WIP Beta released BeamNG BananaBenchmark - The visual approach

Discussion in 'Utilities and programming' started by Diamondback, Apr 17, 2015.

  1. FilsFilms

    FilsFilms
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    575
    1 pickup...
    And this programm is nice tho. :D
    ss+(2015-04-19+at+10.37.28).png
     
  2. leme88

    leme88
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Screenshot (15).jpg
    It's funny how my Laptop is up there on the first page with it's 2,5 GHz haha :p
    (It should really show 3,5 GHz)

    Edit:
    I just realized I could change this in the settings, fixed it now ^^
     
  3. g0tsl33p14

    g0tsl33p14
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    This is going to kick my ass.
     
  4. Aboroath

    Aboroath
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    3,806
    This is really slick. My laptop does quite well even if it's "average". We need LOTS more folks to bench on this. Really cool to see
    the rankings. Nice work!
     
  5. Narwhal

    Narwhal
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,701
    just tried this app a second time. got this error again
    d8330b0a89.png
    do i need to reinstall beamng?

    EDIT
    I may know the problem. i may not have the pickup in that steam folder

    EDIT 2
    yep that was it. You have to have the vehicle in your steam directory
     
  6. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Engineering
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    Yea, thanks for pointing that out, you absolutely need the vehicle in the default browser. :)

    - - - Updated - - -

    So, over the last few days, I had a look at the results from all the benchmarks and also the potential problems and feedback from the users.

    Here's my list of things that are going to change:
    • AMD processor names are too long in the online score list
      • I am trying to shorten them (and also the Intel ones) by replacing the (R) and (TM) things with the actual symbol
      • Additionally I might create a list of "useless" words that will be removed from the names, (AMD xyz @ 4.0 GHz with Radeon xyz), where with would be removed
    • 120% realtime as the playability threshold doesn't seem to fit perfectly just yet, I could potentially go with 100% but that is wrong as well looking at my own research. So maybe 110%?
    • The app should be usable from anywhere, not just the BeamNG directory
      • Not too much of a problem at this point as I request admin rights anyway which are needed for a working vehicle selector

    I am also thinking about a way to dynamically generate signature images for benchmark results. Is that something you guys would like to have?
    What would you prefer, a static version that just generates an image for a given result, or better a dynamic image that will always display your best result automatically?
     
  7. MultiGamerClub

    MultiGamerClub
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    337
    What?

    ??
     
  8. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Engineering
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    What exactly didn't you understand?
     
  9. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,654
    Can I suggest to colour the 'laptops' graph bars into another colour? Would help, since laptops performs in a totally different category than desktops :)
     
  10. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Engineering
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    Hm, color coding different system types would be certainly a good idea.
    I'd need to maintain some sort of CPU database for that to work...
    Or can you think of some other easy way to determine laptop y/n?
     
  11. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,654
    I don't think it's possibile to get windows to recognize if laptop or desktop automatically (??), but maybe a prompt message in which the user selects if the system is a desktop or a laptop before the benchmark starts would be the easiest way :D
     
  12. SuperNoob05

    SuperNoob05
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,287
    Coudn't you determine whether it's a laptop or not by asking Windows if it's battery powered?
    Cause, I'm pretty sure that Windows knows that, and there's gotta be someway you can retrieve that information.
     
  13. MultiGamerClub

    MultiGamerClub
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    337
    Okay, so i did another benchmark now when everything that wasnt unnecesary..

    Got 43.05 MB on the benchmark, pretty good :)

    Added picture to show details too as you asked for!

    - - - Updated - - -

    Nothing, got a "ahhh" moment seconds later..
     

    Attached Files:

    • benchmark.png
  14. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Engineering
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    That's a good idea actually, I'll have a look. If that doesn't work out, asking the user is probably the way to go. :)

    - - - Updated - - -

    Now that looks a lot more like what you described. :) You should be able to run 4 pickups at full speed, everything beyond that will probably slow you down past the 30fps limit.
    Did you try overclocking your CPU yet? You might be able to run 2 vehicles per core at full speed if you have a proper cooling.
     
  15. SuperNoob05

    SuperNoob05
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,287
    I've just had another idea :
    Would it be possible to alert the user when the PC is running on powersaving mode?
    That way we could be sure that every test uses the pcs full potential.
     
  16. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Engineering
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    Good idea, this is absolutely possible. I am thinking about some sort of checklist thing before running a benchmark, things like the power plan and the currently set maximum CPU frequency could be displayed there.
    Maybe also something like time since last reboot or so.
     
  17. Paul-Simon

    Paul-Simon
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    I'm unable to launch the program at all.
    I've installed it correctly, tried running in compatibility mode etc etc.
    I don't get any errors, the application appears to crash instantly without a trace. No process is left running.

    My BeamNG is installed on my D: drive, while windows is on C:. Is this a problem?

    Here's the rest of my specifications:
    - Laptop
    - i7 4810MQ @3.1GHz
    - GTX 860M (latest drivers)
    - 8GB RAM
    - 128GB SSD (C)
    - 1TB HDD (D)
    - Windows 8.1 Professional 64bit
    - 1920 x 1080 screen
     
  18. randomshortguy

    randomshortguy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,574
    The problem with people saying that their CPU can actually run say, 10 T75s, or just much more than the number of pickups possible given at the end of the benchmark is because some people can't tell the difference between framerates. I did the benchmark and it is nearly 100% accurate for my CPU vs Total D15s I can run at 60FPS, but the framerate does not drop in a linear fashion; as the FPS gets lower, the physics speed significantly slows to the point where I can run 20 D15s on a quadcore, albeit at 7FPS.
     
  19. Dummiesman

    Dummiesman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,631
    Guys, please run the bnechmark without any other programs running. Running it once with a bunch of programs open, then running it again without them open and saying "WTF" is just confusing for everyone. Anyways, I'm about to test this on my i3-2120. Will close everything and do all tests so you can add that to your database :)

    - - - Updated - - -

    Seems your database is down D:
     
  20. iheartmods

    iheartmods
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,482
    Cry for me. :(

    I really hope that I can upgrade this summer.

    AMD Phenom X4 2.3GHz

    Anyhow, you've made an excellent program. Devs, ship this in the official releases?
     

    Attached Files:

    • cry4me.JPG
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice