Development Screens (Each post contains a picture OR contributing post)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by LT. Smell My, Aug 5, 2013.

  1. l3andon 2

    l3andon 2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    ohhh, please be a nell car or legends coupe! I would love to race that around a short track!
     
  2. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    234
    Oh yes know I remember :) I quit flying years ago, that is on simulators by all means :)
     
  3. rottenfitzy

    rottenfitzy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Messages:
    634
    Same here lol
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Dummiesman

    Dummiesman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,252
    Redoing some of my previous crap work on the FS65 dash.
    upload_2019-5-22_12-57-51.png upload_2019-5-22_12-58-1.png
     
    • Like Like x 16
  5. JohnV

    JohnV
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Finally I have a computer that makes my life easier and I tried to see how it could perform in terrain creation, and it does pretty good! (i7 8750H, GTX 1070, 16GB RAM)

    Obviously it's a very first step, as I have only added the heightmap and a colormap just to see how it looks ingame, nothing fancy.

    Also, it's just a part of a bigger island I have been working on as I had said, so I am looking for ways to make it possible, maybe I would go for a cleverly poly-reduced mesh solution with different LODs, but I am not sure how it's going to work yet, and how much time this process is going to take...

    So, for the time being I am thinking of making parts of it as individual terrains and add roads, buildings and other props, apart from the vegetation of course.

    20190522190904_1.jpg
    20190522195122_1.jpg 20190522195219_1.jpg 20190522195309_1.jpg 20190522195645_1.jpg 20190522195337_1.jpg

    And some World Machine screenshots:

    3DView.png 3DView2.png
     
    • Like Like x 14
  6. Dummiesman

    Dummiesman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,252
    Huh. So I test fitted the transmission and engine into the Freightliner, and it was clipping the floor
    upload_2019-5-22_23-51-11.png

    Turns out it's in the right position, but IRL the floor is just bent around it
    upload_2019-5-22_23-51-36.png

    So now mine is too
    upload_2019-5-22_23-52-3.png
     
    • Like Like x 15
  7. Nicelittle

    Nicelittle
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    646
    when a refnode weighs 100 grams:
    veryspeed.png
     
    • Like Like x 6
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Re:Z_IA

    Re:Z_IA
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2017
    Messages:
    480
    2002 Kashira Flux Concept
    screenshot_2019-05-23_17-27-12.png screenshot_2019-05-23_17-30-37.png screenshot_2019-05-23_17-36-37.png screenshot_2019-05-23_17-37-55.png
     
    • Like Like x 39
    • Agree Agree x 2
  9. gdfastner

    gdfastner
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2019
    Messages:
    233
  10. Dummiesman

    Dummiesman
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4,252
    Did some adjustments to the Freightliner today
    upload_2019-5-23_21-44-28.png upload_2019-5-23_21-44-36.png
    You can see just how much its changed if you look at the curvature of the bumper, which is much more correct now

    It was also 4% too wide, and is now the proper 96in wide
     
    • Like Like x 18
  11. Godzilla!

    Godzilla!
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2,307
    bumper
    Screenshot15372.png
     
    • Like Like x 15
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,778
    Only one terrain can have collision so I guess you need to use groundmodel to static objects and use multiple static objects as a map instead of terrain.
    https://wiki.beamng.com/Groundmodel_on_static_objects

    That limits depth to something like 0.2meters at maximum I believe.

    also you would need to have different materials for each groundtype on your mesh, that is then easily murder in UV mapping.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. Dayz Me Rollin'

    Dayz Me Rollin'
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    upload_2019-5-24_13-57-44.png
    digidash 2 electric boogaloo, now featuring (slightly) less garbage design.

     
    • Like Like x 24
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. zestyfolfdude

    zestyfolfdude
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    2,175
    Very retro. I like it!
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  15. JohnV

    JohnV
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Thank you for the information. I know most of what you said except for the need for uv mapping. Can't I use rgb maps for detail texture distribution on a mesh? I thought I could... :eek:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. fufsgfen

    fufsgfen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Messages:
    6,778
    Does that make different material name? MapTo in groundmodel points to material name in Blender, so you need to have different material names for each ground type, sand and grass etc. It does not matter how material looks, but you need to be able to point specific material with MapTo or it probably will not work.

    I don't know easy way to do that, not sure if rgb maps would work as I have not used such, but if there is easier way than UV mapping that works, I want to know about it as UV mapping way is just bit too much work :D
     
  17. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    234
    • Like Like x 15
  18. Dayz Me Rollin'

    Dayz Me Rollin'
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. NOCARGO

    NOCARGO
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    234
    HAHAA !!! FINALLY someone got it !! Everything works accurately to the bone. :)
     
    • Like Like x 4
  20. Dayz Me Rollin'

    Dayz Me Rollin'
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Only thing it's missing is the variable height on the tachometer when you give it throttle :p but at that point it's just nitpicking
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice