WIP Beta released American Road 1.8.01

Very large (120 sq/km, 11x11 km) map, hundreds kilometers of all types of roads. 8 GB RAM required

  1. Chuck 3

    Chuck 3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Is there a map for this terrain, as I want to know where I'm going to the different features?
     
  2. Manto82

    Manto82
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Absolutely A W S O M E !!!
    I love the mountain crawling. Took me about 6 hours to make it up to the top.

    And cant wait for trying it again
     
  3. Sithhy™

    Sithhy™
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    3,258
    6 HOURS?! HOW?! It takes ~1h with the Hopper Custom to do it
     
  4. Manto82

    Manto82
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Okay, not REALY six hours. I made it with lunch break, ice-break, my son on my lap and different cars.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. AntiqueT

    AntiqueT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Chuck 3 suggested a map for this resource, which is exactly what I came here to do. I'm driving aimlessly here. It's fun to drive around, but I have no idea where I'm going without some sort of map. If you could make some kind of illustration on a pdf, that would be wonderful.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  6. EcoNadder77

    EcoNadder77
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,144
    This map looks really interesting, but unfortunately I am not able to load the map. :( I have 16 gigs of ram.
    I force quit BeamNG after waiting 20+ minutes.
     
  7. AntiqueT

    AntiqueT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Make sure you have nothing else running, and open task manager to make sure. Maybe clear the cache as well. I found that it helps a lot to set the graphics to Lowest, load the map, then reset the graphics to your desired specs.
     
  8. James Huk

    James Huk
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    oh shit really, ok i'll try again, thanks
     
  9. DankMemeBunny

    DankMemeBunny
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,512
    Same problem, waited an hour still nothing.
     
  10. AntiqueT

    AntiqueT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Update: I broke out my cartography tools and started sketching a detailed map with road and landmark names. Should be done in a few days. Hopefully everyone can get some use out of this!
    IMG_20180411_231323073.jpg
    --- Post updated ---
    Here's a better picture of what I have so far. Eventually I will scan it and upload a PDF to this thread.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 15235157245242020271895.jpg
    • Like Like x 5
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Chuck 3

    Chuck 3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Nice job, looks awesome. Looking forward to it!
     
  12. Sithhy™

    Sithhy™
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    3,258
    Most ambitious project on the forums so far :p
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. DankMemeBunny

    DankMemeBunny
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,512
    I recently updated from Windows 7 to 10, and I can report it still does not work.
    EDIT: I tried again and it works now. I guess windows 7 cant make it work.
    upload_2018-4-14_19-4-12.png
     
    #193 DankMemeBunny, Apr 14, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2018
  14. Tonny

    Tonny
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    1GB VRAM, goes to 100% after 3 seconds, then beamng crashes. Gotta increase my virtual memory...
     
  15. DankMemeBunny

    DankMemeBunny
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,512
    Beamng without mods doesn't even work with that.
     
  16. Sithhy™

    Sithhy™
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    3,258
    That is like nothing... Even for BeamNG
     
  17. Tonny

    Tonny
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Well, im running a 8+ yr old GPU. The Radeon HD 6850. I'm really wanting to get a 3GB GTX 1060 soon, but I can play GTA 5 and go over the RAM, and it still loads, but beamng just crashes when it reaches the max.

    Oh, and BeamNG runs fine on other maps even with 500+ mods. But for loading the map, I disable the others.
     
  18. primo3001

    primo3001
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    111
    American Road is different than other maps. I used 8192x8192 terrain heightmap. Tennessee USA Roane County uses 4096x4096, but the map itself has 4 times bigger surface area. That's why a lot of people can't load American Road. It has to much objects like trees, rocks, roads etc too.

    Even 3 GB VRam may be not enough. I have 4 GB, and I barely load it.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. Yota

    Yota
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    86
    Was there ever a fix for people using Windows 7? Like many others, I exceed the recommended specs and this map will load for an hour without starting.

    FX-9590
    1060
    16GB RAM
    Windows 7 Home Premium
     
  20. DankMemeBunny

    DankMemeBunny
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,512
    It is most likely Windows 7 causing this, I upgraded to windows 10 recently and it now loads for some reason.
    Im going to guess Windows 7 is your issue.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice