0.14 Discussion/Feedback/Bugs-Reporting Thread - READ #1 POST!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nadeox1, Oct 29, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PainyTOXA

    PainyTOXA
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    That's the problem - the game sees "Disconnected" events but does not see "Connected".

    Just checked - if I turn on Dualshock 4 via in game, no matter how - by pressing PS button to turn it on and autopair with pc or by connecting it with USB cable - BeamNG won't detect it, and it requires relaunching the game. I'm using literally no extra drivers like Inputmapper ones and stuff, just Steam.

    What I think it may be - there's obviously some handler to call Win devices to check for gamepads/wheels/connected stuff, but it works correctly only on start. I guess there is some function to toggle that handler every %something% seconds to check for plugged/unplugged devices, but something possibly broke and it checks only for disconnected ones, cause if I turn off the Dualshock, the game responds with "Controller 01 is unplugged".
     
  2. stenyak

    stenyak
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,239
    The game listens for changes to the list of connected devices. Whenever that happens, it waits a second or two for the new device drivers to settle down and do their thing, and then tells all input systems to re-initialize from absolute scratch, exactly like they do during game startup.

    Several things may be happening here.
    1) The game doesn't get notified about the new device being plugged in. We don't poll for the device list every frame, we just listen for Windows to tell us "hey, something new was connected, check it out if you want".
    2) The device somehow may disappear/reappear at incorrect times. So at the time we are looking into the list of devices, it just isn't there for whatever reason. I've seen drivers adding a fake device in the first few milliseconds after plugging a steering wheel, then removing this device from the list two tenths of a second later, then adding a different new device shortly afterwards (which is the actual device this time). Something similar may be happening here. Or maybe the drivers take a whole 5 seconds to list the new device, etc.

    Please do the following. Grab a second USB device. Any other gamepad or joystick you may have lying around (keyboard and mice won't work, they go through a different system). Make sure this device gets detected correctly when you plug and unplug it. Now repeat your DS4 tests. If the device doesn't get recognized, use this second device to trigger the reinitializing procedure. Let me know if the DS4 gets detected after you have forced device re-listing by plugging the second, working controller.
     
  3. Bubbleawsome

    Bubbleawsome
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,873
    I can confirm the game still works fine with Xbox and generic controllers. I’ve got an Xbox One Controller on Bluetooth and a Logitech f310 (I think that’s what it’s called) that I can plug and unplug as much as I want.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. PainyTOXA

    PainyTOXA
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Don't know how to add a spoiler with this text editor, sorry for the wall of text.

    So I grabbed a Steam controller laying around and ran a bunch of tests. Please note that both of these controllers are handled and configured by Steam, shown separately and named correctly in Big Picture mode, and DS4 has enabled custom desktop configuration. Both are shown as "Wireless device" and "Wired device" accordingly in Windows Devices panel.
    Game is launched in Desktop mode, not from Big Picture.

    I've connected DS4 via Bluetooth for tests and SC both wired and wireless (via Steam dongle).

    1. Both turned on before game launch - both are shown, both are sharing the same button layout, both are detected as a "Xbox Controller 1/2", "XIDevice 01/02" and as "Controller 01/11"
    2. Both off before - first one to turn on doesn't appear, second one turned on enables the first one, and then when I turn off the first one the second one detects. Turning on the other one while the first one is connected doesn't do anything, only turning off the first one enables the second controller (and vice versa, turning second off while first one is on makes the game detect it too).
    3. One controller is on before launch - like in 2, turning on second one doesn't work until you turn off working one, that makes the second one to appear.

    Win10 1703, latest drivers and stuff, latest Steam beta, latest game version.

    [upd] 4. Turned off Steam and launched the game manually. Dualshock was detected instantly as a "Wireless device" with it's ID (man, what a weird default button layout, mine is way better ;) ), SC is working as a "Keyboard+Mouse" as I set it up last time. No option to turn off DS4, so I launched Steam only to make it bork the game - the "Wireless device" disappeared only when I turned off DS4, and then it never appeared back until I relaunched the game. SC still was detecting as KB+Mouse events.

    5. Turned off Steam's "Enable custom Playstation controller config" - see 4, but I was able to turn DS4 off via Center+Triangle, and it made camera unzoom to eternity (talking weird layouts ;) no shift up button in default one!). Was able to turn DS4 back on too.

    I guess it's something to do with Steam and the way it handles gamepads. I'm not planning to turn off Custom settings, they are pretty neat.
    Shouldn't Steam have some easy way for games to check for new devices?.. It shows them all in Big Picture settings if you connect them. I would suggest to start relying on Steam in the way of handling game devices (it even supports Switch Pro controllers now), and keep current system as a "Legacy" one, but that is obviously not for now. Just a thought ;)

    Thanks for reading that wall of text :) Hope it helps in debugging.

    P.S. Making Steam handle controllers can make future Linux porting easier ;)
     
  5. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    7,075
    My experience with Steam is that it likes to create a mess with controllers.

    I just bind buttons where I want them to be inside the game, I have told Steam to stay away from anything, but each Steam updated enables some features, some causing text input randomly stops working inside the game.

    With Wireless Rumblepad 2 game detects it with press of button and it works fine, If I unplug receiver and plug in while game is running that works too, but if Steam makes any change to settings then nothing works again and have to try to find a way to disable steam virus making mess of everything.

    Btw, latest version of Steam is somehow causing lag on CPU heavy maps and I have seen Steam launching really many processes that creep up on memory usage at quite good pace.

    So for now I run game mostly without Steam until they make an update.

    I would prefer removal of big picture and pretty much everything from steam, it is too bloaty way it is now. You can test running banana bench with steam shut down and steam been running for 2 hours on background to see how much 1 car result changes. I get around 40Mbeams/s with 1 car without overclocking on 6700 non K, but with Steam running there is a big hit to that.

    So at least I hope that Steam will never be required to play the game.

    Steam might be fine, if they would at least try to get it efficient, but it is not priority for them.
     
  6. Nihilanth

    Nihilanth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    the etk 800 and k has weak suspension. if you go to a drift the track is not straight anymore

    sorry for my bad english
     
  7. 3DTunes

    3DTunes
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    299
    The Double 4 Meter Swing gate only spawns as the Single 4 Meter Swing gate and both gates have a broken orbit camera that doesn't move.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  8. FLyInG 2 YoUr SoUL

    FLyInG 2 YoUr SoUL
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    5,023
    Removing the rear left door glass on the ETK 800 Series also removes the (normally non-removable) door panel.

    Other doors are unaffected.
     

    Attached Files:

    • etk_rear_left_door.png
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. stenyak

    stenyak
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1,239
    This indicates that Windows notifies BeamNG.drive about new devices having been plugged (or unplugged), but then fails to update the device list until much later on.
    This is why you see the new/removed devices much later (when you plug/unplug another device and BeamNG.drive has a chance to take another look at the list).

    As a workaround, you can plug/unplug this second controller (after plugging the first one) to let BeamNG.drive know it should take a second look at the list, which by then should already have been updated by Windows.
     
  10. Crash Hard 01

    Crash Hard 01
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    974
    Here are something that would be welcome, a finale warning with *Are you sure you want to exit the level/map, Yes/No* I have exited by a mistake (pressing the wrong button) so many times now, after using an hour setting up car preset, AI and color for the cars. so frustrating.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    7,075
    I hope that it would be possible to turn off for those who are willing to take the risk and absolutely hate any extra clicks / movements of mouse for any task.

    What button exactly you press to make such accident happen? It probably is not exit level from game menu that is bottom left, from World editor file menu one can choose exit level, but I think that does ask if you want to save the changes, but only in case you have actually altered the level, but is there some other spot where you get this mishap?
     
  12. Crash Hard 01

    Crash Hard 01
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    974
    I pressed the back button to go to the main menu (By accident, it happens so fast, and there are no way back from that) And belive me you want that saftynet when you have been setting up 70 cars, and all that work is gone with one wrong button press!!!
     
  13. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    7,075
    Hmmm, not sure, that would give quite spicy emotional experience :D

    ESC, don't click the menu to go away, hit esc, that will save you if such safety is not implemented.
     
  14. Crash Hard 01

    Crash Hard 01
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    974
    I have to use the side menu a lot, to reset cars (and sometimes I click the wrong button without thinking, i don`t know why)

    -on a side note, when we reset cars by using the debug menu (reset all) the meshes of the cars are still broken (rims, tires, bumpers and grills) I cant reset 70 cars by pressing R and TAB (that is a good way to make the game crash)
     
  15. RetrO_TyT

    RetrO_TyT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    Messages:
    370
    I don't know why, but when I start applying texture to a terrian my game crashes.
    ALL mods are disabled.
    screenshot_2018-11-23_14-19-35.png .png
     
  16. Joku

    Joku
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    43

    Not exactly a new thing i suppose. But here you have some floating trees near the west side edge
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  17. TheX

    TheX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    826
  18. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13,787
    • Informative Informative x 1
  19. Twitch Axis

    Twitch Axis
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    503
    I'm not sure if this has been reported already, but I am not looking through 21 pages to find out so here it is.

    The map editor is extremely laggy sometimes while doing basic functions such as painting textures. The mouse lags along painting very unevenly almost leaving circles of texture behind rather than a completed section of textured terrain. I have attempted going slower, pausing physics, disabling collision while editing, putting my settings as low as possible. Nothing seems to fix this issue. I also would like to bring up that the autopaint feature takes about 4-8 minutes to render on a fairly small map...1024x1024. I do understand that this is quite a bit to render but I think that the render time should be able to decrease significantly. Just wanted to bring these map editor issues to attention.
     
  20. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13,787
    Check your console.
    If there are problems with textures/groundmodels, they are potentially getting spammed per second while you paint, causing slow downs.
    If you try on Gridmap for example, it should be smooth.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice