1. GPU Fatal Error? Intel HD Graphics 620/630 Crashes? Help us solve them!
    Dismiss Notice

Cities: Skylines

Discussion in 'Other Games' started by Mullethead, Apr 1, 2018.

  1. Cheekqo

    Cheekqo
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1,516
    Informative
     
  2. QUANTUM0

    QUANTUM0
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017
    Messages:
    434
    Junction improvement with QUANTUM0
    5A1C61C7-F65F-4EBD-B2AD-67DFAF56FF90.jpeg
    A8D77AEA-45FE-4C80-ABF4-B1053A58CA7D.jpeg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. SanderCarGuy

    SanderCarGuy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    596
    Screenshot_3.png just bought yesterday, spend around +/- 5 hours on this
     
    • Like Like x 3
  4. zestyfolfdude

    zestyfolfdude
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,315
    Sorry for the bump :p
    I need a suggestion from you guys-
    Should I get the Mass transit or Parklife DLC?
    Thanks!

    P.S. I'm making a city based on Philadelphia and Baltimore with TONS of mods. I'll post pics when i'm a bit farther along, becuse I just finished up laying down some of the highways.
     
  5. Mullethead

    Mullethead
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    4,579
    Well, if you want to have a more realistic gameplay, I'll say you should go try the Mass Transit DLC.
     
  6. zestyfolfdude

    zestyfolfdude
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,315
    Alright, thanks :)
     
  7. Mullethead

    Mullethead
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    4,579
    By the way, when I can finally get my game to be played with, I'll try doing a Mexican city or town.
     
  8. zestyfolfdude

    zestyfolfdude
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,315
    Definitely check out 220's bordertown series.
     
  9. Mullethead

    Mullethead
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    4,579
    Didn't do the Mexican town, but I might sometime this year or next year.

    I also took my first C:S picture in a long while.
     
  10. JonasTMT

    JonasTMT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    329
    I tried Cs without mods and making nice looking cities:
    255710_screenshots_20181120191035_1.jpg
    255710_screenshots_20181120191022_1.jpg
    255710_screenshots_20181114195143_1.jpg
    255710_screenshots_20181120191008_1.jpg
    And Snowfall:
    255710_screenshots_20181213184505_1.jpg
    Still working on it.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. 0atsmea1

    0atsmea1
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    251
    To save space I decided to uninstall cities skylines and remove all my mods since I have not used cities skylines for quite a time now, but I have made a collection which I will continue to add on to. It composes mostly of modern architecture, if anyone is interested have a look around it and you might find just the mod for you.
    sfdsf.jpg
    Link:
    I couldn't find a better picture, lol
     
    #191 0atsmea1, Dec 31, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2018
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. MisterKenneth

    MisterKenneth
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Messages:
    2,184
    Oh look, a new expansion's coming. Definitely looking forward to it. :D


    Also, I'm pretty excited that C:S is finally going to have school buses. I spotted this in the second Fluxtrance tutorial video. :D
    untitled.png

    C:S lacking school buses, at least ones that behave like school buses, always bothered me for some reason. o_O
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. STEVIE_G4M1NG_YT

    STEVIE_G4M1NG_YT
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    377
    Anyone know how I can fix my "very minor" traffic problems?
    20190514202254_1.jpg 20190514202304_1.jpg 20190514202315_1.jpg 20190514202323_1.jpg
     
  14. Captain. Adam

    Captain. Adam
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Messages:
    918
    ;), or use roundabouts everywhere
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Copunit12

    Copunit12
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    495
    upload_2019-5-21_1-14-16.png
    More or less this
    Also don't have your intersections in your screenshot like that ever. Make the onramp part of the offramp intersection.
    Roundabouts in skylines only work if they themselves don't get clogged. They can be worse off then a normal intersection by complete stoppage.
    Edit: A diamond interchange is another way that might work.
     
    #195 Copunit12, May 21, 2019
    Last edited: May 21, 2019
  16. Cool12345

    Cool12345
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 2, 2019
    Messages:
    89
    How you say makes me think it is pretty cool, but if I even get it, I don't even think it'll run because I play Beam and X-plane at absolute minimum graphics and I am still running the PC at it's limits.
     
  17. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,829
    I don't know, it is not necessarily very heavy game to run, it just is that game runs poorly on any hardware at least if zoomed in close.

    I got some 50fps when zoomed in close to very tiny town, i7-8086k @ 4.8Ghz with gtx 1080, but CPU is mostly resting, GPU is definitely resting, game just don't do very good job at using the hardware. That is maxed out graphics and 1080p, running lower graphics is not really changing much of anything for me, not sure how it runs with lower end hardware, but I would think it runs the same, there just is serious flaw in how game is coded and what I understood there are no plans to fix it.

    Zoomed out game runs better then, but performance difference between different hardware might just not exists in that game, with bigger cities it might run slow for everyone.

    There is option of vsync at half the refreshrate which actually might make sense on that game, 30fps might be just fine with and consistent fps is probably better than jumping between 40 and 60 for example.

    If you play by looking from far, game is quite light to run, CPU and GPU clocks drop down (See how beautiful bottleneck city I have crafted, not sure what traffic problems you talk about :D) :
    upload_2019-5-31_18-3-48.png

    But when you zoom in, that is where trouble starts, at least with maxed out graphics, game starts getting bit CPU heavy and bit GPU heavy, but still is not really using either fully and yet manages to drop below 60fps, it might be that there is no batching and issue is kind of similar to old BeamNG versions, but just more pronounced.
    upload_2019-5-31_18-8-23.png

    I find it bit ridiculous that fairly high end overclocked gaming rig struggles so badly in keeping 60fps, but that is how that game is, but don't worry about it too much, put half blank option on from vsync and it should run just fine with fairly low end computers, at least when zoomed out a bit.

    I get some 1100fps on loading screens with vsync off though.

    There is another thing to consider with this game though.

    Game crashes at times, for example I did build whole new district there, but it is not there anymore as game did crash and I had not saved it recently enough. I don't even have mods installed, but it crashes at times, only game that does that, so I think developers have been quite lazy with optimization and fixing issues, so I would get it only cheaply on sale, like 7 euros max.
    Considering how popular game is and how many DLC they have sold, such basic issues and flaws should of been fixed, imo. So while game is fun, do save often and know that it has some flaws from poor optimizations.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice