Auto Trans / Torque Converter Help?

Discussion in 'Programming' started by on3cherryshake, Feb 6, 2017.

  1. on3cherryshake

    on3cherryshake
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Messages:
    438
    So I want to fool around with some things and maybe release them here, but I need help first.

    How can I change the speed at which an automatic shifts? Is it in the vehicle controller, torque converter, or auto trans jbeam script?
     
  2. Deleted member 160369

    Deleted member 160369
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Code:
     "vehicleController":{
    "transmissionGearChangeDelay":
    "neutralSelectionDelay":
    "gearboxDecisionSmoothingDown":
    "gearboxDecisionSmoothingUp":
    }
    These are the transmission parameters you should be looking at.

    Also, you might want to edit your shifting points.
     
  3. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    6,960
    No they aren't. You want the actual shift points which are in the transmission themselves.
     
  4. Deleted member 160369

    Deleted member 160369
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Indeed:
    Depends on what he means with "speed at which an automatic shifts". Vehicle speed? Shifting speed?
     
  5. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,782
    Maybe he wants to change rpm at which transmission shifts, which would be somewhat related to speed of vehicle, then these could be used.

    //reverse, neutral, 1st, 2nd, ...
    "highShiftDownRPM":[0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0],
    "highShiftUpRPM":[0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0],
    "lowShiftDownRPM":[0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0],
    "lowShiftUpRPM":[0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0],

    Gear ratios define then of course at which speed certain rpm is met.
     
  6. on3cherryshake

    on3cherryshake
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Messages:
    438
    Sorry, shifting speed. I worded that terribly!! xD All of the autos seem to be really sluggish in changing gears. I want kinda...

    Skip to the second run.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,782
    For that, I guess "transmissionShiftDelay":, would be one setting to look into, but also these do affect it.
    Code:
    "converterDiameter":,
            "converterStiffness":,
            "couplingAVRatio":,
    Have a look at Powertrain from there automatic transmission and torque converter sections have quite ok explanations of those parameters.
     
  8. Deleted member 160369

    Deleted member 160369
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Check my previous message, some controller parameters you can experiment with are listed. :)
     
  9. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Lead
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,957
    What you are looking for is actually part of the transmission, not the controller.
    It's the "gearChangeTime" parameter of an automatic transmission.
    This is in the transmission because the time really depends on the hardware and less on the "user".



    Video - Click to Play - Direct Link



    (Please note that this value has limited resolution, it's used in GFX step, so it's ultimately limited by your framerate)
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
  10. on3cherryshake

    on3cherryshake
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Messages:
    438
    I couldn't find the gearChangeTime parameter in the wiki, it isn't listed. But this is exactly what I needed. Thanks!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice