Chassis Dyno? (New Prop)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Josh, May 11, 2016.

  1. Slammington

    Slammington
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,432
    Some people say glass half empty, some say glass half full. You'd say "glass is unnecessary and life is meaningless" :p
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. (GNG) [S.PLH] wearyNATE15

    (GNG) [S.PLH] wearyNATE15
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,147
    Nice bump..
    [EDIT] Just realized your first post. A bump is when you make a dead post rise to the top of the list.
     
  3. Josh

    Josh
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,099
    any further progress? @tdev
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Josh

    Josh
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,099
    So will the dyno see the light of day in 2017? :p

    @tdev
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  5. puddlejumper6999

    puddlejumper6999
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    gonna bump this because it seams a bit unfinished... but i feel a dyno would be worth it seems how when trying to dyno something you can have a stationary location to run on instead of trying to focus on keeping the car on its wheels and going as hard as possible. the dyno would allow users to focus on the numbers without the distraction. so here i ask... Is the dyno abandoned or still in the works?
     
  6. (GNG) [S.PLH] wearyNATE15

    (GNG) [S.PLH] wearyNATE15
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,147
    abandoned..
     
  7. Josh

    Josh
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,099
    I actually thought that they would have fixed the dyno “issues” before WCUSA was released as it would have fit the “Motorsport” theme.

    It’s been, months with no word on it.. so only the devs know what the plan is on this.

    @Goosah @Diamondback

    Any info?
     
  8. Diamondback

    Diamondback
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    987
    Nope, nothing new.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. puddlejumper6999

    puddlejumper6999
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    well thats a shame that it was abandoned. id love to have one ingame. i made a crude dyno using the hampsterwheel but its too janky to be used
     
  10. workclock1©

    workclock1©
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,861
    The closest thing we have to a dyno is the dyno app that we have
     
  11. puddlejumper6999

    puddlejumper6999
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    i tried replicating a dyno using the hampster wheel but that failed badly
     
  12. workclock1©

    workclock1©
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,861
    6000 horsepower hamster wheel

    Only for steroidic hamsters.
     
  13. CommandoAir

    CommandoAir
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    IIRC the devs said the dyno was on the backburner until they could figure out the inherent issues, but it wasn't a priority.
     
  14. rocksim

    rocksim
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    422
    There could be a trailer hitch that is just attached to the wall that can be adjusted for height as a way of restraining vehicles, even if not a realistic way of doing it, it would get the job done well.
     
  15. puddlejumper6999

    puddlejumper6999
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    the farm equipment mod with the front end loader has like 3 different sets of locking nodes. if they can make a set of lockables like that and tell it to create a beam from the start and end points then it will simulate tie downs like actual dynos. but it would have to have atleast 2 ropes per node like the RL would lock to the RL and RR nodes on the chassis while the FR would lock to the FR and FL and visa versa
    --- Post updated ---
    i dont know for sure if they are Different sets of locking nodes or just colored differently but it would be a good idea
     
  16. weallneedhelp

    weallneedhelp
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 26, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    where do you find it tho
     
  17. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2,975
    As thread got bumped, I can use the opportunity then...

    With that dyno app + automatic transmission + wind app, it is possible to do pretty much everything what you could do in a dyno.

    Of course it is not quite as cool, but for a modder possibility to do controlled engine testing is already important.

    In this post I explain it more thoroughly, but it is quite simple to do that testing setup:
    https://www.beamng.com/threads/turbo-torque-curve-helper-alpha-testers-needed.52512/#post-805211

    For a player that does not give probably a much, however as such method helps modder to get more accurate engine setup, player benefits from better quality of the mod.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Josh

    Josh
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,099
    Sometimes its hard to load up large turbo/high torque engines in the middle to high rpm rolling along making it hard to tune engines.

    Either there is not enough load to spool up the charger to bring up the power, the vehicle pushes through the brakes or the vehicle doesn't have enough traction.

    If we just had a rolling platform to hold the vehicle down, i'd be happy even if it didn't give any wheel HP readings.

    We had a rolling platform for RoR https://forum.rigsofrods.org/downloads.php?do=file&id=268 it worked perfectly fine for tuning engines.

    If we could get something like this, id be perfectly fine with it.
     
  19. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    2,975
    I know, that is why I brought up way to get that same dyno feature in BeamNG right now, you can load any rpm you wish as long as you want, here is example, my earlier post has a link with more info:


    Of course official version of that would be very useful, but until that realizes, we do have a way.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Josh

    Josh
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1,099
    Honestly, what is stopping us from making a "unofficial" "dyno"/ rolling platform? couldn't we just put a invisible wall in front so the vehcle doesn't move? If I remember right the RoR dyno used a huge N/B wheel and the vehicle wheel rolled against it. it also used ties and ropes to hold the vehicle down.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice