1. Before reporting issues or bugs, please check the up-to-date Bug Reporting Thread for the current version.
    0.23 Bug Reporting thread
    Solutions and more information may already be available.

Core2Quad Series Performance Bug (With Proof!)

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting: Bugs, Questions and Support' started by ProffesorX, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. ProffesorX

    ProffesorX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    This is ment to provide proof of the Core2Quad performance issues ive been experiencing, averageing 20FPS when at random times i get bursts of 45-60FPS during different scenarios

    I have attached a screenshot during one of these high performance bursts, please note the FPS counter, and also note that while that is during vehicle damage and in mid air I HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN MANY TIMES ON MANY DIFFERENT ENVIROMENTS AND VEHICLES!

    The CPU Used was: Core2Quad Q8300 @ 2.5ghz

    I relize this is not much to go on but i thought it reasonable to post here, my apoligizes if im mistaken.

    PS: Sorry for the poor english, not working with my usual keyboard which is affecting my typing.
     

    Attached Files:

    • BeamNG 2015-08-12 18-54-23-47.jpg
  2. NistingurA

    NistingurA
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,060
    What Graphicscard do you have? without this I can´t help
     
  3. jammin2222

    jammin2222
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    387
    I guess you didn't like the answers you got in your original post you made 5 hours before this one.

    Basically your CPU isn't up to the job by the look of it.
    You can test this by pressing J to pause physics. If your FPS goes up when its paused, then your CPU cores are too slow to perform the required 2000 calculations per second per car.
    1 core is used per car, so each core needs enough balls to do that.
    Processor speeds are not the full story.
    A grossly simplified example would be 2 processors running at the same speed. One has 50 transistors, the other has 100 transistors. You give each processor 100 bits to process. The one with 100 transistors will do it twice as quick as the one with 50, even though they run at the same speed.

    In BeamNG terms your processor probably falls under the required calculations mark to get full 60fps under all driving conditions, but its not slow enough to not run the game either. The reason your fps shoots up for short periods is probably when the car is not colliding with much, like when you go over a small bump and get a bit of air. At those points in time, the amount of collision calculations will drop and fps will go up. When you land again, the impact causes a flood of collision data to swamp out the processor, and the FPS drops.

    A decent processor can handle this no problem, older ones just don't have the capacity. Overclocking the absolute crap out of it and it might help a bit, but unless you know what you are doing it will likely end with a sad face.

    So anyway, Press j to pause the physics and see if your FPS goes up. If so then your CPU is too weak. If you cant stand the jerky fluctuating frame rate, try limiting the fps in the settings to minimum fps you get. At least it will be steady and you can get used to driving with a consistent time frame.

    - - - Updated - - -

    He said in his original post in the other section here Core2Quad-Performance-Issues

     
    #3 jammin2222, Aug 13, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2015
  4. Dummiesman

    Dummiesman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,618
    BeamNG is pretty heavy on GPU, are you absolutely sure it's not your GPU?
     
  5. Zorin-Ind.

    Zorin-Ind.
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    287
    I used to play BeamNG on a Core2 Quad Q9550 @2.83 paired to a GTX 580. I got 60 fps in the older versions of BeamNG on gridmap with one car.
     
  6. ProffesorX

    ProffesorX
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Yes im 100 percent certain its not the GPU, i had a HW monitor open on my 2nd monitor and it never spiked past 50, and since the words PCI-E 1.1 bus are highlighted i assume people think its a bottleneck, so i tested it with other more demanding on the graphics card games (Metro Last Light Maxed @ 1080p for example) and it had no issues running at 45-60FPS using 100 percent of the CPU. And as the person above stated he got 60FPS on older versions but the game hasnt advanced THAT MUCH to command so much more power on Grid Map (i get the same FPS issues there)
     
  7. jammin2222

    jammin2222
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    387
    But did your FPS increase when you paused the physics? (press j)
    The answer to this will tell us if your processor is the bottleneck or not.
     
  8. Cira

    Cira
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    283
    Metro ... Last Light ... on a 750 Ti ... 1080p maxed ... 60 fps ... somehow i strongly doubt that.

    Why? http://www.computerbase.de/2015-07/.../4/#diagramm-metro-last-light-redux-1920-1080

    qPF0Fc7.jpg

    29 fps on average with a 4770K 4.4 Ghz CPU.

    I bet you're looking on an average-over-all-cores-graph when you check your CPU usage, 50% on a quad CPU would just mean 2 cores running at 100% while 2 other cores idle at 0%.

    After all it has been proven that BeamNG is heavily CPU dependent and your 6 year old 2.5 Ghz CPU just isn't up to the job anymore.
     
  9. andy8852

    andy8852
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    for me i have a fx-6300 6core @3.5ghz and a r9-270x 4gb but even when i hit j i still get around 25-40 fps
     
  10. cuytastic101

    cuytastic101
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Something tells me this guy is full of it. Your issue, original poster guy, is that your hardware is underpowered and grossly mismatched. You make some very interesting claims. 1) You're running a hard drive released before 2004. (you claim SATA 1.0) 11 years is quite the service life for a hard drive. 2) You are using a processor from 2008 (c2q 8200), in a motherboard from 2005-06 (pci-e 1.1). (Possibly an old p35 chipset?) 3) You have a low-end GPU (nVidia 750 series) that somehow pulls GTX980 frames in one of the most graphically demanding games available. ...sooomehow.

    You're expecting a bunch of near-decade-old hardware to keep up with a bleeding-edge game.

    Lower your settings, lower your expectations or upgrade your hardware.

    Problem solved.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice