1. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    Solutions and more information may already be available.
  2. GPU Fatal Error? Intel HD Graphics 620/630 Crashes? Help us solve them!
    Dismiss Notice

Animated static objects

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by ned228, Jul 7, 2018.

  1. ned228

    ned228
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    260
    Hi am trying to make an animated object for a map. I know there animated oil pumps on west coast USA. However I don’t know how that is done. I have tried to copy it but it has no animations. Even though it looks like it is set up the same. How does this work
     
  2. Littleturdlet

    Littleturdlet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    228
    You have to animate the object in your 3d software. Then import it and it should work.
     
  3. ned228

    ned228
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    260
    That’s what I was doing. However when I imported it into game the animation was not doing anything. The object was stationary.
     
  4. Littleturdlet

    Littleturdlet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    228
    Might be how you exported it, try importing the model you exported into your 3d software and see if it plays.
     
  5. ned228

    ned228
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    260
    It plays in the 3D program
     
  6. Littleturdlet

    Littleturdlet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    228
    I'm not sure what's wrong, it should work.
    --- Post updated ---
    I just remembered! you have to click "play ambient" in the inspector under the rendering tab, sorry.
     
  7. ned228

    ned228
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    260
    I have clicked play ambient it still does not work. Even takeing one of the dev oil pumps and re exporting it as a new name does not work
     
  8. Littleturdlet

    Littleturdlet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    228
    Could you send me it so I could take a look.
     
  9. ned228

    ned228
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    260
    Here is the model It is supposed to be lightning.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Littleturdlet

    Littleturdlet
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    228
    Sorry I took so long, I was occupied. Try this, I used an armature to scale the lightning. I tested it and it works for me.
     

    Attached Files:

    #10 Littleturdlet, Jul 7, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2018
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice