General computer talk/advice

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by BlueScreen, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. ManfredE3

    ManfredE3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    2,246
    Alright, so scratch the SSD for something I'll decide at a later point and scratch the keyboard for something that's attractive beyond the pretty lights. Find a B450 motherboard with native Ryzen 3000 support and go for an RX5700 GPU; don't bother with upgrading to the X variant of either of those.

    In terms of performance, what should I be expecting? Not looking for a super computer here, I just would like to know what to expect before making the commitment.
     
  2. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,676
    Play anything at 1080p with details turned up pretty high
     
  3. skodakenner

    skodakenner
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,530
    So recently i bought Battlefield 1 and surprisingly my graphics card wasnt the bottleneck it was my cpu is that normal in battlefields or did i just do something wrong.
     
  4. Codeslamer

    Codeslamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    195
    I haven't played it before, but seems so, since your CPU only meets the minimum requirements of the game, whereas your GPU passes even the recommended
     
  5. vmlinuz

    vmlinuz
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,637
    Welp, I finally got a 'Zen 3900X. Time to break it in, the right way, with Minecraft: Java Edition to get an idea of how well it runs JVM applications on Linux. Very important enterprise software performance testing. Also it should be great to road test the gaga bubu once that's done.

    UPDATE: Experience installing the AM4 Wraith cooler: no bueno. It has this lever that feels like it is going to break when you flip it, which must be done to secure the hooks. IT WILL NOT BREAK. Give it your all, and if you must, temporarily loosen the retention hook screws on the board. This was the scariest part of installing it, but you can get through it with a little confidence and brute force.

    Air cooled gang: if it worked for Volkswagen it'll work for you.

    UPDATE 2: Also make sure to connect your cooler to CPU FAN and not CHA1 FAN or you will get a fan error. Nothing serious, but be careful.

    UPDATE 3: After many hours of wrangling UEFI garbage, not to mention a potential hard drive failure (will investigate later), I finally got it to boot Linux from HDD!

    I should say, the UEFI is not garbage, it has lots of wacky config options, some of which could probably be pretty fun to mess with.

    FINAL UPDATE: Minecraft Java Edition works. 500 FPS and almost instant chunk loading.
     
    #8665 vmlinuz, Aug 4, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2019
  6. Joeyfuller2000

    Joeyfuller2000
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,228
    I got this 2013 21.5" iMac for $20 from a guy who said it didn't power on. Turns out it just needs a new LCD cable and a replacement hard drive.
    IMG_0134.jpg
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    503
    Yup, and that's going to be 8 hours of work and the need for new adhesives and special tools. They're nothing like my 20" iMac, and a far cry from the original iMac G3 (that I also own) in terms of serviceability.

    Jobs is rolling in his grave. Thank God Jony Ive has left, now maybe Apple will fucking make good products again and not the absolute, crisp, organic fuckness they've been making since 2012. Tim Cook is the next to be outed. He's just as much if not more of the problem. He never reeled in Ive's designs. Jobs would look at a Jony Ive concept, then change it so that it, you know, WORKED. Cook looks at it, then immediately puts it into production. What do we get out of that? A glorified tablet (12" MacBook), a trash can (2014 Mac Pro), a cheese grater (2019 Mac Pro), a laptop that can't cool itself (2016+ MacBook Pro), forgotten AIO's (iMac), a half-assed update (2019 MacBook Air), and a keyboard that's defeated by a spec of dust. It's fucking hopeless.

    Fuck that god damn turbo tuberculosis meatball moldy bowl of old potato salad, that cunt puddle of an iMac is fucking un-serviceable.
     
  8. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,029
    There is no glue in the iMac, the screen glass is actually removable by design
     
  9. aljowen

    aljowen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,676
    Looks like Google Images has a new layout? (It could be experimental, but I quite like it compared to the old one)
    upload_2019-8-6_15-46-40.png
     
  10. redrobin

    redrobin
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    503
    There's double sided tape acting as an adhesive to help hold the screen on. A little pizza cutter style device is required to bypass the tape in order to take the screen out.

    Source: I work with Apple Certified technicians. I've taken the glass off of an iMac myself. Watch or read any guide, including documents supplied by Apple themselves, and they all say the same thing.
     
  11. Joeyfuller2000

    Joeyfuller2000
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,228
    Right now the screen is being held on with packing tape. I will probably get more adhesive strips eventually. It's definitely harder to take apart than my 2009 24" iMac
    As for what you said before, I feel like Apple was innovating more when Jobs was around. They had the iMac, then the iPhone, then the iPad. It all went downhill after he passed away. Now it's just a continuous stream of incremental updates to the same products, and they aren't very good updates. The new iPhones have absolutely ridiculous ways you have to navigate the OS.
    Oh and they absolutely screw you over in terms of upgradeability. Want to upgrade that 8GB ram to 16GB in your MacBook Pro? Guess what, it's soldered to the board so I guess you're screwed.
    oh and that thing where they said that 32GB ram consumes too much power is absolutely false.
     
    #8671 Joeyfuller2000, Aug 6, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2019
  12. ManfredE3

    ManfredE3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    2,246
    Computer is built, bar two missing wires. Ryzen 7 2700X and Nvidia GTX 1660 Ti (got them both at deep sale price from a local store), 16Gb ram, 1Tb Samsung SSD, many fans and fancy LEDs and a nice case with a glass side, nice Razer keyboard that I really like (with the LEDs I wanted), new gaming mouse (a simple one) and 24" monitor (which feels way too big now that it's on my small desk).

    Not much point in a pic, haven't turned it on yet due to the two missing wires and the glass is tinted so dark that it may as well be a generic black box right now.

    One of my friends helped me out a ton, it was a fun build. Well, more of I played my guitar and watched him build it.

    Had a headset already, plan on getting a racing wheel next week.

    For anyone wondering why the different choice of, well, everything... I needed that 8 core CPU, one for each tentacle in Octodad. /s
    Ended up getting parts at local store instead of online, they had other stuff on sale prices.
     
    #8672 ManfredE3, Aug 7, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2019
  13. Michaelflat

    Michaelflat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Close to throwing my pc out the window honestly.. spent like an hour trying to get it to boot.. removing the HD audio connector solved the problem, yet i plugged it back in and its fine..

    on beamNG i just run out of vram quite easily, 2gb is just not enough for italy.. but i really don't want to spend any more money on the system, just want something fast and something radeon.. something that is a decent upgrade to my GTX960, i'll see how Navi goes, but i did think ahead with my psu considering we all know radeons are warm blooded.

    but it's not just my GPU its also my CPU, i can easily max it out all day long on BeamNG sometimes, and also with Cities skylines.. i'd love to get AMD Ryzen as well, but damn costs starting to mount need to get ddr4 ram also new mobo new gpu new cpu wow!

    My PC better keep itself together for a little longer, even if the sidepanel is literally held on with tape. :p
     
  14. Codeslamer

    Codeslamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    195
    I haven't had any issues running Italy on my computer, though, I couldn't tell you what graphics settings I use, I forget >< (Oh, I have a 960 2GB too, lol)
     
  15. RE4PER202

    RE4PER202
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    is an rtx 2070 and a risen 3800X enough to run highest details 60+ FPS
     
  16. Svpracer

    Svpracer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    219
    Nice, I saw a lot of those repairs come through at my old job. I recommend removing all the old adhesive and either reapplying from an iFixit kit or just getting some 3M double sided tape...
     
  17. ThatGamer164

    ThatGamer164
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    So, today I successfully upgraded my system from my old AMD FX-6350 and Gigabyte 78LMT-USB3 to a AMD Ryzen 2600 and MSI B450 Gaming Plus with 16gb of HyperX Fury 2666mhz memory. It went very smoothly and I am so happy to have a fast system again. But, I couldn't help but notice that the RAM shows up as to be 1333mhz in Windows Task Manager, which is half of what it is in the UEFI. I've played around with the RAM settings and the A-XMP and all of those things, even trying to manually set the memory clocks, voltage and timings. And it still shows as 1333mhz within the OS. It is a little bit worrying, I know that these Ryzen CPUs are benefited by fast ram- But I have no idea whether it is a problem to me as the UEFI settings are correct.
    upload_2019-8-16_18-46-49.png
     
  18. ManfredE3

    ManfredE3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    2,246
    Won't be home until the middle of the week to start my computer for the first time and play BeamNG, but I have a question. My CPU has 8 cores/16 threads and I have 16gb ram, so am I going to be able to spawn a silly amount of traffic?
     
  19. ThatGamer164

    ThatGamer164
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Which CPU to be more precise?
     
  20. ManfredE3

    ManfredE3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    2,246
    Ryzen 7 2700x
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice