1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

0.10.0.1 Discussion/Feedback/Bugs-Reporting Thread - READ #1 POST!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nadeox1, Aug 7, 2017.

  1. KJP12

    KJP12
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    I got it to go 140 MPH with the drag version... are you sure you are just using one of the weaker-engine models?
     
  2. speednsnake

    speednsnake
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    190
    After reading through a few posts on people's difficulty with the non assisted shifting, I believe that a slight change to how a shift is triggered could help a lot.

    Rather than having the shift occur on the button being pressed, what if instead pressing the button took the car out of gear and into neutral, and releasing it grabbed the next gear?

    If this was done, the timing on pressing the clutch key would be easier as you are self delaying it by having to press the button before you can release it, and you would also be able to rev match with full control on when you actually move into a gear. Skill would still be required (hopefully balancing controller users with wheel users) , and the faster you use the button, the faster you shift. (And the harder it would be to time the clutch)

    Plus, in reference to a previous post on double clutching, you would be able to replicate that critical neutral clutch engagement that double clutching entails (and requires).

    A skilled driver could (just like in real life) learn the correct timing to float the gears without using the clutch at all. If that isn't realistic trucking I don't know what is.

    Since beam already calculates torque load on the drivetrain, racing transmissions could be more accurately simulated as dog boxes, where all that is needed to shift is a momentary break in the torque load. (Either stab the clutch quickly without having to let off the gas, or let of the gas for a second and slam it into the next gear with no clutch.)

    Just an idea. Great work on the update guys. I've been waiting for better sounds since I signed up :).
     
    #462 speednsnake, Aug 13, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
    • Agree Agree x 6
    • Like Like x 1
  3. anselme

    anselme
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    108
    when the hotfix is coming
     
  4. KJP12

    KJP12
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    704
    Soon.
     
  5. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    8,957
    wording please..

    Check first post.

    Doesn't happen here.
    Check mods, etc etc.
     
  6. rli98

    rli98
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    For the node connector, when connecting two separate objects together by the nodes, is it possible if you were given the option that the "cord" connecting the two nodes stays slack, rather than automatically reeling in the two connected nodes towards each other.

    Also, if we want the "cord" to stay slack, have an option where we can reel in, shorten or increase the length of the "cord". This way, players don't have to disconnect the nodes so that they can drag objects closer or farther and then reconnect them.

    Can you add an option where I can make the "cord" connecting the nodes visible? Make the visible "cord" look like a simple rope.

    Have an option where two nodes connected together can be disconnected with enough force.

    Feel free to ask any questions if this sounds confusing.

    Yes, is it possible to put the BeamNG logo back to its original spot, which is next to the names? On the white thumbnail background, it's kind of hard to see the logo. If not, at least have the option to choose our preferences, like ManfredE3's suggestions.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. BowlerHatJack

    BowlerHatJack
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    Messages:
    1,452
    That's known. It says in the description of the random track that it's possible that broken tracks may be created when all factors are set to random.
     
  8. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    647
    Can you please record a video of your issue here with the pedals app visible?
    All of this is perfectly possible (even though skipping gears requires quick consecutive button presses).
    What control do you use for the clutch? Which input filter?

    As for clutch timing, we made a little change there for the hotfix, previously you could release the clutch too early before the shift actually finished.
    Now we disallow any decreasing clutch before the shift is actually done, so you can't run into this issue anymore.
    When using the direct clutch filter you can just blip the clutch together with the shift button and it's all fine.
     
  9. Darkiplier

    Darkiplier
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    I would say that sounds good. Your improvments on the game design are here. But the engines sounds seem to be the same, but a little reworked for each car. The big problem is the Civetta, the sounds does not fit the car. And for H Series, there is a problem at high speed, the sounds seem to crash :/ I'm a bit disapointed of this update. Hope you're doing good, and thanks for reading! See ya later on the roads!
     
  10. Dario555

    Dario555
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    399
    After this update, the game is a lot quieter. I have to turn the speakers up because I can't hear a thing. I ran the game in the safe mode and it is not helping.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  11. BombBoy4

    BombBoy4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    888
    When you remove the lid of the piano through the parts selector, it doesn't make ANY sound, not even being crashed into.
     
  12. Loafy

    Loafy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    I'm not having any trouble with shifting. It is a great system! Off the accel. clutch in. change gears. Accel. It really isn't that hard. If you are changing gears irl without a clutch you are putting wear on sychros.... either way if you drive like that daily the car is a probably pos and you don't care for the trans / clutch.

    Keep up the good work BeamTeam

    Edit*

    Try adding some UI apps to see how much throttle is applied or if the clutch is engaged or disengaged.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  13. icytower387

    icytower387
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    81
    i think the update is perfect and here's why
     
    • Funny Funny x 4
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Awesome Awesome x 1
  14. kaiser imnop

    kaiser imnop
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,527
    same problem
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. AX53

    AX53
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    121
    Lol.. The shifting problem isn't there for wheel users. Maybe that's why you're not noticing it.
     
  16. Google61

    Google61
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    It isn't bug-report, but I think suspension is too bouncy if it don't break after fall. IMHO
     
  17. icytower387

    icytower387
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    81
    ok, now im slightly pissed, before i would set the ai to manual and race in the hirochi dragstrip map and all was good, now the ai starts braking midway and it's just a clusterfu*k the cars are exactly the same as before i don't understand, what am i doing wrong?

     
    #477 icytower387, Aug 13, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
  18. Vladimir AB

    Vladimir AB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Hello BeamNG, I found that if you have a car in a tunnel and then you respawn it outside of it, the sound will still have that echo from the walls, like the car is still inside there.
     
  19. Teoman

    Teoman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    786
    top down camera is completely useless
    it doesnt even show the vehicles, after it focuses on the car it just moves in the area in front of it
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. DriftinCovet1987

    DriftinCovet1987
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Messages:
    322
    Your "problem" with the shifting is, to me at least, not so much of an issue, and I also use keyboard.

    So, today, I tried racing the Ibishu Covet 1.5 DX around the Industrial Perimeter circuit, a very short and demanding course, and here are the times that I got from 0.9 and 0.10 using a reversed layout.

    0.9 (realistic, with assists): 41.944

    0.10 (realistic w/o assists): 42.650

    What I noticed while driving without the assists was that I was constantly challenging myself to go even faster than before, maintaining as much momentum as possible. I also tried to minimize the effects that shifting fully-manually had on my speed, and to be honest, considering how I had to shift without assists 3-4 times per lap, I expected my lap time to be much slower. So, I tried 0.10 with assists to see if I could go any faster. I drove almost exactly the same way as I did without assists. The time?

    42.650.

    Exactly the same as without the assists.

    What I'm getting at here is that 0.10's new gearbox logic isn't as slow as people might think.