BeamNG runs a bit slow

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JohnMattEva, Jun 23, 2021.

  1. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,513
    Depends on what’s being measured. Most likely it’s showing you the GPU vram temperature (aka junction), which can be 10-15 degrees above the actual GPU temp.
     
  2. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    479
    Yeah don't end windows tasks, but 100 is a lot, so take a look at wich ones are not needed.
     
  3. JohnMattEva

    JohnMattEva
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    here are the background processes
     

    Attached Files:

    • pic1.png
    • pic2.png
    • pic3.png
  4. S.Ali.M

    S.Ali.M
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    694
    A hundred of background apps?! And you really think they're important?!

    What are they exactly?
     
  5. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,513
    not nessicarily. I use about 12-14 gigs of ram when nothing else is open. When you have more ram, windows takes advantage of it.
    --- Post updated ---
    they are general windows processes needed to run various things. It’s not an issue.
     
  6. JohnMattEva

    JohnMattEva
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    i see
    --- Post updated ---
    so what should i do now?
    it's past midnight at ours now and I don't really know what to do
    --- Post updated ---
    one more thing i should mention:
    i'm just a standard user
    no admin rights
     
  7. Jack The Ripper 2

    Jack The Ripper 2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Just a silly question, but this CPU seems to have a integrated graphics, and on the picture you sent it only states this integrated graphics, but doesn't say anything about the GTX1650, could your PC be using these integrated graphics? Becaus this kind of low performance on medium tottally seems like how a Vega 11 would react on this game
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  8. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,513
    Make sure the laptop is plugged in. Also make sure the power plan is set to high performance. Make sure BeamNG is using your dedicated graphics card by checking in Nvidia control panel. (for people with amd gpus reading this, I have not been able to find an alternative. Radeon software doesn’t let you do advanced stuff like that.)
     
  9. JohnMattEva

    JohnMattEva
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    ok then, brb
    --- Post updated ---
    done
    --- Post updated ---
    hmm
    --- Post updated ---
    nevermind, it uses the nvidia gpu
     
  10. SKB

    SKB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    898
    90+ C is usually terrible for laptops.. my potato laptop with an i3 3rd gen used to hit 89*C until i cleaned the thing a few weeks ago, then boom, didnt go over 75*C..

    1. Uninstall the avast antivirus... they are bloody annoying. Windows Defender will do just fine and doesnt hog background processing power.

    2. The 3750h hits around 4Ghz at boost mode, so it should be able to handle beam fine. The 1650 is also good for beam, even the iGpu of the AMD cpus are pretty decent if you have fast ram

    3.All the asus stuff in the back is probably the bloatware the laptop comes with.... ouch.

    Hence why i advise people to just reinstall a fresh copy of windows OR just delete the bloatware if possible.. Frees up a lot of space and makes the overall experience smoother........

    Check if the Laptop is plugged in, on battery the performance is crap, to save battery.. If plugged in, yay.
    keep a decent bit of room under the laptop for better ventilation/cooling,

    AMDs website says that the cou should be fine until 105*C (Water boils at that point, i dont know how the plastic wont melt).
    GTX 1650, probably 80*C until it throttles.

    Check if theres too much dust, or if possible clean and change thermal paste... should help :)
     
    • Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 2
  11. veljko

    veljko
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    Do you have asus motherboard?If yes then restart your laptop and when its about to start just keep clicking f2 or delete,then when you enter bios click q-fan control.After that set fan speed to full speed and click f10 (or just a button exit and apply).Hope it helps
    --- Post updated ---
    although it will sound like a formula
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. SKB

    SKB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    898
    i swear these companies just put a shit ton of bloatware,... MSI afterburner does just fine instead of all that..... even the geforce control panel... yeesh... too much bloa
    Wind tunnel vibes.. :p
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. JohnMattEva

    JohnMattEva
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    16
    one question:
    is there anyway to get to 4 ghz?
    it's only been running at stock (2.3 ghz)
    we're also gonna clean this bad boy later, hope it adds more fps
     
  14. SKB

    SKB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    898
    It doesn't boost to 4ghz normally? Hmm, may be a bios setting, or, it getting so hot that it just can't boost to 4ghz.. check the asus armory and also if your laptop is in high performance windows setting.

    Also, it won't boost if your playing it while not plugged it to save battery.

    When connected to the wall outlet, it should be boosting.
    --- Post updated ---
    Which laptop do you have? I've seen some older gen asus laptops' reviews and they said that some models have terrible ventilation for cooling..
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. veljko

    veljko
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2020
    Messages:
    70
    i also didnt mention(if you didnt know),you should make some space between ventilators and outside
    this is what i mean
     

    Attached Files:

    • download.jpg
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. SKB

    SKB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2017
    Messages:
    898
    Would be good for it. I do it to my laptop too, by putting a few books under it so it's raised off the table so it gets better airflow
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. Zero

    Zero
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,075
    This advice is basically spot on.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. default0.0player

    default0.0player
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,021
    Remove Chrome, Chrome has a malware named "software_reporter_tool.exe", this malware scans your computer constantly and send data to NSA, draining CPU, RAM, and disk usage.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  19. Just Timepass

    Just Timepass
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2020
    Messages:
    36
    I too use a pretty decent laptop from I think 2013. Just runs the game under 20-30 fps.
    Here are my laptop specs:-
    Processor:- Intel i7
    GPU:- NVIDIA GT 740, Intel integrated graphics
    RAM:- 8GB
    --- Post updated ---
    Though, my laptop's temperature doesn't go above 89.87 Degree Celsius.
    --- Post updated ---
    While we record (if u use obs, it eats ram like a monster) fps drops as the recorder uses high ram usage.
    --- Post updated ---
     
    #39 Just Timepass, Jun 28, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2021
  20. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    3,545
    I would argue if it should be called "malware", technically it is one by definition but somehow it's allowed and nobody wants to do anything against it except uninstalling Chrome completely
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice