Best Practice for installing lua mods?

Discussion in 'Utilities and programming' started by PEZZALUCIFER, Jun 21, 2021.

1. PEZZALUCIFER

PEZZALUCIFER
    Expand Collapse

Hey,

I'm no lua expert, and I certainly know very little about BeamNG mods so maybe someone here can help me with this.

I'd like to know what the best practice is for distributing mods to .lua so they don't break when things update, and the user doesn't lose functionality of other mods.. etc..

Specifically motionSim.lua
    https://github.com/PHARTGAMES/SpaceMonkey/blob/main/BeamNG/lua/vehicle/motionSim.lua

I have modified the file directly to output extra telemetry for my app SpaceMonkey so I can use the SimCommander chassis tactile functionality, It all works well.

However, I want to make an installer so that a user can just run the installer and it copies or patches a file into the right place in BeamNG.

Initial plan is to just stomp the motionSim.lua file with my version.. then if it gets modified by an update, stomp over it again.

Or should I modify some other file that includes motionSim.lua, and make it include a differently named file motionSim2.lua? Can I even do that?

Or something else?

Thankyou!

2. Diamondback

Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Systems Lead
    BeamNG Team

Hey :)

This is a complicated topic....

Some areas of our lua code contain measures to make the things you are asking for somewhat easy (eg powertrain devices, controllers, shift logic), however, this is very specific and has to be implemented in a certain way depending on the actual requirements.

While it would be technically possible to do something similar for the motionSim stuff, there isn't enough interest to warrant the cost...

In this specific case, it's probably fine to replace the file with a custom version, however, please note that we don't approve mods on the repo that have that specific behavior.