1. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

Can't control plane elevator.

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by kobusstevens, Dec 20, 2015.

Tags:
  1. kobusstevens

    kobusstevens
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    In aircraft that use up/down keys for elevator the elevator does not work.
    I have a xbox 360 controller and a keyboard, neither of them work.
    I tried changing throttle to W&S but it didn't change anything.
    I can control cars with the controller and also with my keyboard.
    I have tried multiple aircraft.
    Even changing shifting mode or gears wil not let me change elevator.

    (update)
    only in 1 of the 3 planes, the Strato HMX920 the joystick of the plane does react to my elevator input but the elevator does not move nor does it effect if i go up or down, in the other planes; the Leduc and the Swift DS95 the joystick does not move and de elevator does not move either.

    Help would be appreciated.
     
    #1 kobusstevens, Dec 20, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2015
  2. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13,139
    This is related to the mods, not the game.
    Post that in the threads of those plane that are affected from this issue.
     
  3. kobusstevens

    kobusstevens
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    But i dont think this is related to the mods as it does not work in any of the mods.
     
  4. PrimeTheBomber

    PrimeTheBomber
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    356
    Steven, I'm gonna break it down for you. Every update does changes to the game's code. Depending on how the planes were programmed, that code may stop working after an update. You shouldn't be upset that most planes were broken by it, but happy because this update introduced a new era in plane controls, as you can now assign pretty much anything to any key or axis.
     
  5. kobusstevens

    kobusstevens
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    I know about the way updates usually break mods and it dont mind that at all.

    But the reason i am posting here is that it didn't work before the update, i think it didn't even work before update 0.4.3.2

    Thanks for explaining about the way i can map any key to any axis, i will try that now and report back if it works!
     
  6. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,026
    there was never any official support for elevator controls, the planes use hacks to achieve it, its down to the modders to update their work here not a game bug
     
  7. kobusstevens

    kobusstevens
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    but i haven't found other people with the same problem?
     
  8. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13,139
    I tried severed plane mods and they work fine (Strato, B25, etc)

    All those mods require you to change transmission to 'Manual'. You did that?
     
  9. kobusstevens

    kobusstevens
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    okay, i did what you said and it worked! thanks a lot man!
    the only plane that does not work right now is the Leduc, but i think that is because it hasn't been updated.

    thanks for helping!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice