1. Stuck or having problems creating your mod?

WIP Beta released A new *CITY* map - LOS INJURUS 08_10_2019

Bob finally made a city...Click ME Click ME!

  1. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,305
    Just a teaser image of what's about to grace Los Injurus with it's other-worldly presence... as-always the building is still being modeled.
    This will go in the blank space that adjoins the entrance-ramp, the service station and the strip malls, on the new 10-lane road I just built by the highway.
    Public BETA release day is looking like Sept 30th or so, give or take a few days. It's a goal and not a promise, so bear with me here. Patreon folks will get that a few days earlier. Any public releases following this will be months out (updated quarterly), but Patreon supporter updates will still remain every two weeks.
     

    Attached Files:

    • dundundun.png
    • Like Like x 3
  2. CaptainZoll

    CaptainZoll
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    995
    how about "️Bmart" as a supermarket brand?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Shotgun Chuck

    Shotgun Chuck
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,170
    upload_2019-9-17_20-32-34.png
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,305
    Introducing, a store you all know and love from Roane County, making it's first appearance in Los Injurus with a brand-new store model!

    Haven't done much with the lot yet other than grading & leveling it. It's got roughly 5 foot of grade on it from the store to some of the edges, a realistic amount. There will be a very small retention pond out front and a larger one out back. I will be sure to show some completed pictures of the lot when it gets more finished in due time.
    I did my best to add a little more detail this time around, without raising draw calls any. Doors are properly recessed and the sign is 3D versus a flat face on the facade. The whole building is one-dozen or less draw calls. Roughly, it would take at-least 300~400+ different models of this same store to even get remotely close to lowering FPS lower than 60fps. I may afford some more building detail later on when the scene is closer to completion if FPS allows. For now I just want the buildings to be close enough to good that they don't break immersion, it's a driving simulator, not a (insert something this isn't) simulator. Let's keep most of the FPS and draw-call budget for road details, as we can use LOTS more of this before it's AAA quality or even close.

    Thing to-do before the public beta:
    Public Beta is currently scheduled around the 30th for September. Now this is contingent on me getting everything I feel I need done, uploading it, and the staff assisting me with hosting a 1GB (!) download... which is over double the file size limit. The size limit won't be a problem, but it's going to take a few hoops to go through to get it on here.
    Now, onto the to-do's...
    Connecting road from the office complex area (not far from the spawn) over to the other-half of the map where all the drainage canals are.
    Fix the airport, as it doesn't have it's longer two runways, and finish putting in some type of sea-wall.
    Try to take time to connect both ends of the subway together somehow, even if temporary (that might be a colossal waste of time).
    DO get my updated collector-road kit finished that I put in, in December, and then the C drive crashed out, and finish the remaining very few pieces (this isn't mandatory, but it would be nice!).
    Get texture reflections where they're supposed to be (yes, commercial building windows are supposed to reflect, the reason they don't is 'OOPS'). I keep neglecting to fix this, "my bad", entirely.
    Lots of other odds and ends and quality-of-work fixes, much much too numerous to list.

    --That is all for right now.
    --- Post updated ---
    Edit: Got some more done, figured I'd add these, too:

    I didn't forget about the truckers out there, either. This map is good for long hauls, and missing gears going up mountains could prove a show-stopper here, these hills are the real-deal. Any of the newer style more detailed highways are done to grades of around 7.x % or less. Some of the older grand-fathered in ones from So-Cal may be a hair steeper in just a few sections, but any good amount of speed should allow you to (eventually) conquer them. There will be truck-routes posted around the city when there's dangerously steep hills nearby, and 'no trucks' signs on some side-streets that are either too narrow/curvy or too steep - they might not make the next beta though. Just know it's on the honey-do list, g'heh.
     
    • Like Like x 9
  5. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,305
    So after lots of *crickets*, I've got at-least a little preview of the area that will be getting extensive improvements (as it's been getting them, for the last 2 days or more).

    This confusing mess of an area features a bit of re-done stuff, and some new roads plotted out. Please excuse how horridly unfinished it looks. These roads are barely half-way in & graded.
    I've made two new avenue-width angled rail crossing pieces, like the one I used under the bridge (2nd shot). I have to make the reverse-angle ones later, that won't take too long.
    Considering this is ALL done with the modular road kit (MRK), that's pretty good! I have yet to put the striping on these roads yet (the lane lines etc). The train track has been extended a bit here, too.

    Sorry for the quiet spell. Idiots + drug withdrawal + waving guns around again, had to have the sheriff out here. Don't worry, it's not me acting stupid (I'm just ducky), and I don't seem to have any extra holes either. Hooray. *drinks water, camera pans down a bit, and it comes out like a gardener's sprinkling can* Seriously though, am I the only one following the rules around here [my house]? Sure seems that way.

    All is (mostly) well (as good as it can be anyways) for now. Mapping continues... Let's just hope the drama dies down a bit.
     
    • Like Like x 8
  6. combatwombat96

    combatwombat96
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    jeez, and I thought that living next to a crackhead was bad enough. Any way just roughly how is your fps when running this map with traffic limited at 4 cars and your own, or does traffic not yet work. My computer is a potato so I only run on maps with little or vegetation yet I love long drives and good (ish) graphics so this negates any major improvement in empty maps, I still get around 60fps on most empty maps though but I'd like more so I can run traffic as well. Hoping that I can get heaps on this map so all my wishes of a well made map with graphics and traffic can come true
     
  7. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,305
    This map should be easier to run than West Coast USA is for you. If you can run four vehicles it should be no issue for you to run this. My core i7 4790k could do up to 7~8 vehicles before it started getting a bit choppy, 10 was the absolute max before it went below 20fps at spots. With only one vehicle, either this computer or the old computer (the 4790k) would run at 60~80+ fps anywhere (and well above that in rural less-built areas). I have an RX 480 8gb with reflections enabled (the detail slider on it is at about 25%, enough for basic details), for comparison purposes. The RAM on the 4790k was also 2400mhz cas-latency 11 dual channel ddr3 for what it's worth.
    This machine is an R7 3700x, with some basic 3000mhz ddr4 dual channel cas-latency 15 "Micron" memory here. It is called 'what's on sale' RAM, basically, but it does the job, but not cutting edge by any rate. The R7 3700x will allow a max of about 20~21 vehicles, before dropping the simulation speed, and about 16 vehicles comfortably while keeping 40fps or above average.
    Traffic is well equipped here in town but by no means perfect. They might still make bad decisions once in a while or do something generally completely stupid. I am still working the bugs out, but in most cases, they shouldn't spawn stuck in the ground or something similar, and should work OK.
    Long story short, even a 4790k with an RX 480 8gb video card with all the bells and whistles on and reflections at 25% detail (the default for high I believe), you easily get 60fps everywhere without issue. The Ryzen just increases this quite a bit especially when you start to run more vehicles around, as the Ryzen has twice as many cores and is more efficient both per-clock in what it does, and energy-wise.
    I can't promise that all the buildings will look great from far away on medium or low detail levels for mesh objects, however, this will even run on a i7 950 system from 10 years ago with a Radeon 6750 1gb video card (though you could max the 1gb VRAM easily!), and it will run playable - 60fps on low, 30fps on medium, and is consistent.
    I have taken great strides to keep up the efficiency of the map, and I haven't slapped in superfluous levels of unnecessary detail that does not benefit the map. The buildings and other map fixtures are as detailed as required and little more, leaving the majority of detail to the roads around you which is where you spend most of your time. That's the way it should be, too. I can always go back and add a bit more detail later, though it's a bit tough to take it out after the fact, not to mention a time-waster - if the FPS was bad enough to warrant it. It's not, I've kept a handle on things and modeled most things the right way so as to use all the short-cuts and FPS-saving features of DX11 rendering to the best of my knowledge (connecting UV's on models, duplicate surface batch-rendering, etc).
    I hope I've answered your question. You can post your PC's specs and I'll tell you how decent it will run. That being said, it'll run on an original 10-year-old i7, so you might not be so bad off.
     
  8. combatwombat96

    combatwombat96
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    wow thanks for the reply and jeez don't I look poor compared to you, I don't really know anything about this computer as it is temporary apart from it being a woeful HP Envy convertible with AMD nightmares inside that will run ECUSA at around 50 fps with all my desktop fans blowing right into it with ice blocks on top of it to keep it cool so I can run it on low setting. My last computer melted before I could save sufficient amount of coin to buy all the top stuff for a proper pc or just buy an off the shelf one as I'm very busy lately, looking at an at a Dell as I have had good experiences with them. I bought this to keep going in the meantime ( a lot of my work is based on the computer so I kind of need one)
     
  9. VVgamer135

    VVgamer135
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Messages:
    29
    How would this do?
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screenshot65.png
  10. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,305
    There's nothing wrong with being poor, even if you are/were/will be one day. As long as you pay your bills, you / your kids / pets etc are fed, the lights are on, and no one's trying to make you homeless, it's all good. Having a PC with BeamNG that runs decent enough on medium or better, and an internet connect is just a bonus. It took me FIVE YEARS to set aside cash to replace the PC. My car's a paid for Corolla from 2003, don't feel too bad. It runs, it gets to the store, and to the doctors (I am physically disabled, I have Arthritis worse than most 80-year olds), that's what matters, not how new it is or how dented or rusted one's car might be (mine's not too bad actually, cars down here in TN don't rust much).
    So never-the-less never feel ashamed. Even if you lived in a single-wide trailer, I wouldn't think less of you, especially if it's paid for / paid off. The thing is, if you have a computer that can run medium nicely is great, man, so don't sweat it if that's what you got. I bought my own place at 20, had a 5 year old double-wide fully-loaded with AC and oak cabinetry, a car 4 years old in the driveway... other times in my life I rented a 20 year old townhouse and made a grand a week (take-home pay) with a paid-for 7 year old 40,000 mile car, now I'm physically disabled on a fixed income, so it's a stark contrast. So I've lived a variety of life-styles. Can't say I'm upset how things ended up... not really poor, but not rich either that's for sure.
    Maybe one of these days I will be able to save up enough cash to replace the video card without having to eat lots of peanut butter sandwiches for a month or two, as I'd rather not squander Patreon funding on one if I don't absolutely have to. Patreon money only gets used for things like that if I have hardware failures etc, not for needless upgrades, it's for software monthly payments / textures/ models / sounds etc. I generally pick up extra work from friends and family if possible to raise immediate cash, when I need to fix this thing / magic smoke comes out. My video card is slowly dying so-as-it-is, but I got 3 years out of it as-of next month so I'm far from upset. Only had to clock it down 40mhz or so, not too bad yet, YET.


    That'll do just fine between medium and high texture detail (I'm actually aiming for 5~6GB Video Ram [VRAM] usage on high, as this is a *BIG* city), so your mileage may vary but medium still looks GREAT because I am using a bunch of 4k textures for roads, and a TON of 1k and 2k textures on buildings. Obviously the roads will be the most detailed, the buildings are mostly just scenery except the ones you can enter like tunnel, parking decks / garages, subways and such, and the abandoned mall.
    Your computer will do just great. Can use 4~6 vehicles with 16GB of RAM and you should be able to rock this city and Roane County TN pretty well too. Just plug it into the wall when you do.


    Basically, the TL-DR of the whole deal is, if you can run West Coast USA and Roane County, you should have no issue with this what-so-ever.

    MAP UPDATE:
    Working on getting something uploaded around the 30th of September~2nd of October sometime, so a week or less for an update. Got pushed back 2 days or so (max) due to IRL issues beyond my control, but also my house is clean and my yard is proper. The Bald-faced hornets and I continue to co-exist at the current rate without anyone getting too upset (seeing as it's already the end of September, they won't be around much longer). Let's see how long that lasts... we've had record highs and broken 114 year-old records (at-least nearby Knoxville TN has).
    Patreon supporters will get this a few days before it will be hitting the BeamNG servers, failing that it will be hosted on another mod site if it's too big (surely the mods can help me as they do for Roane County, which is also over the size limit). I don't for-see any other issues generally-speaking.
    As-always, Patreon supporters will continue to get updates regularly every 2~3 weeks or so (average), while the public version will be only maintained every 3~4 months (quarterly),with larger updates.
    This map is FAR FROM done but there's already 50 miles of highway and many dozens of blocks to the city which are mostly done aside of little details. Lots of cool destinations to drive to, giving you a reason to drive there...seeing as depending where you are, things can be 10~12 or more miles away from your location - which I'd say is big enough. Don't worry, I won't walk away from it half-done, and I backup frequently, so no worries here. I kept my old machine as a beater, even if it's cranky here and there, so the show goes on through thick or thin.
    Currently working on finishing up these roads through here, and continuing a road around the lake to connect to the far-side of the lake.

    There will be tall residential buildings here. Lots of them... and some small stores here too.
    Pretty rough at the moment, should be a lot better by the end of the night. Have some few miles of roads to finish before I can even think of uploading this next beta. The remaining miles of stuff to-do is much less complicated, however (some of it, which connects to the far side of the lake gets roughed in enough to use / drive on only). Only this area right here close to the big city gets super-complicated such as the subway to fit in, and roads crossing others on slopes and at odd angles.
     
    • Like Like x 5
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. Theodore The Class B20

    Theodore The Class B20
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    pfft, my Powerspec G153 would have no problem with this.:cool:
     
  12. Y4123

    Y4123
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    429
    It's a shame my computer would never be able to handle it :(
    It's cool to see Beavis and Butthead's version of McDonalds in a BeamNG map though!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. teetee599

    teetee599
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Im so excited!!! Will there be loads of easter eggs just like in GTA SA?
     
  14. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,305
    Actually, a friend of mine tested this with an i7 950 (xeon equivalent) processor, 12gb of ram, and a used (I picked it out for her on Ebay) 30$ Radeon 6570 or 6750 1GB DDR3 card, forget which one exactly, she got:
    30 FPS on 'LOW'
    60+ FPS on 'Lowest'
    Though, keep in mind, the LOD's will look like trash on low or lowest but you can kick the model detail up a notch if your processor is decent. My models aren't super detailed beyond the road stuff, it's just so long as your processor can handle 4000 draw calls (most 3ghz processors can do this fine at 40fps or better), you'll be OK.
    The texture detail will clobber you if you go over your 1gb VRAM, if that's all you have. If your card is GDDR5 & not GDDR3, you'll be okay at 720p possibly 1080p and be much better than with GDDR3.
    This is made to run on pretty much anything from an i7 950 processor (1st gen 2009 i7 processor) or better, with half-decent graphics.

    So do not fret. You'll just have to start out at the lowest detail (also, traffic lights do not work well at lower details, that aside you should be OK).
    Awesome, there's a few things akin to easter eggs but nothing too grand right now at the moment. I will put more in as time goes on. Mostly just parody business names for the most part, but there's plenty of hidden nooks and crannies to find in the city, and an abandoned mall to explore the inside of... with a vehicle of course. Two levels of fun. Subway stations and a driveable subway system, too, which you can drive in and out of at the ends or at the stations like in GTA.
    I have to tidy up loose ends and will ship out a beta to Patreon folks next week in mid-week sometime, it will hit these servers in 2~3 days following. That last bit with these servers does revolve around the staff's schedule, so do keep in mind part of it is beyond my control, but I will do my best to keep my word.
     
  15. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,305
    Added two jumps (one so you can get into the subway tunnel, and one above the tunnel entrance), and fixed up the terrain / added greenery here to make it more presentable...

    Technically, each tunnel entrance has a jump over it. New area is below. Used more of the brick buildings set, though I'll likely change up the finish further on in map development...

    This area eschews the grid-pattern in favor of more free-form terrain-based roads here, as this is slightly newer sections of city. Besides, the grid pattern only holds up for so long.
    Much of the stuff in the later shots doesn't have any bushes/trees/greenery in yet, as a lot of it will be large trees blocking out the sound of the LARGE URBAN INTERCHANGE right next to all these tall condo blocks, heh heh. Also, I didn't put in the white striping for many of the roads yet, so it looks like one large lane per-side, when it will be many lanes per side. So yes, entirely, Work-in-Progress goodness here! There's a small bit of green space under the one flyover/raised entrance ramp with parking area for it, can't really build anything there anyway. This will all be in the next beta that's going out end-of-week. More pictures between now and then, though. Sorry for the quiet spell, was busy mapping - this area took A LONG time to get this far.
    TO-DO:
    Get this area finished up a bit better!
    Get the road to the other side of the map finished up enough to use.
    Get the road to the mall finished up to use, and fix the erroneous two-way traffic on either side of the road in front of the mall (yes that's a bug).
    Errors:
    NO TEXTURE on hangars at air-strip, roofs. Oops. I know what did that, will change model texture it's asking for or put a dummy-entry in to fix it.
    NO TEXTURE on road right where the 1st picture in the set was taken (fixed!).
    Two way traffic in front of mall when it should be one-way on each side of the road (oops, old AI traffic routes here!).
    Fix bumps near the end of the commercial four-lane road I put it last beta, by where it ends on the low end, taking a right or left has a bad bump there either way, happened when I was moving terrain.
    A few other small errors that need fixing before release.
    EDIT: added a picture... well 3 pictures...

    Again, sorry for the silent treatment there, was busy mapping!
     
    #835 bob.blunderton, Oct 1, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2019
    • Like Like x 3
  16. Shotgun Chuck

    Shotgun Chuck
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,170
    For the jump to the subway tunnel: couldn't you just drive across the bridge?
     
  17. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,305
    Well you could, but thing is, you'd be between the tracks, and forever stuck there until another level crossing. That tunnel goes a few miles, only coming out for a few hundred feet at a sunken (but still above ground-level) station, then diving back underground again. So you'd be stuck. You want to be at the side of the tracks, whatever side is wider, which will line-up with the station platforms, too.
    I provide jumps for if you end up in the tunnel (by entering at the station and driving along the tracks, or from the other end) so that you can escape the tunnel, without falling into the flood control canal if there is one, that way you're not stuck.
    I could have widened the bridge, but I don't have a rail bridge that's wide enough to allow vehicle travel along side of them, too, unless you're between the tracks.
     
  18. Shotgun Chuck

    Shotgun Chuck
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    1,170
    Oof. I'm used to games that let you move side to side across the tracks, to the point where I had no idea that wasn't actually possible.

    (Still gonna try it anyway once I get the map.)
     
    #838 Shotgun Chuck, Oct 1, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2019
  19. esesesel

    esesesel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    116
    THE MIST: the game:p, srsly tho what an awesome map, but is there a way to rrmove the fog?
     
  20. teetee599

    teetee599
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    im guessing its gonna be released no later than the 6th which is this sunday?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice