WIP Beta released ETK800 Hybrid 7.1.0

Full hybrid versions of the ETK800 hatchback car

  1. ItsTheLittleAcura!

    ItsTheLittleAcura!
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    106
    @Arcanox ever thought about this? Maybe a simulated belt alternator/starter or integrated starter/generator setup like what they're doing in Europe?
     
  2. Xupaun

    Xupaun
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    285
    If you mean Hybrids with only one electric Motor between the ICE and transmission, maybe adding the electric motor torque on the ICE torque curve will emulate the behaviour of an Hyrid like that on "Power Mode". But an EV mode or a "Charge" mode is beyond my capabilities on JBEAM.
     
  3. Arcanox

    Arcanox
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    251
    The "CVT portion" is the hybrid code. A hybrid "eCVT" transmission contains everything required for the hybrid system except the battery and engine, you can't somehow have a hybrid system without the CVT because you'd be left with just an engine.
    --- Post updated ---
    Those are definitely possible in BeamNG, but they would share essentially nothing in common with the hybrid system I wrote...it would be an entirely separate design and implementation simply due to the nature of how my system (and the real-world hybrid systems it's modeled after) work.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. J Λ L Ξ N Gaming

    J Λ L Ξ N Gaming
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    I clicked "E" and "Shift+E" but nothing happened it dont start EV mode or anything
     
  5. TeslaGuy

    TeslaGuy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    You should make a special ESC for the front-wheel-driven hybrids to prevent wheelspin.
     
  6. coreyowenstannard

    coreyowenstannard
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    I clicked "E" and "Shift+E" but nothing happened it didn't start EV mode or anything. Any help?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. henrikanilsen

    henrikanilsen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    I was tinkering around of my own trying to solve a small issue.
    When using Arcade gearbox, you're unable to reverse. The car will just sit there unable to move. This also happens when AI is driving the car since it uses Arcade gearbox too.

    When driving forward in Arcade gearbox, the throttle and brake inputs are both fed into the throttle/brake inputs of the car. But when driving backwards the inputs into the car are swapped. I discovered that the hybridArcanox script is using the throttle/brake inputs from the controller, rather than what the car sees. Simply changing input.throttle to electrics.values.throttle and input.brake with electrics.values.brake fixed it.

    I also changed it so the EV indicator is only on when the you have actually turned on EV mode, rather than when the engine is off. You don't need an indicator that shows you the engine is off - the rev counter already shows that. With the indicator you'll see that the engine is off because you switched it into EV mode, so it makes more sense that way.
    Code:
    Line 1005
    if not M.powerOn or engineDemand.isDemanded or engineState.timeSinceCanShutOff < 1 then
    Replaced with
    if electrics.values.evMode == 0 then
    
    If you're interested, send me a PM and I'll send you the updated script.
     
  8. Arcanox

    Arcanox
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    251
    The "EV" indicator (the one shaped like a car) is designed like the one on real Toyota hybrids, which indicates whether or not the engine is on, regardless of other modes. The way it works in the mod is the way it would work on a Prius, RAV4, or any other Toyota hybrid (including the plug-in hybrids).

    With regards to Arcade mode, it's not officially supported; the way the driver input works in Arcade mode makes it very challenging to handle some of the logic, so I don't officially support it at all. I have successfully completed drag races against AI-driven hybrids on the West Coast map because they don't need to reverse, but at the moment, reversing won't work. The hybrids are really only meant to be driven in "Realistic" mode.
     
  9. default0.0player

    default0.0player
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,125
    Where can I find the torque/power/RPM rating of the rear motor, no rating about rear motor in the etk800_hybrid_differential.jbeam, and etk_transmission_hybrid.jbeam only has MG1 and MG2 in the front motors.
     
  10. very epic 69

    very epic 69
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2020
    Messages:
    110
    the car doesnt really drive that nice. it constantly spins the tires... especially in the race config.
     
  11. F/Slick

    F/Slick
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2021
    Messages:
    10
    I've realised I had the same problem, aggravated by the fact that all that instant torque was going to the front wheels as I am not using the E-Four system (since the beginning, I had put the Performance transmission&battery into the 854eh, with no rear differential). I have now kept only the Performance transmission and chosen the Eco battery option within it.

    An alternative solution you may want to try is to lower the initial battery charge (under Vehicle Config >>> Tuning). If you bring it down to zero, then your cold tires won't spin... but you will have to wait until the battery is charged before all the power is again available.

    Needless to say, you can also make the move to race tires. I have ended doing that because just getting rid of the rear seats (as suggested by one of those tips while you wait for the terrain to spawn) altered the brake balance so badly that, even if I stuck to the most basic discs and pads at the rear, I had no choice but to put the larger ttSport discs as well as full-race pads at the front.
     
    #291 F/Slick, Apr 30, 2021
    Last edited: May 1, 2021
  12. Arcanox

    Arcanox
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    251
    If you're flooring it from a stop with cold tires, of course they're going to spin. That would happen in real life as well; when you have such an insane amount of torque available, it's quite easy to break traction if you just floor it. Same thing happened with my real-life Volt when I had it; I could never floor it from a stop without the front tires spinning out.
    --- Post updated ---
    The motor device itself is defined in etk800_hybrid_differential.jbeam in the "etk_electric_differential_R" device:

    Code:
        "powertrain" : [
            ["type", "name", "inputName", "inputIndex"],
            ["arcanoxElectricMotor", "rearMotor", "dummy", 1],
            ["differential", "differential_R", "rearMotor", 1, {"diffType":"open", "gearRatio": 3.476, "friction":8, "uiName":"Rear Differential","defaultVirtualInertia":0.25}]
        ],
    
    The Eco and Sport transmission configurations use the default ratings for the device (which are set in the arcanoxElectricMotor.lua script file), but the Performance one defines different ratings in etk800_transmission_hybrid.jbeam under the "etk_transmission_hybrid_perf" device:

    Code:
        "rearMotor": {
            "torqueRating": 600,
            "powerRating": 120,
            "enableDebug": true,
        },
    
    "torqueRating" is in Newton-meters and "powerRating" is in kilowatts.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. esesel

    esesel
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    445
    but shouldnt the traction control kick in?
     
  14. Arcanox

    Arcanox
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    251
    Yes, but it can only do so much. Even in my Volt, it wouldn't keep the tires from spinning, it would only reduce the throttle output once they gained traction for a couple seconds. The BeamNG traction control doesn't seem to work very well with electric motors, but it's all I have to work with.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. default0.0player

    default0.0player
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    1,125
    Hey, looks like I found the culprit. In your code there are two types of rating, the motor(hardware) rating and the controller(software) rating, the hardware is the maximum power physically possible, and the software are, well, software limitation that is lower than hardware rating to prevent unsmoothness when hitting the hardware limitation.
    Code:
        "rearMotor": {
            "torqueRating": 600,
            "powerRating": 120,
            "enableDebug": true,
        },
    Code:
            "maxOutputTorqueVsSpeed": [
                ["speed", "maxOutputTorque"],
                [0, 20604],
                [35, 18180],
                [55, 9090],
                [70, 0],
            ],
            "maxReverseOutputTorqueVsSpeed": [
                ["speed", "maxOutputTorque"],
                [4, 15756],
                [15, 0],
            ],
            "maxChargePowerVsSpeed": [
                ["speed", "maxChargePower"],
                [0, 15],
                [15, 40],
                [50, 60],
            ],
    The problem is, when the rated torque/power/speed is reached, the controller reduces throttle globally. That's the reason why the Sport Hybrid ETK cannot pass the front wheel on rollers rear wheel on the ground test since the rear motor is weaker than front ICE/motor. Please make the faster motor reduce power before slower motor to balance out wheel slip.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Arcanox

    Arcanox
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    251
    The output torque is measured at the wheels whereas the torque rating of the motors is measured at the motor's axle before any gear reduction. The front/rear axles have different gear ratios, so the motor torque has a different coefficient relative to the wheel torque for each axle. The system determines the best "front/rear torque split" (based on wheel torque, not motor torque) and determines the appropriate torque for the rear motor and front transaxle depending on the circumstances. The issue is just that the BeamNG traction control is really bad at controlling anything other than an internal combustion engine connected to a traditional transfer case and driveshaft.
     
  17. m.callihan

    m.callihan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Hey. I just started using this mod recently and have been enjoying it. One thing I've found when tinkering with the ICE and power is that no matter what I do, I can't get the RPMs to go above 4000-4500 RPM. I wanted to try and get the revs a little higher, as the engine setup I'm playing with has max power around 6000-6500 RPM. I have a Ford Escape hybrid in real life, and it revs much higher. Although, I've never owned a Toyota hybrid, so maybe the Ford setup is weird.
    Thanks!
     
  18. Arcanox

    Arcanox
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Messages:
    251
    It's been a while since I actually looked at my code for the engine RPM, but one thing to note is that by default, the hybrid system will calculate the lowest RPM possible to achieve a certain "flywheel torque" from the engine. If the torque curve starts to curve downwards again at lower than 6000 RPM, it will typically never choose an RPM that high because there will always be a lower RPM where the engine will produce the same amount of torque that it can at 6000 RPM. There are some exceptions to this, but again, it's been a while since I actually touched any of that code, so I would have to go read through it again to recall what those exceptions are.
     
  19. m.callihan

    m.callihan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for the reply!
    Yeah, I've looked through the code somewhat, not a lot though. I feel like i've tried everything I know though. I have made ridiculous torque curves where the torque is like nothing until 6000, and that does make it rev slightly higher, but not to 6000.
     
  20. jordywing1234

    jordywing1234
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    The hybrid dashboard is not working anymore, nor is the UI app.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice