0.14 Discussion/Feedback/Bugs-Reporting Thread - READ #1 POST!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nadeox1, Oct 29, 2018.

  1. DePains

    DePains
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    64
    • Informative Informative x 2
  2. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,386
    Just wanted to chip in to say that the track builder looks like an excellently designed system, really well thought through, with productivity and ease of use in mind. It really is impressive. Its very clearly evident that whoever produced it has played many games with track building features (be it car or rollercoaster) and therefore understands the genre, to the point where I think this tool sets a new standard and moves the genre forward in many respects. Perhaps more importantly, it is responsive, pressing buttons makes things happen immediately.

    Really, I can't state enough, it is very cool.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Staff Pick Staff Pick x 2
  3. MarkosRuiz

    MarkosRuiz
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    141
    IDK if this is a bug but at least for me Two Step does nothing on a manual car, either NA or Turbo
     
  4. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    12,060
    #24 Nadeox1, Oct 30, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2018
  5. Sparks4

    Sparks4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    170
    Cool update but.. No new information on the new car/antilag system? What about the ui? I know the ui is a huge project, but I don't know what stage of development it's at/there isn't much information out there. I need to know if anything had been done, my game takes more than 45 seconds to a min to load the parts configurator.

    ( I also notice the ui is only use a single cpu core... I'll provide a screenshot when I get home. )

    I swear a few years ago, it wasn't this slow. It was much snappier a few years ago. That's when I had a lower end cpu/gpu. Compared to my 8th gen rig now.

    I've owned the game since it came out on the 13th... I have well over 1000 hours on this game. I love the game, it's my favorite simulator out there. But I really dislike how you guys stay so quiet most of the time.

    Plus, now I have to wait for 1-2 months until there's more information out there or until a update comes out. When I get home, I'll upload my fps logs here, and performance data from 3 pcs in my house ranging from 7th gen i7 cpus, second gen i7s and a 8th gen i5.

    Thanks for the update. I'm excited to check it out.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  6. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    12,060
    New UI is being worked in parallel, for now it's nothing more exciting than code and planning.
    In its blog ( https://blog.beamng.com/ui-sneak-peek/ ) we did say to not expect that to come soon. It won't replace the current UI until it's can do so properly.
    We will post more about it when it's interesting for you to read about that ;)

    45 seconds is really too much to bear with. I don't know how many mods you have, but please consider cutting them down.
    I've made this analogy quite many times: The UI is like a web browser, the more content it has, the longer it takes to load them. If you have mods that adds 50 configurations/parts/etc, they will take their toll on performance.
     
    • Like Like x 5
  7. Crash Hard 01

    Crash Hard 01
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    743
    Great update :) But how can we test the *planet gravity* stuff, is it in the worldeditor or and app?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. DePains

    DePains
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    64
    My pleasure, all my others mods are working and now I'll enjoy that update. Thank you guys for that !
     
  9. Sparks4

    Sparks4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    170
    I didn't mean to say I expected it to come out any time soon... I just wanted to know where it's at interms of development, I know this stuff takes a long time to develope and make right.

    Eh.. I removed all most mods a week ago, and still had the same problem with the ui. I looked at my cpu core usage, and I noticed only 1 core being used to around 70% when the game is paused when I navigate through the ui.

    I have a i7 2600, it's single core performance is low but the ui shouldn't be locked to just a single core. And I bet that's why it's slow. I'll post a screenshot when I get home :)
     
  10. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    12,060
    Not yet, will possibly be available in the world editor later on :)
    No need for screenshots, that's meant. UI has less priority than the game itself. Having it on one core leaves the others free for the game (physics, game engine, etc.) (very generically explained)
    Anyhow that's probably offtopic for this thread, feel free to open a separate thread if needed :)
     
    #30 Nadeox1, Oct 30, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2018
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Crash Hard 01

    Crash Hard 01
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    743
    so no way to test it out yet?
     
  12. Veyron730

    Veyron730
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    140
    I see some new car leaks ;)
    screenshot_2018-10-30_18-50-52.png screenshot_2018-10-30_18-51-11.png
    Also great update, as always!
     
    • Like Like x 11
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. MarkosRuiz

    MarkosRuiz
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    141
    i think this got lost in the comments hahhaa
     
  14. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    12,060
    Yes, but not pretty as it's done with a command.
    In Vehicle LUA:
    Code:
    obj:setPlanets({0,0,-6371000, 6371000, 5.972e24})
    (x, y, z, radius, mass)

    xyz is the location of the center of the planet
    Radius and mass are quite delicate, so be careful to not create a black hole :)

    Note that this is subject to change, so not suggested to use is mods or alike.
     
    #34 Nadeox1, Oct 30, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2018
    • Informative Informative x 2
  15. NeeDCrafT21

    NeeDCrafT21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    293
    SBR has the same sound for the 2.5 and 2 litre engine
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  16. DutchyGamer

    DutchyGamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    I love this update. I love the 1980's, neon-light-based environments, I love the new Light Runner mode. :eek:

    One question, I probably haven't read the update log well enough, but is it possible to add your own tracks to the Light Runner map?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    12,060
    Yes! Via the 'Track Builder' button in the Play menu.
    Then save the track via the Save/Load menu (remember to tick the option to save the track on the current level).

    For any other level, you can simply access the Track Builder from the side menu.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. vmlinuz

    vmlinuz
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,147
    In the H-Series, the engine is not connected to the radiator.

    Please bring a hose, and hurry, because boiling hot coolant is getting everywhere :p

    screenshot_2018-10-30_14-39-03.png
     
    #38 vmlinuz, Oct 30, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2018
    • Agree Agree x 5
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  19. jonthefuzz

    jonthefuzz
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    144
    I was playing with the fog and time setting and got this
    20181030113915_1.jpg
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  20. Toucan

    Toucan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    I just updated the game and it crashes while starting. Safe-mode and normal give the same error code:

    0xC0000409 STATUS_STACK_BUFFER_OVERRUN

    I'll try some more things but so far I did not manage to start the game.

    Edit: This resolved the issue for me:

     
    #40 Toucan, Oct 30, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2018
    • Agree Agree x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice