Best way to learn jbeam?

Discussion in 'Programming' started by ThreeDTech21, Nov 10, 2014.

1. ThreeDTech21

ThreeDTech21
    Expand Collapse

I want to learn jbeam but i think im learning it the hard way. I'm studying the jbeam of the cars and doing a sort of trial and error. Is there a better way to learn jbeam? I have no background in programming so it is harder, What I do right now is slap my cars onto an existing jbeam that sort of fits the car type. I read the wiki but I am no good at written learning, I am an Kinesthetic Learner.

IF you are expert at jbeam how did you learn it? Background in programming? reading the wiki? or studying the cars?

2. SixSixSevenSeven

SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

You'll find JBeaming and actual programming are 2 very different fields :p

I for one have no issue programming, strong background there. JBeaming, eh, not so good.

3. ThreeDTech21

ThreeDTech21
    Expand Collapse

So i can learn jbeam apart from C+ programing, thats good to know :rolleyes:

It seems the hardest part of Jbeam is understand each class and what it does, If there was a video explaining each thing in a jbeam it would be much easier!

4. Goosah

Goosah
    Expand Collapse
    Global Moderator
    BeamNG Team

The best way to learn is to examine props, experiment with changing values, adding nodes and beams to modify them, then try making one of your own. If you have no interest in props, you can modify vehicles too, but they are quite a bit more complicated. There are quite a few hurdles and leaps of logic to make. Do plenty of searching on the forums, most problems have been discussed, but not condensed very well yet.

In my mind there are 3 hurdles to the newb trying to Jbeam: Syntax and naming, Shape of the Jbeam structure, and Managing physics instability. Here, have some tips:

Syntax and Naming:

Use Notepad++ with Javascript Language selected in the dropdown menu, and things will look be a lot more manageable.