1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BeamNG.Drive Remote Control App - Feedback and Bug Report thread

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nadeox1, Dec 19, 2015.

  1. CTZendoritos

    CTZendoritos
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    im using my phone's mobile hotspot
     
  2. MineCreeeprX

    MineCreeeprX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    I only have this 2 router setup, where one is connected to the internet, but has a short transmission range, so it's connected per LAN to another router, which has a better range. My phone is connected per WIFI to the latter router and my PC has a LAN cable connected also to the better router, if that makes sense.
     
  3. Hondune

    Hondune
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    265
    So both of you have abnormal internet set ups and both of your are having issues. I bet that isnt a coincidence. Is there any way either of you can test a normal set up where both devices are connected to the same wifi? Just to see if that fixes the problem for you, then I know what to start looking for to find a fix.
     
  4. tdev

    tdev
    Expand Collapse
    Developer
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,714
    FYI: the app is using broadcast packages. Any device in the network chain might discard those packages without telling you. Also, both of the devices (the game and the smartphone) must be in the same subnet.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. MineCreeeprX

    MineCreeeprX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    They are, but for some reason, since the new update it doesn't work anymore. I just pinged my phone from my PC and it worked just fine, so the network is probably not the problem.
     
  6. Hondune

    Hondune
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    265
    It wasnt working correctly before either though anyways right? Does it give you an error message?

    Also maybe a silly question but are you on the latest BeamNG? 0.7 at very least is required for the app to work as several changes were made to the BeamNG side of things. If you press the "~" key in game while using the remote control, are there any errors or messages?
     
    #206 Hondune, Nov 18, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2016
  7. HDR

    HDR
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    134
    Just tested it, works fine for me, on the newest version, PC is on wired and phone is on wireless (duh)

    Edit: Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge, running Android 6.0.1
     
  8. MineCreeeprX

    MineCreeeprX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Before the update the phone controls worked perfectly, but the speedometer and such on the phone didn't work. And yep, I have the latest version of BeamNG.
    Here's a screenshot of the console (the phone was just lying straight on the table) and there seem to be some error messages:
     
  9. Hondune

    Hondune
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    265
    There is some errors that might be an issue which is strange. But it also looks likes you didnt setup outgauge properly and youre still using the default ip value

    Follow the instructions here http://wiki.beamng.com/OutGauge
     
  10. MineCreeeprX

    MineCreeeprX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Just tried it. Everything worked as expected, but the controls. It still behaves in a very strange way. But what I noticed is, that when I hold my phone vertically the car will just stay there, because every control indicator in the controls menu is at 0%. When I hold it horizontally it it does the random stuff.
     
  11. MineCreeeprX

    MineCreeeprX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Update:

    The problem has now been resolved after I installed the new version of the app.
    Apparently I had a very old version and somehow it never updated itself, so now it works again.
     
  12. ClassyClassic

    ClassyClassic
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    164
    Always Connection Timed Out. I just reinstalled Remote V2 on my Galaxy S4 running lollipop to check if that was it.

    It probably has to do with the fact that on my desktop I'm using my laptop's wifi through Windows shared networks?

    EDIT: Just confirmed that gas/brake/steering work great on my laptop using the integrated wifi!
    I imagine I would have to enable OutGage or something to get the gauges to work?
    Awesome work on it though, works great. 80ns delay I believe.
     
    #212 ClassyClassic, Dec 25, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2016
  13. Hondune

    Hondune
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    265
    Yes outgauge must be enabled to have working gauges. Glad the rest is working for you though! :)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. carmenara

    carmenara
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Oh my word, this app works splendid on ASUS Zenfone.

    It transformed me from keyboard noob to driving god complete with authentic rally style left finger braking!

    Just kidding. Works great!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. WeatherKidNH

    WeatherKidNH
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    382
    Only will get Connection Timeout on my Samsung Galaxy S3
     
  16. TechEdd_YT

    TechEdd_YT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Hi ! I have an iPod 5 and when I click on use your Android phone to drive it says: The game seems to be blocked by the Windows Firewall. So I go to Firewall settings and BeamNG.Drive was not there. I go to MCaFee and disable the Firewall and it always says: he game seems to be blocked by the Windows Firewall. And on my iPod I scan the QR code, the square was green but nothing happend.
    Thanks you for helping me !
     
  17. EuroTrucker

    EuroTrucker
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    I'm using a samsung tab 3 lite SM-T110 using android v4.2.2 the app crashes every time I attempt to scan the code in game.
    any idea whats wrong and how can I fix it.
     
  18. TheOffbrandSoap

    TheOffbrandSoap
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Can not connect. It keeps telling me the connection is timed out.
     
  19. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10,723
    Is BeamNG allowed through your Windows Firewall?
     
  20. Pyrolex

    Pyrolex
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    This might just be me, but for some reason when I try to scan the QR code with the app (32-bit iPhone 5), nothing happens. There's the green box outlining the QR code, so clearly the app recognizes it. But just about nothing beyond that happens. Really quite a shame, I was wanting to try it as soon as I saw it in the Options menu.

    EDIT: Actually, I think I need to set Windows Firewall to allow BeamNG. My fault for not noticing xP
     
    #220 Pyrolex, Feb 28, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2017