0.16 Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nadeox1, May 3, 2019.

  1. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,594
    updated my gpu drivers and now i have a butter smooth beamng drive ui :)
    running 430.64 on my 960 2gb
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. EpicSlayer7.666

    EpicSlayer7.666
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    will try that and come back reporting if it fixes it. IF it does i hope the DEVs can take note and be able to guide people to that just like the banner on the top that said there was an issue with a driver... a few days back.
     
  3. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,594
    i had a smooth ui until the game crashed... gpu not responding... *sigh*
     
  4. EpicSlayer7.666

    EpicSlayer7.666
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    in my case it did not do anything.
     
  5. mohsa

    mohsa
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    For some odd reason this new update ruined the overall experience for me. As many have already mentioned, the UI and loading times are slower and although it shows that I’m getting more then 60fps it feels as if I’m only getting about 10 on the menu alone. There’s also more screen flickering then the norm. While playing the game, I’ve noticed maps like crash hard 1 & 2 are a lot worse after this update (yes I know that these are mods and not made by the devs, however they were working fine before this update). What happens is when I first load the map and I drive around the movement stutters almost like a sine or cosine wave (it’s a little hard to explain). Things I’ve tried are: reinstalling the game, reinstalling GPU drivers, clearing cache, verifying integrity and going to safe mode. Still have these issues. I can guarantee it’s not related to my hardware as I have more than enough power to run it, but I’ll mention my specs here anyway just incase; Asus Strix Vega 64, i5 8600k, running everything on SSD’s and M.2’s. Yes my GPU is on the latest drivers. I also play on a 2560x1440p resolution if that info has any benefit.
     
    #545 mohsa, May 13, 2019
    Last edited: May 13, 2019
  6. CrimsonCrocodile

    CrimsonCrocodile
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1,411
    In relation to UI lag, have you tried selecting: Options>Graphics>Enable Hardware Acceleration for the User Interface.
    Relaunch your game once selected.
     
  7. mohsa

    mohsa
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Yes actually I just did that and that seemed to have resolved the UI lag issue so far, however I’m still having the issue with the map where it stutters and it’s movement when driving is similar to a sine/cosine wave. Even when looking at the graphs of the cpu and gpu they both have ups and downs milliseconds apart.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. Brother_Dave

    Brother_Dave
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    857
    None taken but didnt know you made the rules about what lag to write about lol. My issues, which several others share as you can see by the 'Agree's i have, can be read a few pages back.
    You know what, here are my lag issues so that you dont have to go back and read. Who knows, maybe they have a common ground :eek:

    1. In the Main menu i have a slight lag in software mode (probably due to being Software mode), in hardware mode its silky smooth before i go to play a map.
    2. When playing, the menu lags.
    3. Ingame HUD (Speedometer for you) lags.
    4. The tiny Apps-menu when hitting Ctrl+F9 does not lag ingame.
     
  9. EpicSlayer7.666

    EpicSlayer7.666
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    not really demanding people to abide by any rules but with the issue that GPU rendering is a total mess for some (and the Black UI before) in therms of lag (GPU rendering makes the Main Menu go 0.00001 FPS) and the only fix is software rendering that is way less good than what V0.15 had for a UI... and then you who goes after a new update saying that "pausing the game fixes the lag"... it sounded like some one who did not know that each update, the game makes a new Cashe Folder forcing you to load the stuff at least once again for it to appear... (that is what i interpreted by the fix...)

    in my case if i never wanted to wait the load times (trick question/answer since i would ALWAYS wait...) i could make the RAM drive bigger on MY PC (i have 32 GB of RAM on a Budget build i3 8100 and 1050Ti... lol) and make it save the image of that drive on shutting Down the PC and load it on startup. (some people even figured out how to Run Windows 100% from a RAM drive... i am not that Obsessed) this way any map or car you would load would be only limited by processing power and not even load times! (Windows loads in 1 minute on a Virtual Box 100% in RAM drive, so Processing power is what slows it Down when you take storage speed out of the equation. when i did the experiment i expected it to load in 10 sec...)

    so yeah for stuff not loading instantly i always pressed Pause so i simply reacted as such... anyhow in what we were discussing about was that even tho i have the same GPU as some one else in the conversation, i cannot use the GPU rendering even with the Latest Driver while he can so it feels more and more like there is no solution we can come up with as individuals and it is up to the game devs to make tools to pin point the problem then rework on the bug... tho i also wish that i could have the option to use the V0.15 UI in the meanwhile... (like add it to the Steam "Beta" lists since i see 2 other old versions there. cause i was seriously considering downloading the UI somewhere on the internet no matter where it comes from... no going to risk it but "considering" might be a will do for others... unlike Emulating a Console you own, that might be a huge virus risk!)

    any how this is turning into a rant, it is 4:30AM and my eyes are rolling backwards... so for now i will endure V0.16 Software mode and hope it gets fixed... (and also hope all this was not full of typos that makes me look like the Epitaph of inconscious mass that i actually feel like right now!) tho will check and test methods proposed and write results gained or not here but passed that i think most angles have been explored in depth by us on the consumers side of things.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. Brother_Dave

    Brother_Dave
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    857
    Not that many typos, 'therms' instead of 'terms', 'tho' instead of 'though' and so on :p A good rant you managed to pull off there, very well balanced.

    Yeah, id say its processing power too, those maps that is tougher on the cpu tends to lag more. More advanced jBeams seem to do the laggy life too, would make sense. Weird thing is that sometimes the ingame menu doesnt lag at all, especially if the game's been running for a good while (say atleast 30-45min). The weird thing tho (spelling intended ;) ) is that in world editor it doesnt lag at all but i assume they use different ways to render the menus. How is yours in world editor? Id guess no lag?
     
  11. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13,187
    What are your full specs?
    What graphical settings are you using?
    What vehicles does this happen on?

    GPU Acceleration is experimental (also why it's disabled by default now), and will not cooperate well with programs that will hook into the game (like ReShade), at least for now.
     
  12. tdev

    tdev
    Expand Collapse
    Developer
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,838
    wait, what?!
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  13. JSZ2005

    JSZ2005
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2018
    Messages:
    206
    I noticed that too...
     
  14. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13,187
    Uh, there's something wrong there.
    Maybe your post got caught in the automated spam filter, since your account has rather few posts and I'm already seeing tracks of that.
    There are no tracks of other accounts for you (existing or existed), and your account also says 'Joined from 2013' (read as, registered in 2013)

    Anyhow, regarding the UI, please make sure to restart the game after changing the 'HW Acceleration' setting. It's required to switch rendering modes for the UI.
    Also as you are on Windows 10, please make sure 'Game Mode' is disabled. The way it manages the processes tends to kill the performance of the UI process.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. bremerpascal94

    bremerpascal94
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Bad Frametimes after the last Hotfix Update With an Ryzen 7 2700X @4,1 GHz boost 32 Gigs of Ram @ 3133 Mhz & GTX 1070 SLI, Driver Version is 430.35 SLI is disabled and all Mods are off
    does not change everything on the Bad Performance. Mini Map in Italia is broken too. Also the Cache is cleared.
     
  16. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13,187
    The minimap (Navigation App) is working fine here.
    Although please note that if you have enabled the experimental 'Hardware Acceleration for User Interface' setting, some bugs can appear.
    So far we know that the map can disappear if you are headed into a certain direction or near some level border.

    If you have it enabled, then please disable that setting in Options > Graphics.
    It may also help with the overall game's performance in your case.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. bremerpascal94

    bremerpascal94
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for the quick response, but the Hardware Acceleration for User Interface has been disabled from the beginning. The FPS fall from 60 to 57 then directly back to 62, it does not feel smooth anymore. Before the update, I always had 60 FPS which were also held. Vsync & G-sync is both active, My monitor is running at 60 Hz and the resolution is 1920x1080.
     
  18. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,779
    There has been lot of fixes to G-Sync by Nvidia, but also there can be still lot fixes left. I remember reading they had quite bit of glitches when Vsync and Gsync were both enabled.

    It might be good test to see if disabling G-Sync changes anything for you?
     
  19. Sithhy™

    Sithhy™
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1,777
    This road doesn't show up as a road on the map... nor some other roads connecting to it o_O

    upload_2019-5-13_17-9-6.png
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. bremerpascal94

    bremerpascal94
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Messages:
    5


    I have now installed the latest driver and disabled G-Sync and V-sync and switched the monitor to 144Hz and unfortunately I have worse break-ins, from 80 FPS to 58. I also have a very poor input lag and bad frame times. The game feels like I only have 30 FPS. I do not know anymore. Everything was perfect before the update, but now it's not playable for me, even though my PC can not be the worst. I also never had problems with combined G-Sync and V-Sync, in other games it works perfectly. In Beamng, it was not a problem until the update.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice