1. Intel iGPU (6xx series) crashes
    Fixed drivers available!
    Instructions here

    Dismiss Notice

General computer talk/advice

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by BlueScreen, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. skodakenner

    skodakenner
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,568
    Nice I got a old atari 2600 but unfortunatly no way to hock it up :(
     
  2. Arne Hurnik

    Arne Hurnik
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    961
    What do you mean? Software, peripherals?
     
  3. Eastham

    Eastham
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    463
    I got a old Packard Bell Pentium 3 PC once, the dust was dark orange borderline brown, I striped it right down and literally bathed it in my shower, motherboard and all.
     
  4. mumboking

    mumboking
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,416
    I have a light sixer Atari 2600 with box. Unfortunately, the box has no internal packing and the console doesn't work properly. :(
    Beep: My 2600 stuff.
     
  5. randomshortguy

    randomshortguy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,593
    Finally unbuggered my CPU cooler. I hate the intel push-pin coolers, one of the pins popped out just enough to let a core fly past 70 degrees on boot.

    Otherwise, to anyone thinking mItx, get the Node 202. It's excellent, I have no major issues with the case and it's nearly the exact same dimensions (and in appearance) as the original PS3.
     
  6. Arne Hurnik

    Arne Hurnik
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    961
    Asked my dad. The room that is now my room was full of PCs before that. He told me that those were systems with 80-series CPUs. One one them even a dual-CPU system.
    We still have three old Ataris under my grandpa's roof. One of them is a 1400, if I've understood that correctly. And if you ask where the PCs went so I could go there: They're niw all in computer heaven, where they have electricity and software all along and everything's happy.
     
  7. DWPro

    DWPro
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    >that moment when your laptop actually has a faster cpu than your desktop but it cant replace it
     
  8. VeyronEB

    VeyronEB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,610
    This is clearly the way to go.

     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Narwhal

    Narwhal
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,714
    i may just have to do that soon. i have a really nice laptop, but the screen stopped working(its not the lcd, already checked that). now to find a good case for it.
     
  10. VeyronEB

    VeyronEB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,610
    Probably not a bad idea, it would take a lot of drilling and hacking to make it fit but I imagine the thermals would be pretty amazing. Then you can cable tie a 212 evo to the CPU :p
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. TheAdmiester

    TheAdmiester
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    552
    So I'm partially doing the unthinkable and buying a prebuilt barebones PC.

    Sounds shocking but there are a few compelling reasons:

    - I need mostly new parts if I want to upgrade my CPU (CPU needs newer mobo, newer mobo needs DDR4 memory, newer mobos in my form factor are rare so I want a bigger case, etc...)
    - It's actually £40 cheaper than ordering the exact same parts myself (and the more expensive option has a non-K CPU whereas the prebuild does)
    - As much as I like messing with hardware, saving time on wiring and CPU coolers is always nice.
    - All I need to fiddle with is transferring my GPU and existing drives to the GPU-less, drive-less prebuilt.
    - It's warrantied so I'm not responsible for every individual part, I can easily complain with "halp it broken" if it's DOA.

    So, TL;DR: I could build a PC myself for a certain price or have it taken care of with a slightly better CPU for £40 less. No-brainer, right?

    And since we all love to show off, once it's all done the specs will be:

    CPU: i7 6700k 4GHz
    CPU Cooler: Arctic Freezer 7 Pro
    GPU: ZOTAC GTX 980Ti AMP
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI
    Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance (DDR4, 3000MHz)
    PSU: Corsair RM750X
    Case: Corsair Carbide 200R

    Storage will be 3TB total, consisting of a 2TB mechanical, 500GB mechanical, a 250GB SSD and a 256GB M.2.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. logoster

    logoster
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2,086
    HEY GUYS, i found linus from LinusTechTips
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,021
    cable tie another to the gpu if present too
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. BlueScreen

    BlueScreen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    624
    No, Linus would use a T4 and call it a 212 Evo
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Narwhal

    Narwhal
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,714
    i did that to an 8400gs. i dont think i did it right though, as temps got higher :rolleyes:
     
  16. VeyronEB

    VeyronEB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,610
    While on the topic of laptops mine wont boot. Which means it is currently wrapped in a blanket trying to get enough heat up to get the solder to expand to allow it to make connection and boot. This is one of the most common "fixes" for this issue. Thank god I got it off ebay for £30, I'd feel bad for anyone who bought one new. I've already tried 3 different bios versions, reseating....pretty much everything, new paste on gpu and cpu, removing the CMOS battery, hard resetting, running on ext displays and not a thing fixed it. This is somewhat my last resort before it goes up on ebay as a parts turd.

    Seems to be all across the range too, pretty much from the lowest models to highest and on both intel and amd systems. You probably want to avoid these laptops if you can.

    Video I found with the exact same issue as me



    Edit: It works! I'll just leave it on 24/7 now and see how long it lives :p
     
    #3476 VeyronEB, Feb 13, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2016
  17. Cwazywazy

    Cwazywazy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,247
    The towel method is dumb. Pull the board out and stick it in the oven for ~8 minutes at 385f. (A toaster oven will work too. Ask how I know.)
     
  18. VeyronEB

    VeyronEB
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,610
    Yeah I know it is, I've just been lazy and its the easiest way to get around it for now. I'll throw it in next time I feel like taking it apart. Which will probably be the next few days when it won't turn on...
     
  19. Cwazywazy

    Cwazywazy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,247
    If it's just the GPU or something you could use a butane torch lighter thing. I've used one to reflow a laptop GPU, it's better than reflowing the entire motherboard.
     
  20. Arne Hurnik

    Arne Hurnik
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    961
    Quoting Linus himself from a random video: "For the cooling, I got a 204 Evo here. It's not a 212 Evo, because... Yeehhh... I don't know yet..."
    That was the moment when I started to laugh at him. I think he's a nice source for some things, but you should always listen to a second person too. E.g., in his video about the GT730 he compared it to the internal GPU of a Skylake... I don't think he knows what an Athlon is.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice