 6gb & 8gb graphics cards making up barely 25%~40% of Steam surveys (which varies month to month), that I can't really cram more detail into a map so big.
      As the game engine itself gets more mature, I can afford to cram larger assets into VRAM, while knowing I can unload ones I don't need, all without going over the user's VRAM limits. Right now while developing this on an 8gb graphics card, I am roughly at the limits (and sometimes over) what an 8gb card can do (I use a bit more than the average player would).
      So the TL DR on it is, I can't really push too much higher quality (refinement yes) as far as model complexity goes. PC tech isn't quite there yet unless you have a team of hundreds of people working to make the city and the game engine itself like Rockstar does.
      However, rest assured, when the next-gen graphics cards come along, and get to a decent price range, and many of us then have 16gb~24gb graphics cards, I will add some more detail surely. The city is very modular and hence the models can be easily upgraded just by swapping files and reloading the map.
      --@#$%!
  2. VehicleEnthusiast
    VehicleEnthusiast
    4/5,
    Version: 2020-04-10
    one of my favorite unofficial maps
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Thanks!
      Now try hauling some pianos around and see how long they live for.
  3. noobtube228
    noobtube228
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-04-10
    Amazing, so much fun with cars and planes
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Awesome, glad you like it. It will be so much more when it's done though, so do keep eyes peeled for a new version coming out in the next 30 days which has a lot more to it.
  4. The Pilot
    The Pilot
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-04-10
    This map is really amazing! It is also super FPS friendly! I play BeamNG on a laptop and this map works absolutely great for me. I have yet to try spawning traffic here, but this map is soooo big too! Definitely get this map!
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Thanks for the performance feedback! It's super-duper useful here, as I lack having a bunch of different computers to test this on.
      While I still have quite a few more loose ends to tie up in the performance department (read: to-do more optimizations), it should run pretty well for the amount of detail and the density of detail. As I go along, you'll notice the distant objects getting a little nicer looking while the fps still goes up between versions (or stays the same but adds more detail).
      I believe I will have a new public-facing version next month around mid-month. So in due time, every few months I will be updating the public-facing version (it'll also get updated if the game updates murder it - same policy with my other maps).

      Those who just can't wait, can hop on the supporter beta via the Patreon (which is to support asset, texture, sound, and software purchases for this map, it gets EXPENSIVE fast, and open-source software doesn't always cut it), and you'll get access to a new version (via link) emailed to you about roughly every 20~25 days.
      Thank-you for taking the time to write-in and participate in the public beta. Even for folks not in on the Patreon supporter-beta crowd, you can still join in or follow the discussion thread linked above these reviews to suggest/complement/complain about something/anything.
      --Cheers and enjoy the map!
  5. KwendaNaure
    KwendaNaure
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-04-10
    Please if you can add some bus routes it would be amazing.
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Bus routes are planned. I have no date set for these, but as the city itself gets filled out more, you'll definitely see a city's-worth of these.
      This isn't a little piece of a city, this is going to be a whole city, of 'almost AAA quality'. So look forward to plenty of them, and plenty of everything else we all love in a car accident / driving simulator!
  6. DaddelZeit
    DaddelZeit
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-04-10
    Your creations are insane. Every single map is a masterpiece. Thank you for your mods. It's just awesome what you can do with this game. It takes a lot of time to create a map and you top it all of. Thank you for your work and stay safe out there!
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      It's got to look good yes, maybe not AAA quality but close enough to get immersed - but above all that it's got to be FUN while not forgetting about the mission objective... to speed around and crash the car up into a tin can!
      Surely there's a good hour or more of just driving around on the roads seeing the sights here, and on Roane County, too.
      I like to fire up the game and just drive when I'm not making maps; so if that's you, you're 100% in the right place. Custom content abounds - this map is chock full of it - in-fact I learned to model just for this map.
      Both Roane County (once) and this map (twice) required raising the AI max limits to enable me to properly create all the AI routes (200+ miles of them) and the like, to give a realistic feel. It's not perfect by any rate, nor complete. However, it'll certainly provide you with hours of entertainment, whether it's exploring and seeing the sights, or searching for hidden things in out-of-the-way places, going way too fast in places you should not, or just trying out the dozens upon dozens of improvised jumps.
      When it's done, it'll feel like a melting-pot of all the open-world driving 3D games we've been playing over the last 20 years or so, even if it takes years to finish. Being physically disabled and often 'stuck here' at the PC. I don't have much better to do, and just playing games isn't nearly as fulfilling as making them. One day it will be done, as I will be on this project until it is, then going back to finish Roane County (and back-port a bunch of house / building etc models back to Roane County from this).
      Thanks a bunch for the nice review & glad you had a good time.
  7. chaugen1
    chaugen1
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-04-10
    Love this map! One of the best city maps on BeamNG!
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Thanks bud. Appreciate you are so thankful for what is easily thousands of hours of work per map. This shows what this game is capable of, I feel many of the maps for this game short of Italy and East Coast / maybe Utah while beautiful are merely a taste of what this game can truly do.
      When it's further along and most of the city is built, I'll be adding a career / campaign / story into this map that will come with it.
      In-fact several limits have been removed or raised significantly since/ because I've been working on this map (and Roane County).
      While I am sure AAA game studio maps could easily outclass this in detail or graphic fidelity (especially because they have whole teams and bottomless budgets by comparison to me), there's nothing stopping me from cramming tons of fun stuff into this map.
      My knowledge from growing up in construction and engineering skills, and bottomless amounts of time (being I'm physically disabled) finally come in handy.
      Just don't forget, I'm making this map as much for me as I am for you and the rest of the folks who total about 100,000 people (that download this map) currently. So it's GOT to be fun!

      HINT: if things don't look placed correctly (like walls under bridges etc), clear cache, start the game, and then load the map & it should fix. This only applies if you ran the old public version of Los Injurus before running the more recent release that just came out.
      --Enjoy the map!
  8. SuperchargedAndSavage!
    SuperchargedAndSavage!
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-04-10
    First of all, I'd like to clearly state that this map is amazing. I have NEVER seen any BeamNG map with this degree of extreme attention to detail. The train tracks work perfect, the buildings are super detailed-like seriously, an abandoned mall that I can drive through!? HELL YES!
    At the same time, there are an INSANE amount of roads, highways, etc. so that I never feel like I'm driving in the same places. I love how Los Injurus is trying to give us players absolutely endless possibilities. Highway police chases, low speed jumps, car parkour- All that adds to the experience.
    Performance-wise, I'd say this is outstandiing considering the sheer size, detail and quality of textures presented in the map. Me, having a 16GB RAM, can get up to 60fps with 5-6 cars in Traffic Mode. Really performance-friendly map.
    By the way, I have one little question. Since Roane County, Tennessee is currently outdated, are you planning to fix it first, or are you going to focus on Los Injurus as your main project and fix Roane County as a side project (If you're gonna fix it at all?)
    I love your work man. Keep it up!
    Cheers,
    SuperchargedAndSavage!
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Roane County will be fixed this week sometime (hopefully), or as soon as I can root out 'what went wrong' there. It was updated at the same time, but it just decided it was going to not work for the 0.19 launch I guess. Early access game + WIP maps, what could possibly go wrong?
      Glad you enjoyed Los Injurus, it's been a labor of love all the way, next month will be two years since I started learning modeling to make this map.
      It only gets better when you have a PC that can run a lot of traffic - like a modern 8-core or above Ryzen or Intel processor, do know that. The follies of getting stuck in traffic on the highway, or anywhere else for that matter, are very real. It's a city, there's AI routes everywhere, in most of the lanes if not all of them. In-fact, this map has hit the (sometimes un-planned) limit for AI several times, requiring changes to the game engine code to fix.
      This is my main project; so Roane County is still going to get fixed but do know Roane County is only being maintained, not expanded with the fix.
      I do maintain my maps, it just takes time. I enjoy driving on that one, too, so no worries - oddly it worked fine here so maybe all it needs is a re-upload.
      This too, shall pass, as they say.
      Thank-you for the kind, honest, and descriptive review.
  9. Smapy
    Smapy
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-04-10
    There are some things that need to be fixed and added, but this map is very
    It's big and fun to drive.
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      If you feel things need fixing up, or there's issues preventing playability, please send in your screenshots on the discussion thread (use the tab above this review). I always take note when people give feedback, and it helps me squash bugs preventing full enjoyment of the map.
      This game is too fun not to have a map like this!
      Thank-you for trying out Los Injurus - the open world game styled map for BeamNG, that while not complete, gives you a range of driving in different styles and speeds, and a bit of reward for exploration.
      Don't forget, there's jumps a plenty and they're everywhere. If I could make a jump out of it in some way, I've probably done exactly that.
  10. Mola
    Mola
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-04-10
    I love the new Update! Map is good as always :D
  11. StormGaming2020
    StormGaming2020
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-04-10
    Awesome Map! Must of taken a few Monsters to build this map. Hey, maybe turn that air force base into a well known base in the middle of utah..
  12. shlimothy
    shlimothy
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-04-10
    each update makes it feel more like socal and i'm loving it
  13. User_4711328
    User_4711328
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-01-10
    Three letters to describe it: WOW! Though a little bit fps heavy when spawning multiple cars. More computer-frendly please?
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Two things: first
      The limit you're hitting is partly due to single-threaded rendering common to DX11 titles.
      I can't really 'fix' that so-to-speak, but I am constantly working on optimizing the map as I go along, so that adding to it doesn't pull down the FPS more.
      Having a modern processor is key to 60fps but even low/very low is possible to get 30~40fps around town with appropriate video settings even on a first generation i7 processor from 2009 and a 1gb video card.
      Anything Ryzen and anything Intel 4xxx and newer should suffice, provided you have as many cores as you have cars in-play, to run real time.
      Second thing:
      TURN YOUR GRAPHICS DETAIL TO MEDIUM, as high detail graphics requires somewhere around a 6~8GB video card right now, and most folks don't have more than 4GB on their video card.
      768mb~1gb video card, use lowest, low may still peg 1gb cards at max.
      1~2gb use LOW settings, depending on how well it runs, neither low or lowest should be run at 1080p but 720p as often these cards (and integrated) solutions don't have the fastest Video RAM.
      3~4gb video cards use MEDIUM settings.
      6~8gb video cards may use high settings.
      I know, it somewhat stinks that you can't use high settings on a 4gb graphics card. There's not too much I can do about this right now, in this stage of development / optimization.
      You can still adjust the mesh detail slider to suit taste as it shouldn't have a terrible affect on FPS on a decently modern PC. I recommend leaving it up near max unless you're on 720p or have an extremely OLD processor / computer, as a large majority of the meshes have been optimized.
      Thank-you for the WOW and the review, but always know this is a map from the future enjoyed within a game from the future - neither have seen formal release yet.
      That being said if it still runs like poo after it's done, feel free to put me on blast over it.
  14. Valve Anti-Cheat
    Valve Anti-Cheat
    4/5,
    Version: 2020-01-10
    I'm very pleased with how well this map is coming along and all the work that's being put into it. However, one major issue this map has is the airport. Landing anything larger than a Cessplane is next to impossible due to invisible walls that I crash into every time when trying to line up for a landing.
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      I have yet to be able to figure out why there's an invisible wall, or to be able to re-create the issue here. It's just one of those issues that, for now, please tolerate for a little bit. Try to take off facing towards the rest of the map, so you don't hit the buggy invisible wall or whatever it is. When you land, don't land from the ocean side, land as if you've just been flying from the middle of the map facing toward the ocean. I will speak with the staff when they're not too busy as to what it could be.
      If you can take a few picture of where you hit the wall (as soon as you crash into it, hit J to pause physics, and press ALT+O to take a screen shot), it would be helpful.
      I've never been able to find the invisible collision (wall). I have to find it to be able to fix it.
      Otherwise, do enjoy the map.
  15. passengerpigeon
    passengerpigeon
    5/5,
    Version: 2020-01-10
    This map is my new favorite, and I've only just scratched the surface. You've done such a good job of optimising it that it actually runs faster than the old California Interstate map on my computer.
    One suggestion that I have for making this map even better (if you aren't planning it already) is to create more natural rural areas outside of the city, with farms and ranches on the outskirts and green, forested areas in the high mountains, much like the landscape of the real-life American southwest.
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Everything but the forested mountains is on the drawing board.
      Unless I make a 2D wall of impassable trees and fake 2d trees and ground texture to cover the mountains with, it willl be a serious performance hit. This performance impact would be close to the impact of a complete city setting, and a large (3+ GB) memory footprint / requirement increase, in addition to what already is needed (roughly about 5gb or so for the game, the map, and 6~16 vehicles). So for now, the forest is a cut, non-promised feature. I'd love to add it, but IF it gets added, it will be last and will be optional after the map is complete.
      The rest of the stuff, farms and rural natural settings is all scheduled to be added. I have purchased almost a full complete set of dev tools used by AAA studios - and our wonderful developers here at BeamNG - for myself to use making this map. Sadly there's only one of me, plus anyone kindly donating self-made models. That goes without saying this would NOT have been at all possible if not for the wonderful Patreon backers who helped get this project off the ground.
      In the broader spectrum here, this map provides a modular city building kit - with everything you need to build the city. Of course much mapping experience is a big benefit, but the pieces allow even novices to build a city with almost limitless possibility (once they can get a map set up properly - not very easy, but that's early access for ya!).
      Thanks for the kind review, and know that while the end-product might be just a hair more heavy on the system in terms of cpu/gpu requirements, if you can get 40~45fps now, you'll at-least get 38~42 fps when it's done (and you can always knock a setting down if needed).
      Keep in mind this map requires AT LEAST 6GB of VIDEO memory (not system RAM) on the video card for high detail, and is a much greater requirement than the stock maps. That aside it'll run on a first-generation i7 / x58 / socket 1366 Nehelam system if you have a half decent video card and at-least 3.5~4gb of RAM free.
      Thank-you very much for the kind review of something I've devoted thousands of hours to, and don't forget to flip on traffic to extend the fun!
  16. Grind86
    Grind86
    5/5,
    Version: 12_21_2019
    Really good map. It is work in progress and it's far from being finished (as of me writing this review), but I feel like the creator of this map has put a lot of work into it :)
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      A lot of work in, and far from finished, yes that's Los Injurus.
      But thank-you, at-least it shows, and you're grateful for it. Thousands of hours spent, hundreds of dollars of software just for this project, and almost no life outside of BeamNG while trying to meet deadlines.
      That's okay because I'd rather do this than anything else, and my physical health (I am physically disabled) leaves me stuck in the house often any-who - so might as well make the most of it!
      This life isn't what I dreamed up for myself - but I dreamed of making games when I was a kid playing Nintendo / Super Nintendo / Sega.
      I just hope everyone else can enjoy playing it at-least as much as I do building/testing/playing it.
      ...and don't ever let go of your dreams! What was once sketches and endless marbled notebooks of drawings, is now a reality for everyone to enjoy.
      --Cheers & Much Gratitude back at ya.
  17. Speedy_Alex77
    Speedy_Alex77
    3/5,
    Version: 12_21_2019
    This map is incredible but alot of things are not finish and that's a shame, because if you want to play in a "good" area, you have to reduce the surface of driving. Some streets coated by the "No texture" so we cant go in to do pursuits, role-play and others...
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      The no texture is fixed by applying a patch on page 54 of the discussion thread.
      Please re-read the map description for a link to it.
      It over-writes the terrain folder in the map.
      Sorry for your disappointment, but this was caused by a game bug where it did not write terrain definitions to the index in the map folder, and then the console errors for it were non-existent to top it off.
      I manually added the missing entries one by one to the index and now it works, but it took a good solid week to figure out the bug.

      If you had used the discussion forum, you'd have seen this problem has been fixed.
  18. michael_zowski
    michael_zowski
    5/5,
    Version: 12_21_2019
    Great mod! Ever thought about doing a potato-friendly version? Because my computes runs it on, and I don't joke, 4 fps.
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      You need 6gb of VRAM for high detail, at-least. Turn texture details down low.
  19. 8lastMeOff
    8lastMeOff
    5/5,
    Version: 08_10_2019
    My favourite parts are the highways and parking buildings where you can do drifts, police chases and a lot of fun shit like that. Though this map is so big that I literally get lost easily.
    8GB Ram runs this map at about 70-80 FPS. Which is really impressive because I have a 6 car traffic running at the same time and I have 79 activated mods plus high texture. So yeah, very performance friendly, much better than Roane County.
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Awesome, thanks man, it means a lot. Enjoy some air time off the jumps while you're at it (and some of the mountains you can so easily 'drive right up'), as there's jumps everywhere. Almost one - if not several on every block in some spots. Don't forget that STAIRS = RAMPS in this map, because driving up stairs is something we all did in driving games since way-back. Just have fun, whatever you do, is all I ask.
      This will be BeamNG's GTA SA style of map - nothing copied - but so much of the enjoyment we all had crashing around the SA map (from 2004 or 2005), we shall have here, as that is one of the games (aside of Midtown Madness and some Carmageddon) I modeled the city layouts and general play-style after. There's so much more to come.
      Glad you like the highways, too, I just finished re-doing about 2 miles of it.
      Thanks for the great review.
  20. Lucar.io
    Lucar.io
    5/5,
    Version: 08_10_2019
    I'm amazed that this runs much, much smoother than WCA on my computer (which processor doesn't even hit the 2 GHz mark), considering its size. And the map still looks good.

    I love the huge variety of locations around the map, from the international airport to the abandoned mall to the parking garage to the Long Dong Silver's.

    Can't wait to see what's coming next for this map, great job.
    1. bob.blunderton
      Author's Response
      Thanks! It's made so anyone with a potato PC can enjoy it, or even laptops or other computers that just meet the basic requirements, and have enough RAM. It's still going to look pretty decent on max texture details on anything RX 470/480 8gb models, 1070 8gb or higher video boards and run easily 60fps. You can sometimes turn up your mesh details even on a potato, it shouldn't affect FPS too badly, just don't turn the texture details up unless you have a 3~4gb card for medium, or a 6~8gb card for high. Processor requirement is as-above 'anything that will run BeamNG decent'. I kept the draw calls really low (which are processor commands to feed the GPU with render calls, all games use this), so that users with lower-spec PC's could run this, and also so that users with medium and higher-spec PC's can crank up the traffic, leaving all the detail for the cars and the roads they drive on. So while the buildings are a bit simple (I will spruce up some of them later a bit), it leaves all the detail for the roads and the vehicles whilst not looking quite like trash.
      So do enjoy the city, it's a labor of love, and a continuing one at that. There will be lots of new stuff in the next version, LOTS LESS BUGS, and improved AI over bridges / interchanges, as the base-game saw some improvement there.
      --Cheers and TY for the good review.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice