Released All new Automation Engine Converter

Discussion in 'Utilities and programming' started by L0c4lh0sT, Aug 27, 2014.

  1. L0c4lh0sT

    L0c4lh0sT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    THIS APPLICATION DOES NOT SUPPORT EXPERIMENTAL!!!!

    V2.1.1 Released!

    1. New feature! Drag a a Car model lua file into EngineConverter to enable Transmission conversion and Differential configuration (see screenshots below)

    8 - ECIF.png 9 - ECIF.png
    To make them work correctly, make sure to set the Transmission and any Differential ingame (strg+w) to "Empty".
    Some cars have the differential part in the engine file, some have them in the suspension file.

    The conversion works perfect for "normal" engines which are not totally overpowered.

    Anything you wish for? Anything I could do better? Something not working?
    Please give me feedback!

    V2.0.1 Released!

    1. Everything is packed into a shiny new installer.
    2. Introducing Configuration Wizard! He will help you with the configuration!
    3. New function! Reset EngineConverter (this will start the configuration wizard)
    4. New function! Delete previous tunings (this will search for previously created tunings by EngineConverter and delete them)
    5. Performance chart should work now!
    6. Vehicle combobox now only shows vehicles. No more props!




    Ever since I've played Automation Game, I've loved the idea of being able to actually drive the engines I've created.
    This was not possible without much of manual, hard work. Porting them to BeamNG was a pain in the ass.

    So this is why I wrote this little Tool, simply called the "EngineConverter".
    What this tool does, is to take all the hard work and creates a fully functional jbeam tuning which you can select ingame!
    Basically it analyses the automation game lua file and creates a jbeam torquecurve.

    Transmissions can not be converted at this stage! There are still some problems that need to be fixed!

    Pictures say more than words, so here we go:

    1 - ECCM.png 2 - ECCM.png 3 - ECCM.png
    4 - ECIF.png 5 - ECIF.png
    6 - ECIF.png
    If you start EngineConverter for the first time, Configuration Wizard will appear. Just do what he wants you to do.
    If everything is set, you can choose to restart the configuration or start EngineConverter.


    Now you just need to Drag and Drop a file on the big button at the top of the window or click the button to choose an engine.

    If you click on "Create Tuning" you will be preseneted with a list of all your installed vehicles.
    Choose one and click on the "Create" button.


    7 - ECCS.png


    If your file was created correctly, you'll get a message saying where the file was created. Else you'll get an error message about what went wrong.


    The created jbeam engine curve is very smooth as it is based on the Automation Game rpm settings. Meaning, you have a point every 100 rpm's.

    Here is an example of the output of "EngineConverter":

    Code:
    "enginetorque":
            ["rpm", "torque"]
            [0, 0],
            [500, 219.38865661621],
            [600, 225.77734375],
            [700, 230.80348205566],
            [800, 236.77087402344],
            [900, 241.56915283203],
            [1000, 246.45379638672],
            [1100, 250.2110748291],
            [1200, 253.46963500977],
            [1300, 258.35018920898],
            [1400, 264.01748657227],
            [1500, 269.33700561523],
            [1600, 273.34963989258],
            [1700, 276.93515014648],
            [1800, 280.18377685547],
            [1900, 283.02514648438],
            [2000, 285.90567016602],
            [2100, 288.61053466797],
            [2200, 291.0807800293],
            [2300, 293.30358886719],
            [2400, 294.91012573242],
            [2500, 296.43222045898],
            [2600, 298.23071289063],
            [2700, 300.03717041016],
            [2800, 301.49444580078],
            [2900, 302.79168701172],
            [3000, 303.84979248047],
            [3100, 305.40560913086],
            [3200, 306.66146850586],
            [3300, 307.81573486328],
            [3400, 308.08044433594],
            [3500, 308.19219970703],
            [3600, 308.25720214844],
            [3700, 309.36123657227],
            [3800, 309.10284423828],
            [3900, 310.11791992188],
            [4000, 309.84524536133],
            [4100, 311.29556274414],
            [4200, 311.99722290039],
            [4300, 313.42236328125],
            [4400, 314.78051757813],
            [4500, 315.47589111328],
            [4600, 316.93930053711],
            [4700, 318.07189941406],
            [4800, 318.92999267578],
            [4900, 319.08459472656],
            [5000, 319.30249023438],
            [5100, 318.90286254883],
            [5200, 319.06164550781],
            [5300, 318.55697631836],
            [5400, 318.70623779297],
            [5500, 318.0578918457],
            [5600, 317.74389648438],
            [5700, 316.52780151367],
            [5800, 315.10021972656],
            [5900, 313.68270874023],
            [6000, 312.00274658203],
            [6100, 310.43402099609],
            [6200, 308.09716796875],
            [6300, 306.03015136719],
            [6400, 303.47686767578],
            [6500, 301.24105834961],
            [6600, 298.93209838867],
            [6700, 296.06143188477],
            [6800, 293.63653564453],
            [6900, 291.12878417969],
            [7000, 288.6516418457],
            [7100, 285.68255615234],
            [7200, 283.07376098633],
            [7300, 280.75570678711],
            [7400, 278.13482666016],
            [7500, 275.49533081055],
            [7600, 272.7356262207],
            [7700, 269.85729980469],
            [7800, 267.17568969727],
            [7900, 264.51916503906],
            [8000, 261.71713256836],
            [8100, 258.56063842773],
            [8200, 255.89715576172],
            [8300, 253.45272827148],
            [8400, 250.5276184082],
            [8500, 247.58438110352],
            [8600, 244.66566467285],
            [8700, 241.77410888672],
            [8800, 239.01446533203],
            [8900, 235.705078125],
            [9000, 232.51754760742],
            [9100, 229.04861450195],
            [9200, 225.2222442627],
            [9300, 220.96542358398],
            [9400, 216.05117797852],
            [9500, 210.84107971191],
            [9600, 205.51599121094],
        ],
        "engine":{
            "idleRPM":500,
            "shiftDownRPM":7500,
            "shiftUpRPM":6000,
            "maxRPM":9600,
    },
    

    Please test it and report any bugs! There may be a few.


    For the suspicious people out there --> :cool: https://www.virustotal.com/de/file/...39297a636dc7594f5c64cb1e/analysis/1410347074/ :cool:


    !IMPORTANT!
    For future bug reports, please post:

    - Your windows version (XP, 7, 8, 8.1, 32 or 64 bit)
    - Automation Game version (I'm using B1417)
    - BeamNG Version ( no support for Experimental)


     

    Attached Files:

    #1 L0c4lh0sT, Aug 27, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2014
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,715
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    This is gonna make an insanely accurate torque curves possible...so I better get devving up some crap engines for this :p
     
    #2 RobertGracie, Aug 27, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2014
  3. IBsenoj

    IBsenoj
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    821
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    Love it. That's all I can say.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,715
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    This program just crashes when I click the "Convert to JBeam" button.....
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. L0c4lh0sT

    L0c4lh0sT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    Yeah error handling is not included in this release.

    Can you provide me the engine lua?
     
  6. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,715
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    its more than 32000 characters.....and I donno how to attach a lua file to this :(
     
  7. L0c4lh0sT

    L0c4lh0sT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    Okay found the bug by myself. Problem was a missing boolean :rolleyes:
    Updated the first post!

    New Version number is 1.0.2
     
  8. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,715
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    "Conversion Startet" is that mean its coverting it automatically?
     
  9. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,085
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    it still stops working for me (also it doesn't seem to show the HP)

    5a9632eef9.png
     
  10. gmaksi83

    gmaksi83
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    339
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    Same problem here Win 7 X64...I tried with different compatibility Win XP SP3. Vista SP1.....but same result
    e5ef07beb0.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

    #10 gmaksi83, Aug 27, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2014
  11. L0c4lh0sT

    L0c4lh0sT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    Oh thanks for that.... Seems to be a missplaced status update^^ I'll fix that later

    Sending you my email via PN. Please send me the lua file so I can find the error.

    Edit:
    Recieved the file and converted it successfully.
    I can't revise your engine in Automation. Seems you are a bit outdated :p

    For future bug reports, please post:

    - Your windows version (XP, 7, 8, 8.1)
    - Automation Game version (I'm using 1415)
    - Automation settings screenshot (if possible)
     
    #11 L0c4lh0sT, Aug 27, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2014
  12. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,715
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    And heres my own little gripe with this program so far...

    Problem!.JPG
     
  13. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,085
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    oh, how about that, didn't even realize it updated

    anyway, updated automation, i have the same problem as robert (made a new engine as well)

    abe24e18f7.png

    (Running windows 8.1, automation b1415, and will get settings screenshot right now)

    and settings screenshot:

    http://puu.sh/baDvD/4a3ea4fc9f.bmp
     
    #13 logoster, Aug 28, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2014
  14. raiderfan

    raiderfan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    145
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    I'm getting the same error as logoster with 8.1 and newest automation update also.
     
  15. B_Wilco

    B_Wilco
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    It's not creating the proper folders in the Appdata folder, if you make them like the error says it works. just add the EngineConverter folder then add the bin folder inside that.

    Still doesn't show the max HP on some of them :/
     

    Attached Files:

    • Capture2.PNG
  16. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,085
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter


    the HP thing is just it not reading values correctly, change the value type (bottom right corner) and it should load the HP value
     
  17. B_Wilco

    B_Wilco
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    yeah, loads the value for KW and Nm just not HP and lb-ft. Which is fine, my professors pounded those conversions in to my head...
    It works well, now to come up with a transmission that can handle some of these motors ;)
     
  18. L0c4lh0sT

    L0c4lh0sT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    Updated the first post.

    Version 1.0.5
    - Fixed the bug with the path in AppData is not created correctly

    - - - Updated - - -

    I still don't know why it doesn't load the hp...
    If you switch to kW after dropping in the file, does it show the value? And if you switch back to hp after that, does it change anything?

    I would love to also create the transmission part, but apparently I don't have that much knowledge of the parameters of the transmission part.

    I try to get my hands at this anyway. But first make this release bug free :D
     
  19. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,715
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    I do suggest this mod should be capable of supporting transmissions as well...if you have engines that can produce well over 2400kW of power (yes I have built engines THAT powerful before :D) you need a transmission that can take that torque and put it to the rear wheels or to the front wheels if your f**king mental or better yet all 4 wheels!
     
  20. B_Wilco

    B_Wilco
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Re: Automation Game Engine Converter

    For me it won't load HP at all. if I load the file with HP selected it's blank. If I change to KW it displays the correct value. If I change back to HP it will still display the KW value until you load a new file and select KW again, otherwise it will continue to display the KW value from the first file on the second file.

    As far as transmissions go. I think you can pull the ratios from cars built in Automation in that it defines the differential ratio and the gear spacing, but I can't find the initial transmission gearing. one of my cars uses a 2.96 rear end with 0.62 gear spacing, but that doesn't help much if you don't have the initial gearing. Though it's not much of a concern for me, I keep an entire collection of predefined transmissions in a text file so I can gear anything.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice