On Hold 3ds Max JBeam Tool

Discussion in 'Utilities and programming' started by Fireboyd78, Jul 9, 2014.

?

What do you think?

  1. I am looking forward to this tool!

    92.0%
  2. I am not interested in this tool

    8.0%
  1. Fireboyd78

    Fireboyd78
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    I'm currently working on a conceptual JBeam editor for 3ds Max. It does not support importing or much of anything else other than very simple node connecting.

    Here's a screenshot demonstrating the workflow:


    (imported from here)

    The text box on the right side of the GUI updates in real-time, updating whenever a node moves or whenever beams are added. The nodes are actually "Point" objects, which are perfectly suited for representing nodes. The lines are not actual objects in the scene, but rather drawn onto the viewport every time it is updated.

    Selecting a beam:


    (imported from here)

    To remove a beam, you can either select one from the list and click "Unlink Nodes", or select two nodes and it'll determine if they are connected via a beam. Everything shown here is subject to change at any time.

    Since the "compiled" text is cut off in the screenshots, here is the full output of the code:

    Code:
    "nodes": {
        ["id", "posX", "posY", "posZ"],
        ["frc4", 10.5109, -40.0, -0.302399],
        ["rrc4", 10.6023, 40.0, -0.302399],
        ["rlc4", 90.5109, 40.0, 0.25],
        ["flc4", 90.5109, -40.0, 0.25],
        ["frc3", 40.1965, -12.456, 60.25],
        ["top2", 50.5109, -3.0598e-006, 70.0],
        ["rlc3", 60.8253, 12.456, 60.4073],
        ["flc3", 60.9167, -12.456, 60.25],
        ["rrc3", 40.1965, 12.456, 60.25],
        ["flc1", -14.1388, -44.6225, 0.25],
        ["rlc1", -14.1388, 35.3775, 0.25],
        ["rrc1", -94.1388, 35.3775, -0.302399],
        ["frc1", -94.1388, -44.6225, -0.302399],
        ["frc2", -64.4532, -12.456, 60.25],
        ["top1", -54.1388, -3.0598e-006, 70.0],
        ["rlc2", -43.8244, 12.456, 60.4073],
        ["flc2", -43.8244, -12.456, 60.25],
        ["rrc2", -64.4532, 12.456, 60.25],
    }
    
    "beams": {
        ["id1:", "id2:"],
        ["frc4","rrc4"],
        ["rrc4","rlc4"],
        ["rlc4","flc4"],
        ["flc4","frc4"],
        ["frc4","frc3"],
        ["frc3","top2"],
        ["top2","rlc3"],
        ["rlc3","rlc4"],
        ["flc4","flc3"],
        ["flc3","top2"],
        ["top2","rrc3"],
        ["rrc3","rrc4"],
        ["rrc3","frc3"],
        ["frc3","flc3"],
        ["flc3","rlc3"],
        ["rlc3","rrc3"],
        ["flc1","rlc1"],
        ["rlc1","rrc1"],
        ["rrc1","frc1"],
        ["frc1","flc1"],
        ["frc1","frc2"],
        ["frc2","top1"],
        ["top1","rlc2"],
        ["rlc2","rlc1"],
        ["flc1","flc2"],
        ["flc2","top1"],
        ["top1","rrc2"],
        ["rrc2","rrc1"],
        ["rrc2","frc2"],
        ["frc2","flc2"],
        ["flc2","rlc2"],
        ["rlc2","rrc2"],
        ["frc1","rlc2"],
        ["flc1","rrc2"],
        ["rrc1","flc2"],
        ["rlc1","frc2"],
        ["rrc4","flc3"],
        ["rlc4","frc3"],
        ["frc4","rlc3"],
        ["flc4","rrc3"],
        ["rlc1","rrc4"],
        ["flc1","frc4"],
        ["flc2","frc3"],
        ["rlc2","rrc3"],
        ["top1","top2"],
    }
    I hope to get some in-game testing done soon, as well as adding new features to the tool. I cannot guarantee it'll be finished or released any time soon, but I am working on it (albeit slowly).

    What do you guys think of it so far? :D
     
    #1 Fireboyd78, Jul 9, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2014
  2. Elvisnake

    Elvisnake
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    206
    That's all I need:) Keep it up it's great!:D
     
  3. Calais

    Calais
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    418
    Aw yes, this will help me out so much! Hope you finish it.
     
  4. Fireboyd78

    Fireboyd78
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Small update:


    (imported from here)

    You can now convert Editable Poly objects to a node beam structure ;)

    Also seeing as how some node/beam structures may have a lot of beams to draw on-screen, I added the option to not draw the names above nodes. The GUI doesn't show these options yet, but that's the next important thing I need to do.
     
  5. Leet34

    Leet34
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    236
    Thats amazing, good job !
     
  6. IBsenoj

    IBsenoj
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    818
    Good luck! So far so good. :)
     
  7. Fireboyd78

    Fireboyd78
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Hey guys, just thought I should post another update since it's been a few days since the last one.


    (imported from here)

    Importing works somewhat, but it's still very buggy. Once again, the only things currently supported are the nodes and beams. No groups, properties, attributes, etc.

    I do plan on implementing colTris hopefully within the next couple of days. I can't stress enough that advanced properties/attributes and the like are NOT supported, and it is highly unlikely they will be supported in the near future. With that said, I suggest using this tool alongside a text-editor. If anyone has reasonable suggestions, feel free to post them here.
     
  8. Goosah

    Goosah
    Expand Collapse
    Global Moderator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    790
    Looks great! Will I be able to have my model open to use as a reference creating the structures?
     
  9. Dummiesman

    Dummiesman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,634
    Yep, you can have your model open, and even use the vertex snapping tool while creating nodes :). It's actually a great way to create a jbeam if I do say so myself.
     
    #9 Dummiesman, Jul 15, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 15, 2014
  10. Fireboyd78

    Fireboyd78
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Collision triangles have been implemented! Unfortunately there's a bug in the Nitrous renderer for 3ds Max, so this happens:


    (imported from here)

    It shouldn't look like that. Oh well, I'll probably end up leaving it or just making colTri's an actual mesh.

    I need to update the GUI as well. I'm tempted to make the GUI using .NET, but I'm not sure if it's worth the effort. I'll probably end up doing it at a later time.
     
    #10 Fireboyd78, Jul 23, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2014
  11. Goosah

    Goosah
    Expand Collapse
    Global Moderator
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    790
    Try using directx for the viewport renderer?
     
  12. Fireboyd78

    Fireboyd78
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    I've tried everything. DirectX, software, all to no avail. Not really a big deal though, I've been wanting to experiment with using Editable Poly's to move nodes and define collision meshes. More on that later if it gets anywhere.
     
  13. Calais

    Calais
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    418
    Any more progress on this? Would love to see it beta released :)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice