Automation Exporter Feedback & Bug Reporting Thread

Discussion in 'Automation' started by Nadeox1, Jul 13, 2018.

  1. Alewyx

    Alewyx
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,045
  2. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,656
    If you use Automation mods, and those mods uses custom materials (ie. not Automation materials), the exporter would not know how to handle them.
    One with some modding knowledge can always fix those cases manually.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Lead
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,841
    Looks like your editor doesn't display linebreaks correctly maybe?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Justy4WDTURBO

    Justy4WDTURBO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    648
    It does, when I opened it up in Notepad++ it looks fine.
     
    #84 Justy4WDTURBO, Jul 15, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2018
    • Agree Agree x 2
  5. Kreunz

    Kreunz
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Loving it, but it has a pretty major bug. Pressing R to reset the car causes a fatal exeption.
     
  6. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,784
    I believe it was some covet mod.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Justy4WDTURBO

    Justy4WDTURBO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    648
    It is, I rewrote the entire torque curve for my Covet's engine thinking 0.13 broke it and then I found out it was the MoreEngines mod or something causing it.

    Oh well, at least my Covet is faster now though.
     
  8. PolishPetrolhead

    PolishPetrolhead
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    490
    I have a rig that can easily handle both automation and beam at the same time. So I try out my abominations... ekhm... cars and can do some minor adjustments without turning off one game and turning on another. Well, almost. I still have to restart beam to get the update. So: is there a way to somehow reload beam so it uses the fresh files?
     
  9. Justy4WDTURBO

    Justy4WDTURBO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    648
    Ctrl-R?
     
  10. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,784
    Replace car with another, then export in Automation and after that open vehicle menu, select your exported car again. that is how it has worked for me.
     
  11. PolishPetrolhead

    PolishPetrolhead
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    490
    Ok, I'll try that next time i fiddle around with those games.
     
  12. thatjackguy

    thatjackguy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    As great as this update is, one problem is the engine exporter doesn't export turbos properly and that can rob the exported cars of a lot of power. As you can see from my personal track car here. 547hp in Automation, 439 in Beam. Over 100hp lost... and this doesn't happen to my naturally aspirated cars.
     

    Attached Files:

    • i51.png
    • i52.png
  13. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,784
    I lost over a 1000hp on mine...
     
  14. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,082
    one of the automation team members addressed this already:

     
  15. thatjackguy

    thatjackguy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    My bad. I could attach the .car if it'd help the Automation staff?

    edit: here you go, hope this is useful
     

    Attached Files:

    #95 thatjackguy, Jul 16, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2018
  16. caswal

    caswal
    Expand Collapse
    Automation Team

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Yes please.
     
  17. VeyronEB

    VeyronEB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,539
    It seems the exported cars are painfully hard to run. For starters (and probably the biggest issue) is the automation exporter needlessly exporting all of the engine internals to BeamNG, it really hammers the performance badly. There are also quite a few excessively high poly fixtures that could get away with half as many as they have.

    I've found they are easily twice as heavy to run as the default cars and are no where near as detailed.

    Even when i manually went through and removed all of the engine flexbody lines I still only get about 18fps with 8 cars on a GTX 1070



    Compared with default cars which get almost twice that



    I know it will maybe never be as optimised as the default cars but there is definitely alot of room for improvement.
     
    • Agree Agree x 10
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. rottenfitzy

    rottenfitzy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    680
    I find the exported car engine volume to be very low compared to stock Beam vehicles. A v12 that is deafening in the game is half as loud as the Default Beamng Pickup. It feels like the exported cars should be a lot louder.

    Secondly, the bed of the pickup bodies (especially the big modern one) can sometimes look horribly broken both in and out of Automation, as Killrob noted in GETD 5.


    Overall, the exporter is fantastic, and I greatly appreciate the hard work put in. Good job!
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. gigisfan

    gigisfan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Hi guys,
    I was so excited for this update, I was ready to buy automation (whom, honestly, I knew nothing about before), and I think it's a nice idea, but now that I had the opportunity to try some exported vehicles I am a bit disappointed. Who cares about the interiors, but I can't stand the extreme low quality of that mods. I love this game for its realism, this is I think one of the reasons it must be chosen instead of many other car games, so I prefer less mods but of higher quality, like many of you can conceive and create (I envy you guys).

    (however, I totally understand that commercially speaking this is a great move, that will increase creators revenue, so good for you :) )

    David
     
    #99 gigisfan, Jul 16, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2018
    • Agree Agree x 2
  20. stbest95

    stbest95
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    259
    i agree.

    the exporter is a cool feature for those who want to test drive their automation creations,
    and i really appreciate it for that alone - but the deformation is worse than i expected.

    the "russian mods" that this forum hates so much deform a lot better than these exports.
    the lack of a detachable bonnet makes frontal impacts look wrong, and there isnt even a simple "cracked glass" texture for the windows.

    i understand that the kind of auto-generation that happens here has its limitations, but i hope there will be improvements in the future.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice