1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

0.10.0.1 Discussion/Feedback/Bugs-Reporting Thread - READ #1 POST!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nadeox1, Aug 7, 2017.

  1. rli98

    rli98
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    For the node connector, when connecting two separate objects together by the nodes, is it possible if you were given the option that the "cord" connecting the two nodes stays slack, rather than automatically reeling in the two connected nodes towards each other.

    Also, if we want the "cord" to stay slack, have an option where we can reel in, shorten or increase the length of the "cord". This way, players don't have to disconnect the nodes so that they can drag objects closer or farther and then reconnect them.

    Can you add an option where I can make the "cord" connecting the nodes visible? Make the visible "cord" look like a simple rope.

    Have an option where two nodes connected together can be disconnected with enough force.

    Feel free to ask any questions if this sounds confusing.

    Yes, is it possible to put the BeamNG logo back to its original spot, which is next to the names? On the white thumbnail background, it's kind of hard to see the logo. If not, at least have the option to choose our preferences, like ManfredE3's suggestions.
     
    #421 rli98, Aug 12, 2017 at 5:01 AM
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017 at 5:37 AM
  2. galaxynote2

    galaxynote2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5
  3. Potato

    Potato
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,213
    The automatic transmissions function nothing like an actual automatic transmission anymore, and no one seems to care.
     
    • Agree Agree x 6
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. CTJacob

    CTJacob
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    334
    One thing I noticed with the new automatic shifting logic is some pretty bad gear hang. After a wide open throttle acceleration, the car will hold 1st gear until you gently apply the gas and it'll kick down into a higher gear. It's like it has a performance mode. I have a video of what I mean. (Have to admit guys, even for first effort, the sounds are REALLY good). You can hear my car kick down into 3rd gear almost right away after I lift my foot off the gas.



    Here it is in game.



    You can see how long it takes for the transmission to settle down. Once it does though, it's pretty perfect with some RPM tweaks. The standard ones are to high.

    As for the manuals, I think they are fine. The quick jerking shifts will ruin a transmission eventually in real life. It's close to my real life shift speed in my Focus.
     
    • Agree Agree x 5
  5. Smash Balls

    Smash Balls
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    I have some possible suggestions for the semi-transmission system. I actually drove a 10-speed commercial semi before, although for a mere 1 hour because I am not a truck driver, I just have family that happens to be truckers "They wanted to marvel at my inability to shift, since I have only driven automatic cars so far... You should have been there, I SUCK!"
    (Side note: Despite anyone having any skill in driving manual transmissions, a manual 10-speed semi isn't even close to the same thing as shifting a car.... A commercial race car driver struggled to learn how to drive a semi...)

    Anyways, that's a little back story, when I drive the truck in game (NOTE: I am using the big rig configuration for it) I notice this badaz detail you added in. I noticed the double clutch (Which is the biggest nightmare with any manual semi!!!) I want to sort of relive that nightmare because I love to torture myself. I suggest making a semi manual double clutch option. Here what I think it should do:

    For keyboard and controller users, make a side option for this so that way the game will still select neutral for you, it just wont do the second clutch for you, so "clutch off, shift, auto goes to neutral, clutch on | clutch off, shift, auto goes to gear, clutch on" and if you did it fast enough, you will make the shift ;)....

    (Though, I don't think the above needs to be a side option because I don't think there is a gaming truck shift stick in existence. in order for it to be viable to manually select gears between shifts, is the shift stick would need to include neutral in the middle of the shift stick, since that's how a manual 10 speed transmission works).

    One more thing, is it possible to fly gears on the truck in-game? I think that would be an awesome detail as well, the reason why... I did it on the truck once... I was in the middle of a double clutch, so I had the dang thing in neutral, and I lifted my leg to hit the clutch. But I was so uncoordinated that I didn't put my foot down, and literally shoved the gear into place without clutching.... It was hilarious! Mostly because the truck took it! Anyways, I asked "What the hell?" turns out it was called "flying the gears?" or something like that.

    What do you think of these ideas?

    EDIT: I think it's actually called "Floating gears".... it's been year since I did it, so my memory is a little fuzzy..

    I have to admire another detail, I like how you can start the truck at a higher gear because truck drivers will sometimes skip the first or second gear altogether, and start the truck in 3rd gear... Well, if I remember correctly, though I am certain this is the case... Since low gears are tiny, so you blow through them really fast then switch to high gears...
     
    #425 Smash Balls, Aug 12, 2017 at 5:57 AM
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2017 at 7:43 AM
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Nebbie40

    Nebbie40
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Even with gear box safety assist off I cant shift down in any gear with out slowing down till it will let me and when spawning a new car the gearbox mode is automaticly set to arcade and not my default of realistic.
     
  7. mate_fin

    mate_fin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    I like the new sounds and all but I can't change the volume for effects and environment all crashing sounds are barely audible and to make them audible the engine sounds make me go deaf. clearing cache, disabling mods, re-installing the game nothing fixes that.
     
  8. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    If you'd read the whole thread then you would know that Diamondback is trying his best, he is simulating his M235i BMW's ZF-8 Gearbox, he agreed that its not good in this update and he is going to hotfix it for the next hotfix.
    If you really prefered the old system then add these lines of code to "vehicleController"
    "useSmartAggressionCalculation":false,
    "calculateOptimalLoadShiftPoints": false,
    that will switch it back
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. MistyMyles

    MistyMyles
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    --------BUG--------- When you spawn a car the fov is what you've set it to but when you press num5 or reset the car it resets the fov
    and you have to change it all the time.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
    • 2.jpg
    • 3.jpg
    • 4.jpg
    • Agree Agree x 2
  10. rache7

    rache7
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Relative camera
    I can not move
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. KJP12

    KJP12
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    667
    Should be WASD like the normal free-cam.
     
  12. Crash Report

    Crash Report
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Awesome update!
    I love the new engine sounds but.
    The engine sounds is way too low compared to other sounds like tire squeal and collisions.
     
  13. rache7

    rache7
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Dont work
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. KJP12

    KJP12
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    667
    Hmm... :/
     
  15. BowlerHatJack

    BowlerHatJack
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,445
    What are your camera bindings then?
     
  16. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8,894
    Check your controls, it works fine here (and for the others too it seems).
    Eventually wipe Documents/BeamNG.Drive/settings.
     
  17. sam9

    sam9
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    This isn't a bug but more of a suggestion , shouldn't open top vehicles have less sound muffling for the interior, such as the classic Hopper?
    Another suggestion is that when windows break , sound filtering is reduced .
     
  18. Taza

    Taza
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    629
    :(
    screenshot_00792.png
     
    • Funny Funny x 7
  19. 1ah1gamer

    1ah1gamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    i already told them in page 4 and nobody seems to care
    this is my reply:

    problem with automatic gear shifting version 0.10 the old version 0.9 the automatic gear was smart when i am not using full throttle (like 40% of throttle) the gear shift to next gear because the gear try not make rpm too high for no purpose and when i go like 80km and the gear on gear 4 and i hit full throttle the gear shift down ( like from gear 4 to gear 2 ) to make use of the engine full power
    but in 0.10 when i use like 40% throttle the gear wont shift to next gear i hope you guys fix it and great update.
    sorry for bad language
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    640
    As said multiple times already in this thread and in others, the old autos have a bit of a tuning issue atm which has been fixed for the hotfix...
     
    • Like Like x 3