0.12.0.4 Discussion/Feedback/Bugs-Reporting Thread - READ #1 POST!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nadeox1, Mar 23, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PeakAir

    PeakAir
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    I found that since the update I lost some frame rate mainly on maps with high amounts of trees or other complex objects. eg Previously in the heavily wooded areas of east-coast USA in got 19 -15 fps but now I get 15-13 fps.

    These are my specks :

    Radeon Software Version - 18.5.1
    Radeon Software Edition - Adrenalin
    Graphics Chipset - AMD Radeon R7 Graphics
    Memory Size - 512 MB
    Memory Type - DDR4
    Core Clock - 758 MHz
    Windows Version - Windows 10 (64 bit)
    System Memory - 16 GB
    CPU Type - AMD A12-9720P RADEON R7, 12 COMPUTE CORES 4C+8G
     
  2. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3,931
    Is it possible to adjust your GPU allocated memory amount in BIOS of your system?

    I think you should have at least 1GB allocated for BeamNG, but I'm not sure if that really makes any difference to anything as GPU might scale that allocation.
     
  3. Sithhy™

    Sithhy™
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1,172
    Don't think that a 512MB GPU/APU is enough for BeamNG... You'd be better off upgrading your whole PC
     
  4. Pocketleaf824

    Pocketleaf824
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    what mod has a controlbox in it, I opened the car list and scrolled to the middle of the list and their it was.
     
  5. ast5515

    ast5515
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    205
    Bug report: A section of WCUSA near the Dockyards spawn point eats low profile tires.
    How to reproduce: Grab a vehicle with low profile tires and do stuff like burnouts, drifts, etc. at the location.
    Mods involved: No. All vehicles I tested it with are official vehicles with official configs.

    You also cannot pass under the X shaped metal bars on the right.

    screenshot_00000.png screenshot_00001.png
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,312
    hmm, wouldn't the memory speed be the same? Windows would hand over some system RAM in addition to the iGPU's allocated RAM. But they come from the same space, so they wouldn't be that far apart. Although if system RAM is full then windows might not want to hand over RAM to the iGPU. Best to allocate it in BIOS, it guarantees the iGPU RAM, and games have a space for textures.
     
  7. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3,931
    In theory I would think speed is same, unless there is some slowdown during re-allocating, but really don't know how much effect it would have for anything, that is why it might be good to have video ram at least 1GB, 2GB if possible.

    With APU or iGPU, if game runs that is a win as game is not designed to run, it is quite unlikely that devs start to optimize anything if there are no supporting evidence from some other hardware config that meets requirements.
     
  8. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,312
    yeah not meant for intensive games, and even though BeamNG isn't the prettiest, it can still swallow GPUs whole for breakfast :p
     
  9. PeakAir

    PeakAir
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    I forgot to mention that my computer has 2 GPUs. is the R7 with the 512 MB of dedicated ram but it also has a AMD Radeon RX 540 which Beamng runs on that has 2 GB of dedicated ram and on the GPU intensive maps the GPU runs at 90% +
     
  10. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,312
    Check in task manager, make sure its the RX540 that is being used. Granted it isn't a fast card still, but it's better than the R7 APU. Running a GPU at 90+-100% utilisation is good, means you are using it to the full potential, but it's bad if ur FPS is low. Then you change the settings.
     
  11. AlexMen

    AlexMen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    315
    I'm due to upgrade 0,12,0,4 all cards are not working what to do?
     
  12. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,662
    Kinda late update.
    Anyway, remove/disable all mods and check again.
    If persists do a Clean Reinstall (see first post)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. AlexMen

    AlexMen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    315
    thanks for the idea
     
  14. rocksim

    rocksim
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    435
    Anyone else having the issue where some of the newest mods on the repo aren't showing up? The older ones work and download just fine...
     
  15. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3,931
    This might be pointless bug report, but as it still is some hours before new version is released, I can report a CRASH:
    upload_2018-7-12_23-36-52.png

    If one plays in windowed mode, opens garage from main menu, then while in garage, closes BeamNG from red cross at top right corner of window, that will cause crash every time. Of course this is worth to test in new version too, maybe bug still lives there?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice