WIP Beta released American Road 1.8.01

Very large (120 sq/km, 11x11 km) map, hundreds kilometers of all types of roads. 8 GB RAM required

  1. TobiBenzi

    TobiBenzi
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    225
    I don't think that's the problem, I have 8GB too and I do not have any problem loading/playing the map...
    Also:
    screenshot_00155.png screenshot_00156.png
    The tires got deflated right on this rock, but the rivebank may also be the problem, as the tires popped again after a few metres.
     
  2. workclock1©

    workclock1©
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,561
    I can load the map at 6GB RAM

    Just i have 2 FPS...

    Just wanting to let that out, so the map IS NOT PLAYABLE AT ALL On 6 GB, You can still OPEN it.
     
  3. leonmer6

    leonmer6
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Best map ever too bad i cant play it on my i5-6600 and 8 gb of ram i had to remove all the trees to make it work and it still lags when i reload my car
     
  4. 1185323118

    1185323118
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    868
    Some suggestions related to the race track:

    Oval need to be smoothened;
    Need to add some braking distance markers since there are places where you need to turn away from the oval, and it's really hard to see the turn;
    ↓ You obviously don't see these on race tracks;
    03.jpg
    ↓ Probably only on my side
    04.jpg
    ↓ This turn's banking need to be smoothened a bit;
    05.jpg
    ↓ I suggest you should add a bit banking on this turn (maybe only 4~5°), similar to Monza's turn 3
    06.jpg

    And lots of chicanes on this track is too fast. It doesn't serve the purpose to slow people down, while increase risk for overtaking (though there isn't multiplayer in BeamNG), so I think you should remove some chicanes and make others slower
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. HondaFanboy

    HondaFanboy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    dank memes
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. MrLeRien

    MrLeRien
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Messages:
    217
    Found an easter egg xD
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. 1UZ-FE

    1UZ-FE
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    352
    you have no idea how thankful I am for this map.
     
  8. MrLeRien

    MrLeRien
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Messages:
    217
    Me?
     
  9. 1UZ-FE

    1UZ-FE
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    352
    whoever made the map, is amazing for making a nice big map with murica roads. Nonetheless, nice easter egg find!
     
  10. MrLeRien

    MrLeRien
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2017
    Messages:
    217
    Thanks :D
     
  11. pease

    pease
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    love the off-road bits.

    I noticed theres a gigantic speed limit sign near the mountain spawn though
     
  12. Txllee

    Txllee
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Oh!

    I really want to play this map, but when i load it i get 2 error messages!

    1. "Failed to create resource (is the file missing?):levels/terenia24.ter"
    2. "Failed to create resource (is the file missing?:levels/mymap/main.decals"


    Anyone more whos got theese messages? Or maby have an error fix?
     
  13. pease

    pease
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    OKAY, this isn't an anomaly.

    There's a bunch of 100+ foot tall road signs xD
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. Karimoti

    Karimoti
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    I cant even load the map it freezes in matter of a seconds i have 16 gb of ram. Really want to play that map...
     
  15. Gavril T85

    Gavril T85
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    637
    This map looks awesome, but sadly it won't load for me. I have the required 8GB of ram, and I can run maps like Roane County, Tennessee just fine. Any suggestions or help?
     
  16. bob.blunderton

    bob.blunderton
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,031
    Welcome to what happens when you blatantly copy some forest objects from a beta map in a beta game without asking about if there's issues with doing so 1st (and issues, there are!).

    EDIT: No, I'm not fuming like some hot-head, not mad at all actually, glad if you could use things and want to make a large map like mine, just be aware of the fact this editor is very quirky and will bug massively sometimes. However, I do know how to fix this issue and have verified this fix on my map. Read on!
    Also, The EULA of this site says 'map elements are free to be used by others and BeamNG staff'...

    Well one of the things is the editor bug that is caused with having a dupe in the forest brush index (which was caused by the editor).

    Go into your forest file database and look for the signs. They're listed with 1.0 for size (which is huge).
    They're also listed for 0.025 or something like that in another spot where it's duped.
    Well you can go in your forest file database (your .forest.json file), and edit the size to be 0.025 or 0.0225 whatever you prefer it to be with carefully selecting 1] to be replaced with 0.025] or 0.0225] (using the bracket at the end because size is the last # in those huge fields).
    Then the signs won't bug out.

    OR, delete the dupes of the signs that are size of 1 in the right-pane index of the forest brush tool inside the editor, but only do this if you don't want to change stuff inside a text editor within the forest.json file.
    The actual sign is very large, for some reason. A size of 0.025. or 0.0225 brings it down to normal size.
    Wish you would have asked me about it 1st I would have saved you some butt-hurt later on down the road.
    No, I don't mind you used it but please credit @RedRoosterFarm as they're his signs to the best of my knowledge.


    The editor bugs because of a dupe, it goes and takes the size of one preset, multiplies it by the next preset, and that's what you see in game, but when it goes to re-display it (not going to happen unless you run map from the .zip when testing and delete local copy in /levels first or move it out of directory), it only reads the 1st value from the 1st preset.
    My map is the only one with dupes :x I got rid of most of the the last time around, but you can save the pain by manually editing (or doing careful, one click at a time find-and-replace) in a text editor like Notepad++.
    Yes this is why for the longest time I had 'you really shouldn't use my map as a base for other maps, but I won't hunt you down or scold you if you do' scrawled on the map posting somewhere. I think it got taken off and replaced with other text tho after an amount of time.

    That being said, just edit the stuff in a text editor. If you fix the dupe in the forest editor selection list-box, and edit things in the text editor too, you may end up with pint-sized signs - the complete opposite. So do one or the other then try running from a .zip and not in /levels/, to see if it's fixed.


    To that end, nice to see someone else making a big map, though they're a bear to run, nice to see someone else doing it.
    Should consider dressing up the intersections so they don't look like roads laid over other roads, though. They make little patch pieces you can put there so they don't look like criss-crossed packing tape layers :)

    Be mindful of the 4096 object limit, use objects in the forest brush when and where possible.
    Use my road textures (pick and choose what you need or want, don't bulk copy as it's 1gb), if you need them.

    --Best of luck! Contact me if you need help or get your you-know-what in the wringer.
    --- Post updated ---
    Try removing your other car or map mods. I had that issue with my Roane County map not running due to other mods. Still haven't figured out which one. If you do find out, let this guy know and let me know because there's one busting up my map too.
    It will CTD 1 second before you spawn in after the whole map loads.
    This version of beamng.drive is a bugfest which is why I haven't been editing lately.

    If you want then if it loads up nice, go back out and put a few mods back in, like your favorite car, etc, then try it.


    EDIT: Tried out the map.
    I LOVE THE IDEA AND FLOW OF THIS MAP, 10/10 there.
    First map in Beamng.drive with distributor-collector lanes for highway interchange setup.
    Textures, road striping, road layering (some overtop of others)... needs a bit of work there.
    LOVE that you made a town, it wasn't too repetitious or otherwise boring, great!
    There is great variety of roads, fast highways, mountainous switchbacks, to mostly straight roads past cornfields (and yes, there's cornfields, turn down saturation on the corn grass just a touch, like 20%).
    Lots of opportunities for air time, whether intentional or unintentional (oops! CRASH).
    The sign bug is indeed caused by the signs having either a duplicate entry, or not saving right.
    Since there's only about a dozen or so of them you can resize it by hand or edit the files, or delete the duplicate entry that has the size of 1, leaving the entry with 0.025~0.0225.
    There's a few notexture errors. This includes where no texture was applied under bridges that you can pass under, or the back of the goal posts on the dirt track (someone took a picture of it), which may have been improper pathing for the texture in the .cs file.

    I wholly encourage you to keep working on this map. While I'd hazard a best guess and say it's 50~60% done, there's so much fun to be had, and even more fun to be had when it's fixed up a little better in due time.
    I wish there were more maps like this as this game is totally ripe for a lot of fun times on a big map, where the small maps leave so much to be desired and tire you easily, this map is the gift that keeps on giving.

    So-Cal Interstate has gobs of 100% finished freeway textures (in grey and black) and Nevada Interstate has a set of older, worn concrete textures that are read to use, also. I encourage you to use these on your highways, as they'll add to the immersion and they have all the appropriate striping (lines) on them already.
    A center barrier is a nice thing to add and it's missing in some spots (it's required on highways with less than a 30~60 foot median depending on state, and recommended for anything with less than a 90 foot median).
    Careful how high you make bridge side walls, it may be too high in spots. As high as the car's hood or bottom of side windows up to max 1 foot higher, is high enough generally (for most cars, I use an 88 pessima as an example). Only the old box-girder type steel bridges (often used by rail) had higher sides, due to using them for structural rigidity so the steel didn't bend or twist under load.

    Over-all, this map concept is well done, shows a LOT of work, especially the beautiful stream near what I think is the default start. I like this. Keep doing what you're doing and I think you will have a lot of fans.
    Take whatever you need texture-wise from my maps should the need arise, and maybe add a clover-leaf, and jughandle style interchange or two to spice things up.
    You did fairly well with the trumpet and diamond interchanges though, I am impressed. I totally hope you continue this.

    --Great work!
     
    #36 bob.blunderton, Dec 16, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2017
    • Informative Informative x 4
  17. primo3001

    primo3001
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    111
  18. gtoredga

    gtoredga
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Clear cache or reinstall beamng that helped me!!!!
    --- Post updated ---
    Does ram speed really matter in fps? I have 2400mhz overrclockrd to 2666mhz. 16gb corsair vengence lpx.
     
  19. Gavril T85

    Gavril T85
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Messages:
    637
    I tried deactivating every mod except this one, but it still didn't work.
     
  20. Karimoti

    Karimoti
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2017
    Messages:
    6

    Same problem here only 1 mod activated and still not working it freezes after 2 seconds
     

    Attached Files:

    • beamngdrivefreeze.png
    • Agree Agree x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice