WIP Beta released A new *CITY* map - LOS INJURUS 2020-01-10

The large city of Los Injurus welcomes you with an update!

  1. Glorious_duck

    Glorious_duck
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    163
    What have you done, Bob? WHAT HAVE YOU DONE?

    Also, nice, we're getting an airport!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,431
    OK, so, big reveal, CONCOURSES ARE IN!

    The black rubber baffle on the end of the Jet Bridge (Passenger Boarding Bridge - or PBB for short) does *NOT* have collision, but the rest of everything you see, has full native collision. The reason the black rubber baffle doesn't have it, is so that you can pull an airplane up to it, and it will look like it conforms to the side of the plane.
    The plane is almost ready and will be in, in the morning. I will be doing the runways tomorrow. I should have something decent enough to land on tomorrow (the old runways still exist for now!).

    You guys wanted Hartsfield-Jackson in ATLANTA GEORGIA, you got it. Well almost all of it. The rest will come shortly there-after.

    Once I finish up with tomorrow's editing (mostly inside the map editor), I will be packing up the map and uploading during the 2am-8am window of time where I can do it without killing my bandwidth quota for the month.
    The amount of draw-calls for this monstrous concourse is only 22 (!!!!!) draw calls for the entire thing. All the jet-ways draw simultaneously. At just under 29,000 triangles, it's not a bear to render, either, for something as large as that is. Draw calls naturally will go up 10~20 when I put some striping down on it for aircraft travel. It could even go up more than that. That being said, the detail levels for it will hold so long as you are on the airport grounds or in the nearby vicinity.

    So, while not much else in the map has changed - except finding the lag source and eradicating it (for all affected systems hopefully), that airport is going to be the star of the show.
    The style does carry through to the terminal, as was pictured a few weeks ago:

    For reference, this shows a little less than half the terminal building. The entire terminal building is roughly 50~55% the length of *one* concourse. They're huge.


    Updates after the FRIDAY update will become MUCH more frequent. I am talking about returning to the twice-a-month schedule. So lots of good news tonight.
    I will be syncing my files to the new machine this weekend. I mostly did that already but decided to get this update pushed out first on the old machine, as I don't want anything messing that up. I haven't even gotten to sit and use my new machine yet. I have only been standing in-front of it configuring and testing things periodically. Right now, this up-date is front and center the most important. Heck it's taken me long enough.
    Doing the beginnings parking-lot and some of the grounds tomorrow (e.g. doing the access road and such). I will be having to re-configure the highway a bit (not the stack interchange though), where it goes through the airport, so small planes can go over the highway (as it's currently configured, they cannot). I will likely wait until after the update to do that.
    --That is all for now.
     
    • Like Like x 8
  3. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,431
    Okay guys / gals, will be uploading shortly. Thank-you for your patience.
    What's changed?
    The airport now has concourses. They're huge and pretty much done aside of striping on the tarmac and wear-textures on the ground / utility doors at ground level.
    The airport has two short (1.2 mile) runways for now. One will be converted to a taxi-way later on when the new, longer 2.5 mile runways are added on the ocean side.
    The parking-lot for the airport doesn't really exist yet, BUT the access road does, so now you can get to it from the highways. There aren't any utility roads from the airport terminal to the concourses yet.
    The access road to the airport is NOT banked yet. I have more to do before I bank it, so take those turns slowly where the road turns to asphalt.
    Fixed a bug in the terminal building that caused highest detail not to render soon enough (there's a few of these around town on medium - mostly overpasses, low detail is horrendous).
    Fixed the lag bug the other day, for AMD graphics users.
    The next beta is 15~16 days away after this one, with more stuff done to the airport at that point. I tried to cram more stuff in but I am getting Carpel Tunnel syndrome if I don't stop using the PC tonight.

    For what it's worth, yes there's a road at the end of this one infront of the terminal building, it just fades out too soon. I haven't messed with the fade-out things lately, will have to check if it's a shader issue, sometimes is. No road-striping on the terminal roads yet, sorry. Will come after this beta. Check news feed on Patreon sometime tomorrow after-noon or evening for the beta
    (unless my internet busts).
    --Cheers
    EDIT: Gosh that roof is very plain and boring. That's got to change... Grrr...
     
  4. Tixltif

    Tixltif
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    196
    you know those super huge parking garages that also go underground, you should make one of those for the parking lots and then flip it around and like duplicate it on the other side and add some small ramps or sections of worn concrete so you can hop between them
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Shotgun Chuck

    Shotgun Chuck
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,310
    Completely forgot those, TSAIA has one too, apologies for never getting the pictures sent. Wouldn't have included that anyway because the parking is all paywalled, and I'm not paying money for a couple of pictures of a parking structure.
     
  6. Tixltif

    Tixltif
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    196
    I was thinking something like this, and maybe a shuttle bus skin to go along with it cause I always love drifting in these type of structures and pulling some crazy stunts between the two of them would be honestly amazing
     

    Attached Files:

    • uwd.jpg
  7. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,431
    I will strongly consider something like this. The city needs a 'modular parking garage kit' anyways... so why not. Look for more large parking structures (but not before mid-August at-least).
    The airport terminal lends itself very well to a parking-structure next to it, and was actually modeled with this in mind originally. The parking-structure was pushed back / (possibly) cut due to time-constraints with my internet being down, then me getting sick, and then getting absolutely positively SWAMPED by everyone's car busting / getting crashed at once. I will make sure we get some large parking structures. If not directly at the airport, somewhere that it's pertinent to have one (pretty much anywhere near the tall buildings or a hospital, etc), and I will also make sure there's some jump opportunities there.

    Thankfully, not only does my new internet STILL work while uploading, uploading takes <1hr and not 5~12 hours like before. I get 300~400kb/s upload speed (kilobytes a second, not kilobits).


    Sometime in the next week I will fix the lag in Nevada Interstate map. That NEEDS to be fixed. It suffered the same issue as this map as the original map (So-Cal Interstate) was derived from the (Black Hills by Ouerbacker - which was modded into) Nevada Interstate map. Since my internet is a lot quicker, I won't lose a whole night with the internet down during uploading.
    This weekend I will be moving the last of my files to the new computer. Should be editing from that one by Monday (yes, still on the old one).
     
  8. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,431
    OK the beta went live early this morning. I hope all patreon folks enjoy and thanks for the support. Check patreon posts for the link to the file.
    Folks who have gratis beta access will get it tonight (for those who've donated to the project in time or made models etc).
    Not only is the lag bug fixed, there will be a fix in the next game version or possibly a hot-fix update in the near future. I was able to locate and debug what exactly caused the lag, and handed the info and files over to Nadeox, who in-turn was able to reproduce the issue.
    Sorry there isn't more done than the airport, but it's something. Next update in a hair over two weeks. Will try and do the every-two-weeks schedule for a while.

    Folks who have nice models made either just for-fun or for your own map who'd like to donate (same for textures, provided they're not from GTA or some other AAA game), give me a head's up.

    --That is all. Storming like mad here now.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,431
    Ah Windows 10, we meet again. I thought I would put it on this machine to make it simpler.
    Cortana: "I'm Cortana, I'm here to assist you, even if you're doing something on your old computer while the Windows setup is going..."
    Me: SHUT UP!
    Cortana: "All's you have to do is push this button to continue"
    Me: YOU'RE SO SMART, YOU PUSH IT, AND SHUT UP [expletive]!
    Cortana: "Let's continue by pushing this button..."
    Me: DIE! *pulls plug* *copious amounts of swearing*

    .... three hours later... (not really)
    Why is *EVERYTHING* so big on my EL'CHEAPO 40" TV-for-a-monitor I got at the cash-and-carry?
    150% auto Windows setting ... I HATE WINDOWS 10!
    Even with CLASSIC SHELL (Now OpenShell)... (where is my classic start menu?)
    I STILL HATE IT!
    Even with NewOldExplorer...
    I STILL HATE IT!
    I tell it to organize by type and it organizes per-day/week in GROUPS per type. Making a mess still sorted by date!
    I HATE IT!
    It data-mines me and pesters me about this and that.
    HATE IT *downloads O*O SHUT UP to fix*
    All these tiles like a mobile smart phone
    I HATE SMART PHONES, THEY'RE LIKE A PLAGUE! NO!!!
    We're sorry but you can't open an RAR file or those DDS files even though you can preview them... Would you like to get fleeced at the Microshaft Store?
    I HATE IT! Where's 7zip and Paint dot net...
    I try to do something else... this is supposed to be 'the best', right?
    ARGH! "Let's go to the Microshaft Store" DIE! DIE DIEEEEEE!!!!
    Let's change a setting, but wait, where's the OK or APPLY buttons now? How do I know if the setting stays or I lose my changes?
    OH NO WE COULDN'T KEEP THOSE NOW COULD WE?
    OH, You can't do that without paying, to the Microshaft store with you!
    NOOOOEEEEESSSSS!
    Why can't I read minimized windows in Maya, they're just X and _ icons, with no room for text?
    I HATE YOU WINDOWS 10! PRODUCTION READY OS MY [expletives deleted]!
    Where's the MY COMPUTER Icon, you know, the one that's on the desktop? Nope, not there in Windows 10, you have to add it.
    SHEESH, I HATE IT. I HATE IT! I HATE HATE HATE HATE HAAAAATE IT!
    I HATE WINDOWS 10!!!
    No wonder so many people go nuts in my country (USA). I can see why. It's likely Windows 10.

    I don't know what they were thinking, but the "idea light" was really out when they made this OS. This is positively, absolutely, the WORST OS I have ever, ever had the misfortune of using in my entire LIFE. This is bad. Windows 3.11 WFW was easier than this. I have been trying for *DAYS* to get my new computer customized so it's FUNCTIONAL and PRODUCTION-READY. Sure, it'll game right out of the box, but this rotten excuse for an operating system is ABSOLUTE HOT GARBAGE. It is the dumpster fire of a reason to why I absolutely did not want to give up my old computer (and technically, it's sitting there, on the next desk, quietly snickering at me going batty on Windows 10). I can't stand this OS. It's a disaster and it's ANYTHING but productive. Unlike old operating systems, I can't undo all the needless terrible changes that have been done solely for the sake of change on this one (at-least, not to my desired amount).

    So please pardon a little time here, while I try and undo years worth of what Microshaft calls PROGRESS. Or put Windows 7 on. I am already going to have to dual boot with Linux to save my sanity so as it is. There's no way I can use this pitiful wretched excuse for an operating system full-time. No way. Not going to happen. NEVER!

    That aside, I've got Cortana murdered in a burning dumpster out back, Maya installed, and while I can't read any of the minimized buttons within the software itself, I think I can get some work done - for now. So look forward to regular RANTS in addition to the updates that I post about my map :)

    So sorely I do miss, in the beginning, Doom Construction Kit (DCK 2.2f) ran right from DOS. Never an interruption, and unless you broke the hardware, it started up just the way you left it, every time. I cannot say a single part of my Windows 10 experience was pleasurable, I cannot say a single feature is useful aside of the drivers it has built-in. The only good part was, is that it only cost me THREE BUCKS for a retail Windows 10 Pro license, which activated automatically without issue.

    Now my only question is: How does everyone else cope? Do they just knuckle-under, grin and bear it?
    I suuuuuure miss my Windows 98 that did'nt know it was really Windows 7 Pro. Now to catch up on some of my Linux Distro research here, to find what's going to work best for me on this machine - when I'm not working in Maya any-who.
    Windows 95, 98, 2000, they were great. What the heck happened?

    Map progress continues, despite my ranting, raving, and general disproval of Windows 10.
     
    • Like Like x 7
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. Alex_Farmer557

    Alex_Farmer557
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    2,574
    like this?
    Screenshot_176.png

    I use winaero tweaker if that's of any help on your endeavour to tame windows 10
     
  11. Sierra-3

    Sierra-3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2015
    Messages:
    240
    My company finally switched to 10. Can't say it's been that bad.
    But then again, it's the enterprise version, it's a preconfigured clone and we're all "power users" by default.

    If you want to not have to deal with Cortana, the best solution is to get the 2016 Server version.

    (btw, did you at least get the Pro version?)
     
  12. BeamCar

    BeamCar
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Messages:
    256
    Thats so funny!:DI feel your pain. I am fed up with windows 10 as well. I killed cortana long ago. I am looking for ways to run beamng on linux mint. I have gotten some windows programs to run but not many. Beamng almost worked. If you want I can try getting windows software to run on linux and then tell you my method. Anyway, good luck on your map and sorry about "microshaft".
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. DutchyGamer

    DutchyGamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    343
    Oh man.

    Your anger will only get worse and worse..and worse...and worse....and worse.....
    This operating system is SO SENSITIVE, SO FRAGILE and SO UNSTABLE that a literal bug could *censored* your system AND your day up. Even TINY UPDATES can break it.
    I have been using it for nearly 3 or 4 years or so and its now way worse than it has been before..
     
  14. Alex_Farmer557

    Alex_Farmer557
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    2,574
    yeah uh my windows 10 runs fine an i've never had cortana open
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. carreract

    carreract
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    52
    I disabled Cortana, then again I don't have the skills to use animators, programming tools, and other things you use so its kinda irrelevant
     
  16. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,431
    Yes I did get the Pro Retail full version of the OS. It's in ESD (electronic software delivery) form. It gives you a permanent 'digital license' that survives hardware upgrades, being retail version.
    I had originally purchased an Enterprise license, but you cannot easily / readily convert the Enterprise Eval into a full version even if you legitimately bought the key, it must be reinstalled.
    It was a pain in the rear to try and find the Enterprise downloads, so I just said, heck with this I'll just get the Pro version.

    Yes, you can use Linux to run it, but it's not always easy to do. Others have gotten it to run in 'Pop OS' but I am not familiar with - nor have ever used - Pop OS.

    That could be useful. Thanks kindly!
     
  17. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    385
    Oh I remember back in the days when this button appeared down in my taskbar : Upgrade to Win 10 for free !
    You have 3 months left !

    Yes I have been pretending for 3 months (or so) that I didn't see that button sitting in my tasky :)
    As of today I'm still running 8.1 and this not because I like it so much oh no.. just to run Beam and
    other applications that don't do well or not at all without Windows. I'm sorry, Bill, it's not personal,
    I still think you're a great guy !
    :D But I only use the least new Windows versions for cases where
    the world doesn't leave me any other choice. Then I reboot my same machine in Ubuntu :)
    Sounds clumsy to switch between reboots every time ? Not if adding virtual Windows to Linux
    and virtual Linux to Windows :D Now I only need to use the real Windows only if necessary, like
    for PLAYING BEAMNGEEEEEEE :p
     
  18. Glorious_duck

    Glorious_duck
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    163
    Still using 8.1.

    I hate 8.1, but I hate 10 even more, and I'm too lazy to put 7 on my computer and reconfigure everything, so 8.1 it stays.

    I'd rather deal with "subway tiles" than deal with the built in spyware on Windows 10. It's truly horrific and I don't know why anyone who knows how bad it is willingly uses it.
     
  19. Shotgun Chuck

    Shotgun Chuck
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,310
    Oh, this reminds me. I'm a shameful mother's-house-dweller, and so my mother sometimes uses the BeamNG rig to play casual games. Solitaires, word jumbles, that sort of thing.

    Remember when solitaire was a nice, simple, contemplative solo experience? Remember when it didn't have experience points? Or levels? Or score tallies flashing across your screen as you clear cards?

    Or advertising that pops in at speaker-detonating, heart-attack-inducing volume levels when you least expect it?
     
  20. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,431
    Yeah I am not a fan of all this new stuff (well except BeamNG of-course). I even tried to get into Deathmatch Solitaire 3000 and it just wasn't my gig. I still lost at it - even worse.
    Never seen the stupid loud ads yet, hope I don't find them. Windows 10 already speaker-blasted me once after midnight, as it lacked a volume normalizer - I promptly bought an ironically named Sound Blaster card for this, post-incident. I think I am safe now. I hope I am safe. Am I safe??? *nervous gum-chattering for lack of teeth*
    Guess I best keep just mapping and modeling, that I can do.
    Oh, and no shame if you live with your mother; there's many good reasons for that these days in this post-2006 economy. Back in the 90's though, that would have been pretty shameful. I know a lot of folks who stay with a single parent, who don't have a family of their own, and who's parent or parents are disabled, elderly, or need a second income in the form of rent / splitting the bills. If you have a good job, making a LOT of money, and have a whole family; well then that might be borderline unnecessary, however. Down here in Tennessee, a lot of houses have multiple generations of family-members living together, though maybe it's less common in your neck of the woods.
    --Your mileage may vary...
    --Cheers!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice