Outdated Demolition Derby 1.5.11

Hit the other guys. Repeat until they stop driving around. Win.

  1. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,753
    is there any way you can send it to me? but I understand about that stuff being taken down from another game its copyright stuff
     
  2. VolticDragon

    VolticDragon
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Is anyone else having the issue where pausing causes the vehicle to get stuck in Neutral? I've had to step away a few times, and when I come back, it won't shift out of Neutral.
     
  3. crazikyle

    crazikyle
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    818
    Yeah, same here. Just had that in the random one.

    This was a fun setup. Both opponents were close enough to the propane to get blown out of the arena when it blew.
    BeamNG 2015-11-23 14-14-57-19.png

    This cannot end poorly.
    BeamNG 2015-11-23 16-40-38-32.png

    It did.
    BeamNG 2015-11-23 16-51-13-02.png

    Skills
    BeamNG 2015-11-23 16-57-21-63.png

    I love this new version! Thanks Dagalufh and Scepheo!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    I'll look into that. There's also an issue with restarting while the scenario text is still on screen that I can't seem to get fixed*, so I'll add it to the list.

    * the demo_derby_random.lua extension fails to unload, extensions.lua reports it as not having been loaded. Printing _G["demo_derby_random"] just before restarting yields the expected "table: 0xdeadbeef" response, however. If anyone (developers, maybe?) could shed some light on this, that'd be great.
     
  5. Vilespring

    Vilespring
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Honestly, I don't think that'd be a good idea. It's not very good anyways, the updates have broken parts of it. It can't accelerate while turning and the transmission is wrong.

    You'd be better off getting the BTR-80.
     
  6. RobertGracie

    RobertGracie
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3,753
    Do you have the link for that....
     
  7. Firepower

    Firepower
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    576
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Яeverse Bass

    Яeverse Bass
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    TL;DR: At the end of my post.

    I realise this is an older comment,
    however, I'm trying to accomplish the very same thing, in a package that contains curcuit, figure 8, as well as a multipoint crossing 'zig-zag' course for banger racing.

    I've made a special decalroad for the AI (on the custom map UKR which is perfect for it!), specifically following what would equal to a racing line, yet it seems the AI is way too slow and careful around corners. While a possible workaround is to give the player a heavily underpowered car, which I kind of did already, I'd like to enquire about some kind of manual override on target speed.

    The drivability is set to 1, I've even tried adjusting your very own 'race multiplier' to crazy amounts, but this doesn't seem to work either. I've noticed enlarging the width of the road seems to help in certain cases, but the side effects are obvious: The AI, when getting off the actual road, will still act as if it was on the road, often resulting in spectacular rollovers. Would increasing the 'targetzone', the thing that steers the AI, help?

    TL;DR: Is there a way to increase speed in a turn for the AI? Please help, almighty Scepheo!
     
  9. AwesomeRacer456

    AwesomeRacer456
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,354
    Do any of you guys hate that moment when you tried to wreck a vehicle, a bumper part sticks onto your car?
    screenshot_00001.png
     
    #69 AwesomeRacer456, Nov 25, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2016
    • Like Like x 3
  10. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Increasing the AI's aggression might help a bit, but there's not really a suitable option that I know of. This kind of problem is why my figure 8 scenario is taking so long, and why I haven't released a rally cross pack or something similar. Tweaking the Jump Derby track, jumps and AI took me more than a week, and that's a wide open road without too much that can go wrong.
     
  11. Яeverse Bass

    Яeverse Bass
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    181
    Thanks for the answer. I will try increasing till I hit the maximum amount of bits the lua code can handle.
     
  12. 0rangeGhost

    0rangeGhost
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Scepheo, can you make more bots for random derby? it would be nice to have 6 cars on arena. or may be you can tell how to add some cars into your scenaio?
    and is it possible to choose cars by random in freeroam?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Lukey_Reborn78 2

    Lukey_Reborn78 2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Can you make a few different arenas? like on grass ect ....
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. bbolden516

    bbolden516
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Ever since the latest 3 or so updates ar162bs cars don't seem to work which sucks cause the modded derby was my favorite, the vehicles will spawn but im pretty sure they are no longer compatible cause they don't move and the speedo tacho is all dorked up, any ways I sure hope theres a fix cause these are my favorite mods and scenarios.
     
  15. XManic1995

    XManic1995
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,784
    Broken can't move car. :(
    2016-01-30_00001.jpg
    NEED FIX UPDATE NOW! :mad::mad:
     
  16. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Scepheo updated Demolition Derby with a new update entry:

    Update 1.4.1

    Read the rest of this update entry...
    --- Post updated ---
    The "modded" version doesn't work anymore because AR162B's mods are outdated. That's not something I can fix, and you'll have to wait until he updates them. If he doesn't, the "modded" version will be removed.
     
  17. VolticDragon

    VolticDragon
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    This has been essentially my favorite mod since freemode AI derbies stopped being a thing. A bit ago, I did some playing around and managed to create a 6 car version of the random mod, with one additional car on each end. It was working fine until the new update came out. Since then, whenever I start the scenario, it places me inside of an AI controlled car, and the car I'm supposed to be in is left sitting. I've tried tabbing, even making it its own scenario, and it still has the same issue. The normal 4 car scenarios all work; it's only the one I made, and that was only after the update. Any suggestions?

    PS: I'm not sure what version I have of the AR cars, but they seem to be working completely fine for me. Only the offroad versions seem to be mildly broken, but even they're still drivable. They seem to be having the same issue as the Bajawk, to a point where they basically don't move in reverse.
     
    #77 VolticDragon, Mar 13, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2016
  18. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    This is the only thing I can think of, but did you name any of the AI cars scenario_playerX (X being a number)? I think that can affect the selection of the player car. Still, modifying the prefab to include two extra opponents and adding them to the .json should be a fairly quick edit.
     
  19. VolticDragon

    VolticDragon
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    No, I named them "opponent4" and "opponent5" in the prefab, and I changed the .json to match. The thing I'm most confused about it is how it was working perfectly fine before the update, but then the update came and the problems started. I even redownloaded the original zip incase I screwed something up, but I got the same result.

    I took a look in the AI's .lua file, and it said local player = nil. I'm not sure if this was this way to begin with, but I can guarantee I never touched it. I only changed opponent # and AI aggression.

    EDIT: I changed the position in the prefab, but even then it kept me in the same car. I then tried switching the opponent and player names. That seems to have done the trick.

    EDIT 2: Scratch that, it worked once. EDIT 2.5: It's working now, apparently my Sunburst is broken.
     
    #79 VolticDragon, Mar 13, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2016
  20. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    • Like Like x 3
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice