1. Issues with the game?
    Check the Known Issues list before reporting!

    Dismiss Notice

Audio Feedback Thread

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nadeox1, Aug 9, 2017.

  1. TDK

    TDK
    Expand Collapse
    FLIT KILLS MOTHS
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    475
    There was a (non-audio) bug which has been reported in the 0.23 feedback thread and on discord which was causing this. Fixed and waiting for the next hotfix.
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 2
  2. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    7,981
    I might have figured out something about the problem with the sounds: For some reason the game doesn't see the SoundConfig field on some mods. For whatever reason it doesn't see it if it's the engine Jbeam, but if you move it to the sub-slot like the N2O slot then it does. But it still sees the definition of SoundConfig so it doesn't play the legacy V8 sound like it should in this case, and shows no errors because it thinks no sounds are even defined. I hope this helps somehow. No idea why this happens on some mods and not on others.
    Also the samples in the folder I talked about eariler are still broken as well. Maybe it's the fact that this folder is not definied anywhere in combustionEngine.lua, only the hidden sound folder with blends is.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. TDK

    TDK
    Expand Collapse
    FLIT KILLS MOTHS
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    475
    Thank you - I'll pass that on to the programmer looking at this.
    --- Post updated ---
    OK - we're going to need someone who is having this issue to raise a ticket with support, and go through this properly.

    https://support.beamng.com/
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    456
    I tried to make an engine sound mod but no matter what I do I cant get the clicking and popping to go away. I tried moving it to 0db at the very beginning and the very end but it didn't help
    This is the idle sound (750 rpm I6)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. TDK

    TDK
    Expand Collapse
    FLIT KILLS MOTHS
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    475
    Yeah, so not only are you not looping on or close to a zero crossing point, which is good practise to do where possible, this sample is never going to loop as it is because the start sample value and the end sample value are too far away from each other - look at the loop_point capture png where I've put the end point up to the start point. There's your click.
    --- Post updated ---
    There appears some other issue with the loop as it happens, as even with correct loop values there was additional sample data which were giving the audio a low frequency 'bump'. Look at the final PNG - I deleted the bit lighlighted... and the loop is fine now.
     

    Attached Files:

    #705 TDK, Aug 9, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2021
    • Like Like x 2
  6. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    456
    Thanks that helped, but I still keep hearing something at the end of the sample
    --- Post updated ---
    I am trying to record some rpm loops for sound mods in beam, but can't seem to get the beginning and the end lined up properly so that there at the same level
     
  7. TDK

    TDK
    Expand Collapse
    FLIT KILLS MOTHS
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    475
    There looked some other issue with the loop as it happens, there was additional sample data which meant it was never going to loop correctly without a bump. I've removed that, and the loop is fine now.
    Well that's because the number of cycles in the sample doesn't match the correct number for a v6 engine - I didn't expect you wanting me to do that as well - that should be improved too now.... I'm not going to make a habit of this though ;)

    I'm afraid it'll all be trial and error for you. The more you look at waveforms you'll start to see patterns in the peaks with different engine configurations etc... it's just practise and experience.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  8. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    456
    That is understandable
    --- Post updated ---
    I tried it with a different v6 and deleted all the other waveforms except the first 6 then removed the clicking and that seemed to work
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2021-08-09.png
  9. TDK

    TDK
    Expand Collapse
    FLIT KILLS MOTHS
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    475
    A 'thank you' would have probably been the most appropriate response here, but whatever.
     
    • Staff Pick Staff Pick x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. Slugfest

    Slugfest
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2020
    Messages:
    1,130
    I think his "that is understandable" was to you not making a habit of it - I hope I'm not out of line in saying that your work is always appreciated :)
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  11. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    456
    Sorry, thank you
     
  12. TDK

    TDK
    Expand Collapse
    FLIT KILLS MOTHS
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    475
    The trouble with doing that, is you end up with a very static sound because it is looping so frequently. IRL the timbre of an engine sound is forever subtly changing, so a quick static loop ends up sounding unrealistic - this is one of the issues I have with the samples we use.
    --- Post updated ---
    No worries - it's the "grumpy old git" part of me coming out. I'm always like this with my kids ;)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  13. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    456
    Is there a way I can go about incorporating that in an rpm loop sample or is not that simple? And also notice that most of the intake(engine) sounds sound better than the exhaust sounds. I increased the delay time on a sample I made to make it sound uneven. Would that work with the samples in the game or not?
     
    #713 FFIVGUY, Aug 10, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2021
  14. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1,514
    @TDK sorry for ping, your work as well as your effort on forum communication is mostly appreciated :)
     
    • Agree Agree x 5
  15. TDK

    TDK
    Expand Collapse
    FLIT KILLS MOTHS
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    475
    Um.... incorporating what in an rpm loop sample? that file is in effect an rpm loop.

    What what work with the samples in the game? introducing a delay? I don't think I'm understanding what you're trying to ask here, sorry.
    --- Post updated ---
    :) You're welcome :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Kolas

    Kolas
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    134
    I don't know if these are right terms but when the vehicle slides tire sound feels like connected to gas pedal in a weird way, if you have controlled tire slide while going, on-load and off-load tire sound feels like a switch (even with the smallest gas input, like 0 to 15, the sound changes suddenly and sharply), instead of a blend. Is this intended, or is it gonna be open to improve at some point? Also, thank you :)
     
  17. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    456
    I made a video discussing this in more detail. Hope this helps!
     
  18. TDK

    TDK
    Expand Collapse
    FLIT KILLS MOTHS
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    475
    Can you record a video to explain what you mean please?
    --- Post updated ---
    Mmm, so a delay is effectively a copy of the original sound, played at a later time.

    For a start the reason why the delay doesn't start at the beginning of your sample, is because you told it to be a 1.17 second delay... so the first repetition (delay) it will do will be 1.17 seconds in to your file. There's a good description of what an audio delay is here if you're not quite sure - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delay_(audio_effect)

    It sounds uneven because you have overlayed (or in effect, copy and mixed - that's what a delay is) the original sound on top of its self but using a delay frequency of 1.17, which is different to the pattern the recording naturally has - what you've "sort of" done, is given the sound 5 more cylinders, but in a random sort of way.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. FFIVGUY

    FFIVGUY
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    456
    Thanks for the insight. Maybe it’s not as simple as it seems. I just wish there were a way to make the engine sounds sound better besides the Engine Audio Debug App.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. TDK

    TDK
    Expand Collapse
    FLIT KILLS MOTHS
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    475
    Better engine/exhaust sounds would be the way to improve them... There's an old saying....."you can't polish a turd" ;)

    We are aware.... you guys know by now that I'm not happy with many of these sounds... and there are discussions going on regarding this. It's just not as simple as most other games where you record a car and there we go. For sure Horizon 5 is doing a bit of the real time sound manipulation now, but what we're wanting to do is on a whole different level.
     
    • Like Like x 13
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice