Cannot open bus .dds skins, is this normal?

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by krallopian, Jan 15, 2019.

1. krallopian

krallopian
    Expand Collapse
    NC114-85EKLS
    BeamNG Team

I have limited experience with .dds files, but 99% of them seem to open except I've run into photoshop not displaying the bus skins!

I have downloaded a modded bus skin to see how they did it, and they open fine. Basically, there's a billboard on the bus and I wanted to edit it. It isn't in the skins for the bus mod I downloaded, so I'm looking in the citybus.zip from the game to inspect a skin annnnnnnnnd yeah, the skins aren't displaying. Every other .dds is though - interior, engine, jato, etc...

I googled but after a few links found no answer.
    --- Post updated ---
    Doing some file searching, I opened up common.zip in the game's vehicles directory and FOUND......... adcarrier_ad_d.dds! Yay, now to just figure out how to apply specific ads to specific skins =D

But original question remains - why aren't the .dds displaying in photoshop, where every other .dds is. Some sort of 16bit vs 32bit thing or something?
    --- Post updated ---
    So it was just a quick test to make sure the bus wasn't looking for something. . different.

So I guess I've got it then, I just need to find the bus uv's map now =D

Again, still curious why I can't open the default bus skins though. I CAN open them, but photoshop doesn't render anything.

Attached Files:

• funBus.jpg
  2. Nadeox1

Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

Those files uses DXT5 BC3 compression.
    Many plugins are older than that, so they don't support them properly.

For Photoshop use the Intel Texture Tools, it is recent and has full support for those.

3. Ai'Torror

Ai'Torror
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG Team

There is also an addon for gimp which adds support for .dds files and different compression types including DXT5 BC3.

4. krallopian

krallopian
    Expand Collapse