About that WCUSA bug

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fufsgfen, Feb 15, 2018.

  1. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,786
    Have you guys, who get that WCUSA slowdown bug, closed messages app and other apps and tested if issue happens even with those apps not running (not just hiding UI, but closing apps) ?

    It might not be related to that, but just a thought that occurred to me which might be good to test.
     
  2. EruptionTyphlosion

    EruptionTyphlosion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Messages:
    2,739
  3. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,786
    It has never happened to me, I have tested every same way I have seen in videos of how other people have got that and nothing, not even slightest hint of a slowdown.

    I have used WCUSA map a lot, with up to 20 cars (yep, it gets laggy with that many cars), only once I got bug where all engine sounds did play no matter how far other cars were.

    Thing is that for some people FPS drops to 10 or 5fps from well above 40 or even from 60fps and it starts all of sudden.

    Maybe some combination of UI apps might make bug happen more frequently?
     
  4. BombBoy4

    BombBoy4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,589
    I'll try that later today, it is possible.
     
  5. Racermon

    Racermon
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    129
    I noticed in my version of beamng if you change lighting and shading it ends up dropping horrificly and randomly
    On certain occasions if you decrease the settings to low/lowest the fps stays the same roughly in that ~10ish fps
    What I mean by drop is about 10-15 fps is your framerate
    So perhaps reset lighting and shading until it fixes itself
     
  6. Brother_Dave

    Brother_Dave
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,370
    It used to happen less frequently for me but after i started using heavier Reshade (its the only coincidence i can think of) its given that if i spawn 2 cars OR change vehicle it happens immediatly.
    Intresting to see if it can be linked to sound..
     
  7. Djplopper

    Djplopper
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    835
    That map is strange, it is slower than others with just one vehicle, but in my case if i add more vehicles.. like 4 or 5 it keeps basically the same speed while other maps have a big drop after the third or fourth car, it may be my notebook fault but i don't know
     
  8. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,786
    I don't think that is related to bug, it just is lot heavier on GPU than other maps, so what you are experiencing probably is that your GPU is limiting factor more than on other maps, so it takes more vehicles to overload CPU so that GPU starts resting as it waits data from CPU.
    //////

    About that ReShade thing, I don't use that or have never used, so I don't know anything about such, but if it works more of GPU, at WCUSA your GPU limits might be found sooner with any additional GPU load as maps is quite GPU heavy.

    However bug is when from instead of 40-60fps normally you get all of sudden only 5-15fps.
     
  9. Djplopper

    Djplopper
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    835
    obviously it was that. I was so stupid not to think about it before :p
     
  10. Racermon

    Racermon
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    129
    is my thought a plausible idea?
    as in, once the fps just tanks, try changing your graphics settings
     
  11. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,786
    Sure, it might reset something in rendering that needs to be reset. However I might remember wrong, but I think someone got the bug when changing graphics settings, so maybe it can also be triggering the bug?

    Testing with all apps closed might give information that apps do not have anything to do with it and issue happens with and without apps and if case is such, that is still some information.

    If changing graphics settings triggers the bug or clears it consistently, then that would also help to see bit of which area issue might stem from.

    For example I stumbled upon one bug where having beam debug set to deformed and having messages app, caused sometimes freeze of UI, but having tuning menu open in addition to all previous UI would freeze totally every time I crash the car.

    As I have not found a way to cause WCUSA bug to happen (I believe devs are having hard time getting it to happen too) it is hard to try to find exact reason why it is happening.

    We need certain sure way to make bug happen or clear away to narrow number of potential things causing that issue and such might help devs to figure out how to fix it.
     
  12. BombBoy4

    BombBoy4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,589
    That doesn't work, sadly.
    It most likely is caused by a rendering issue, that ReShade triggers. When I used dual-GPU/dual-monitor with no ReShade, it was perfect. As soon as I added ReShade or disabled the i-GPU, the drop came back.
     
  13. jtreign9097

    jtreign9097
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    186
    i get 35-40fps with 5 cars spawned... now before i got 15-22fps with same cars even if it was 1 simple car like a stripped covet... the car didn't matter it was the map obviously... what gained me some FPS was i went in Editor and i slowly decreased view distance to bring fps up.... it didn't lower it too much i wanted to be able to to just see the city barely from the area were the toll booth is at start... but it got me a lot more fps approx since the entire city seems to be the fps killer.... what i noticed also was a v-sync issue .. i always have v-sync disabled in any game i play unless it improved performance but it doesn't for me in this game no matter the map... i was not using full screen so i maximized the window and then minimized it and then maximized the window again and boom my fps sky rocketed t o 35-40ish with 1-2 car cars... i can run 11 cars an get a mean 30fps that's plenty.. and i never use 11 cars i hate switching through them all to get to the one i want... so 2 cars 1-2 trailer is ok with me...
    Also this map HATES shadows with my GPU's so turning shadows off is a HUGE boost alone or more..lol that's the main killer of the map it has so much detail so shadows seems to be my issue my lighting is keep at normal so headlights function.... even through the city is dark as hell at night i need the brights on to see anything with a legran or a covet or most cars..... and if u put lighting on lowest that gains some fps also depends though... i lost no fps with normal lighting or low lighting so it works still without killing fps.... this is the only map i need to adjust my graphics to play on ...i get 60-70fps on Roane County Tennessee and that's a massive massive map so i don't know what is going on with WCUSA maybe its the water? maybe its the 1 piece city? or the lod's aren't good enough?.. plus the AI often wrecks because there using way points and no decal roads...anyhow... WCUSA is same size as ECUSA with alot of things crammed... maybe bigger map spreading out details may help instead of clustering details into 1 raisin ... i think the race track may be fps killer not sure everything is one piece i cant remove things to see how fps may increase like traditional earlier maps... i hope Italy is not like that style.... but maybe b25mitch or other devs will fix the issue i'm sure the dev's know the cause as they claimed they did in a blog... i think and it may be fixed in next official update
    --- Post updated ---
    is there a way to do what your doing with 1 gpu and 1 monitor? anything i should disable for more fps?
     
  14. BombBoy4

    BombBoy4
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,589
    No, the feature is you can enable the i-GPU and the discrete GPU at the same time, one for each monitor. For it to work, you need 4 things:
    1. A modern-ish CPU and motherboard
    2. Dual monitors
    3. A CPU with integrated graphics
    4. A motherboard with the dual-GPU option
    The only thing I can think of that could cause that is it set the shader cache to 64mb.
     
  15. gigawert

    gigawert
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    2,036
    Sometimes when I alt tab back into BeamNG the performance is severely degraded in WCUSA. As much as a 90% fps drop. The only fix is to switch programs as little as possible, if at all.
     
  16. Cheekqo

    Cheekqo
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1,469
    The issue I get is the map runs like absolute dogshit, it's fine with any other map but just not WCUSA, this problem is fixed by bringing the graphics to low and high again, but because I'm lazy I'll get tired of doing that constantly.
     
  17. jtreign9097

    jtreign9097
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    186
    were can i try to change shader cache? is there and .ini or is it a command in the console?
     
  18. Brother_Dave

    Brother_Dave
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,370

    Disabling shadows solved it for me. THANK YOU!

    Well more or less atleast. I have always been able to run WCUSA in Freeroam and one car with great FPS but lately if i add one car or even change the one i use its a 50/50 shot at FPS dropping hard. Ive NEVER managed to run the Asphalt Derby scenario (4 cars at the parking lot by the race track) without HEAVY lag but when i disabled shadows before starting it, all of a sudden i have that great fps again! If i enable shadows the FPS drops hard and if i disable them the FPS is still at that same low. If i enable Reshade the fps drops slightly but actually, after enabling and disabling Reshade a couple of times in the same race (with shadows disabled from start) the fps dropped more, down to roughly 10 fps and stayed that way until i exited to main menu and started it again.
     
  19. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,786
    For me this sounds normal limit of computing power than a bug as this WCUSA bug is such that you have good fps and all of sudden you don't have but fraction of FPS than what you had before.

    CPU is heavily loaded by shadows, even with WCUSA GPU is loaded heavily with shadows too, if you CPU gets limiting factor, FPS is going to fall quite easily as GPU starts waiting CPU to feed data to GPU.

    Shadows in BeamNG have been always a killer of FPS, so keeping those off is often good idea or set to partial. Light quality helps a bit with shadows too.
     
  20. Brother_Dave

    Brother_Dave
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,370
    In that particular case it might be but as i mentioned, it can happen by simply changing vehicle or even just a part. A while ago (not sure what changed since to be honest) i had no problem loading 3 Caprices/HQ vehicles and a Marshall in WCUSA to do some chases. Now it takes way less than that.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice