1. Intel iGPU (6xx series) crashes
    Fixed drivers available!
    Instructions here

    Dismiss Notice

0.20 Discussion thread | Use Safe Mode before reporting

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Leeloo, Aug 6, 2020.

  1. KingAndreison

    KingAndreison
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Hi there, so far the hotfix fixed my flickering lights and messed up gauge cluster bug on the SBR4, thanks for the quick fix! Just noticed the following bugs now with the hotfix
    - Vehicle config tree closes everytime a part is selected (I think this has been reported on previous posts here)
    - Vehicle config is changed when changing to the simple tree (not sure why, might have been like this from the start, but I just accidentally stumbled upon it while trying to fix the closing config tree issue mentioned above)
    - And in the screenshot, the bus stops in East Coast USA affect the color of the environment behind its glass.

    That's all I can observe for now, thanks for the work poured into the game and keep safe!
     

    Attached Files:

    • screenshot_2020-08-13_10-43-45.jpg
  2. YellowRusty

    YellowRusty
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,412
    A 14-hour shift? The dev team is incredible - and passionate too! That's dedication right there.

    screenshot_2020-08-12_19-34-51.png
    First off, I want to say that I absolutely love the fact that this ledge in the warehouse area is the perfect height for loading Dry Van trailers - this is something I've been wanting in BeamNG for a long time.

    screenshot_2020-08-12_19-59-44.png

    Secondly, I'm glad to see that the cranes got a bit of love in the hotfix, but there might still be work left to be done - there's no way that anything would be able to get from the ship to the dock with the crane frame this narrow.

    screenshot_2020-08-12_20-02-01.png

    I'm not sure if this was tweaked or not - but I have discovered it is possible to get a truck through this now with a bunch of reversing and taking special care to avoid snagging the front of the trailer on the ramp at left. It's still a pain - hence the pieces ripped off the side of the tractor, but it does seem a shade more doable.

    screenshot_2020-08-12_20-03-25.png upload_2020-8-12_20-25-11.png

    This remains impossible. It doesn't have to be moved up far. Y = 40.75 is sufficient to let a flatbed with container pass underneath. A few pallets at each end (borrowed from the racks inside some of the warehouses) would do the job nicely.

    Incidentally, I'm liking what I'm seeing from the new World Editor - finding and moving objects seems much more intutitive. I'm almost tempted to give map & scenario making another try.

    screenshot_2020-08-12_20-06-47.png

    This lip still needs a bit of smoothing - it strikes the landing legs of trailers, and even halts trailers being reversed down the ramp.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  3. HeepXJ40

    HeepXJ40
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2020
    Messages:
    189

    is there a way to hold the throttle and brake at the same time on some of the modern automatics without it... just freely revving? seems to make boosted launches impossible.
     
  4. epsoftwa

    epsoftwa
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    I haven't seen this mentioned yet but since the update (0.20.0 / 0.20.1) the parts menu resets after every selection. I have tried this in both Normal and Safe modes with the same result. It makes it time-consuming and very annoying when trying to configure a vehicle.

    When using the new "Search" function in the Parts Menu, the menu does NOT reset after each selection. While workable, it does not list "Sub" parts. i.e. when configuring the engine, you don't see all the engine sub-parts when using the new search function.

    I realise I am using a sub-standard laptop to play but the issues didn't happen prior to the updates.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  5. PinheadLarry

    PinheadLarry
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Ah man, that sucks.

    Sounds like I have a metric assload of configs to change then.

    EDIT: Big surprise, this feature doesn't even seem to work properly. I modified the configs for my electric Arsenic mod to have custom plates and they don't even apply. .20 is apparently the update of broken updates.
     
    #425 PinheadLarry, Aug 13, 2020
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2020
  6. CTV

    CTV
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Thank you for the hard work on the fixes.

    Could I clarify again, for vehicles that cannot spawn / spawn incorrectly, will that be addressed in the future by the devs or is it the mod creator's responsibility to fix broken spawning?

    Also, regarding missing tyres, is it not possible to put back the same size tyres before the update? What I mean is that the available tyres that I can put back for modded cars are not the same as the ones that loaded in before 0.20 update (eg wrong size and width tyres provided in the parts selector)
     
  7. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,640
    No, to save your clutch, DCTs and manuals/sequentials in Arcade mode won't let you do that.
     
  8. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    260
    I think it has been discussed that it's the responsibility of the mod creator to fix all of this, however the hotfix did fix a few mods
     
  9. JJscoobs

    JJscoobs
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    423
    screenshot_2020-08-13_02-13-25.png screenshot_2020-08-13_02-13-06.png screenshot_2020-08-13_02-14-06.png
    Only issue I've found about the new map. This building just seems wonky its too high up and too far right into the hangar a little bit, and some other staircases have collision issue's but very minor.
    (Love the work I'm absolutely blown away)
     
  10. CTV

    CTV
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Yeah I did notice that, thats why I'm not sure whether the hotfix was supposed to do it or not, as some mods are still broken while others actually started working again. (eg Widebody RX7 used to spawn corrupt, but now its alright). Guess some mods were broken in not necessarily the same way.
     
  11. sebaudio

    sebaudio
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks for the report. Would you mind making another comparison video with one of our in-game vehicles, without any modifications? That would be helpful. Thanks!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. tdev

    tdev
    Expand Collapse
    Developer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,916
    Good morning everyone. Another day full of bugfixes :D

    Please keep them coming so we can fix them all. Especially broken mods - thanks a lot!
     
    • Like Like x 7
  13. (D.TS)Parowdude

    (D.TS)Parowdude
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    I am also having the same issue. Also is it just me or is the supercharger pitches/noises extremely high/loud? (Safe mode + no mods)
     
  14. CTV

    CTV
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Wait im confused now haha. Which part of bugfixing mods lies with the dev and which lies with the mod author? The silent hotfix resolved issues with some mods, but other vehicles still crash the game, others still spawn corrupted, etc
     
  15. RealGunpreacher

    RealGunpreacher
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    how can i create a thread? bcs i got a big problem
     
  16. Toddolius

    Toddolius
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    264
    The game exits when I attempt to remove nodes leaving just one or when I placed one and let go of the Alt key. Mods have been removed and all. Happened since the latest release 0.20.1
     
  17. Cento186

    Cento186
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    I've found that unticking 'Apply Changes Automatically" works to stop the menu closing up, of course you must then click apply when done.
     
  18. tdev

    tdev
    Expand Collapse
    Developer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,916
    More fixes are going your way:

    68173 - hide empty slots with no children
    68170 - improved 'apply changes" - will remember last setting - QA-24
    68168 - improves QA-24: partmgmt will highlight the part even of the current value does not match, added highlighting for changed items in the part config
    68165 - fixes: QA-31: Changing parts causes dropdowns to collapse
     
    • Like Like x 11
  19. tdev

    tdev
    Expand Collapse
    Developer
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,916
    We want try to help the modders as much as possible. So if we are aware of common problems, we can try to fix in the game itself :)
     
  20. RealGunpreacher

    RealGunpreacher
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    is ther a newer tutorial how to create a scenario?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice