Collada static collisions issue

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by B25Mitch, Mar 4, 2014.

1. B25Mitch

B25Mitch
    Expand Collapse
    Vehicle Designer
    BeamNG Team

*EDIT* Main question solved, minor question at bottom of post.

Hi everyone,

I have a lot of experience in Blender but I'm a newbie to Collada. I'm following the https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJgTI-bGtQk Tutorial by Nadeox1, and it's mostly successful, but I can't get the game to recognize the custom collision mesh. Here's what I do.

1.) File set up for export, with Ramp LOD's 1 & 2, and low-detail collision mesh. My scene setup is identical to the tutorial's with the exception of an additional LOD mesh (which works as expected).

(imported from here)

2.) Collada export settings:

(imported from here)

3.) Import settings into BeamNG Drive:

(imported from here)

4.) Ramp looks fine, but the collision mesh is not working as expected. There is a collision object of some sort, but it's not the same size/shape as the collision mesh which I exported.

(imported from here)

If I could get a little help here, that would be great!

Oh, and while we're on the topic, could someone explain how the engine knows which mesh to use for collision? Is Colmesh-1 a special name recognized to be the collision mesh?

- - - Updated - - -

...Aaaaand I figured it out 10 minutes after posting this :/

Always remember to apply rotation and scale before exporting, even if you haven't rotated or scaled the object while making it.

(imported from here)

This had me stumped for hours; apologies for posting and then answering my own question. I'll keep it up in case anyone else finds it useful.

My second question still stands though: Is Colmesh-1 a special name which the engine recognizes as the collision mesh?

2. mike22

mike22
    Expand Collapse