Unsolved Buying premade 3D models.

Discussion in 'Mod Support' started by Deleted member 162543, Jun 9, 2018.

1. Deleted member 162543

Deleted member 162543
    Expand Collapse

Sorry if this is a noob question, I'm new to all of this.

If I bought a 3D model off TurboSquid in the file format of FBX with UV maps, would it be able to be implemented into the game, and if so how easy?

Cheers, Vantage

--- Post updated ---

If you are wondering what I want to buy: https://www.turbosquid.com/3d-models/3d-model-car-doors-gti/983717#

2. henryjhost

henryjhost
    Expand Collapse

The model looks a little too high poly, and you might have to model an engine and suspension-or take one from existing vehicles.

• Informative Informative x 1
  3. Deleted member 162543

Deleted member 162543
    Expand Collapse

Right ok, I guess taking one from another vehicle would be quite easy. Can't you reduce the poly in blender using a certain tool?

4. fufsgfen

fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

Making a skeleton for the car as well as making all the parameters for car to behave like a car are going to take lot longer than modeling itself.

Many new persons don't realize this, but weight of car is done by adding together weight of all nodes (dots) and structure has to balanced very carefully, each line between dots (called beam) has to be created and each has several parameters that affect how structure will behave:
    upload_2018-6-9_16-12-4.png
    It is not about same how you place those dots, one challenging part is buildings suspension as it is not enough to replicate suspension geometry of real vehicle accurately, but creating additional supports to keep suspension from collapsing and allowing still same motion as real suspension. Alone finding that information from real vehicle can be challenging.