Can I run BeamNG on a Mac?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by Arito 23, May 14, 2021.

  1. Arito 23

    Arito 23
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    0
    Hello guys, I have been playing BeamNG for something like five or six years now. I have a homebuilt computer with windows 10, and it runs BeamNG okay. I have acceptable performance. I am however thinking of getting a mac. I think I will go for a macbook pro with the Apple M1 chip. So, here is te question: Is there any way to run BeamNG on that mac, and if so, will it run smoothly? I want to be able to have three cars on a map like Italy while maintaining decent graphics and at least 50 fps. Will it be able to do that? Also, are any of you guys running BeamNG on macs, if so, what mac do you have and how is it performing?
    Help appreciated!

    Ps: I don't know that much about computers, I am more of a carguy, so please keep it as simple as possible :)
     
  2. cheems_samurai

    cheems_samurai
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Messages:
    114
    BeamNG does not run on Mac OS sadly, it only runs on windows. Sorry :(
     
  3. Arito 23

    Arito 23
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    0
    Is there no way to run BeamNG thru something like Boot Camp?
     
  4. cheems_samurai

    cheems_samurai
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Messages:
    114
    I wouldn't recommend it
     
  5. fivedollarlamp

    fivedollarlamp
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,727
    What are you planning to do with the system besides BeamNG?
     
  6. P_enta

    P_enta
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2,595
    You could try a windows virtual machine on your mac maybe
     
  7. cheems_samurai

    cheems_samurai
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Messages:
    114
    I tried that once with my old Mac and it made me pay or something. You can always find one that's free
     
  8. quanlyquancafe

    quanlyquancafe
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 27, 2021
    Messages:
    0
    I tried running it on Mac but it didn't work, maybe it only works for windows.
     
  9. cheems_samurai

    cheems_samurai
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Messages:
    114
    What do you mean maybe?
    upload_2021-5-27_8-12-5.png
     
  10. Cayenne

    Cayenne
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 3, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Oh boy, time to sum it up easily. No, BeamNG does not run on Mac OS X, and it also will not run on any device with a CPU not based on the x86 instruction set (So no M1, 68k, PPC, Xenon, Cell, or MIPS devices). On x86 macs, Bootcamp can be used to install Windows, but Macs tend to have lower specs compared to PCs in the same price bracket (Apple sells iMacs and Macbooks for home users who tend to not game, so lower-spec'd graphics are used to cheapen the machines). I have a 2009 iMac, 21.5in base model, and it cannot run BeamNG. It does not meet the minimum specs for BeamNG and it is running at a resolution that is unsuitable for the graphics card that it has. So long story short, no, an M1 Macbook cannot run BeamNG.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. cheems_samurai

    cheems_samurai
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Messages:
    114
    Yeah what he said. But, before I got a PC in September, I bought BeamNG in July of last year, not knowing it didn't run on Mac. So always check what OS(s) the game runs on.
     
  12. FenderBenderTV

    FenderBenderTV
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2021
    Messages:
    31
    Yes it will, I have a mac and I use it for beamng! use Nvidia GeForce Now
    It runs up to 5 cars smoothly!
     
  13. steamgamingpc21

    steamgamingpc21
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2021
    Messages:
    0
    Plz don’t judge or be mean, but there’s this thing called ARM X64+X84 bit
    Guessing it’s some kind of emulator...
    I’m not the greatest at tech jus5 so everyone knows
    I’ve seen people talk about it, and apparently, u Can run windows 10 on it i think.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice