General computer talk/advice

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by BlueScreen, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. ThatGamer164

    ThatGamer164
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Well I have a Ryzen 5 2600 and it runs very nicely with the AI so I would expect your experience to be even better.
     
  2. RE4PER202

    RE4PER202
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Messages:
    11
  3. ManfredE3

    ManfredE3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    2,246
    image.jpg
    It's alive! Light strip, Logitech mouse, and Razer Keyboard all have controlable lighting, plus I have a lava lamp on the desk. Hopefully before the end of the month I'll have a G29 in hand too.

    I am in love with this Razer keyboard's lighting effects... And it is really comfortable. Glad I put the money into a nice keyboard.

    My laptop got 30FPS on lowest settings in Beam, I honestly laughed when I saw how good the FPS was with all graphics settings maxed with this set up.
     
    #8683 ManfredE3, Aug 21, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2019
    • Like Like x 3
  4. Joeyfuller2000

    Joeyfuller2000
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,228
    I hate Windows 10. This has been my week in hell trying to get it on this customer's PC at work.
    IMG_0122.jpg
     
  5. ManfredE3

    ManfredE3
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    2,246
    Just got my g29 in the mail. Lots of wires on my tiny desk now. The shifter needs a book to clamp onto the keyboard slider being that the top of my desk is so thin. If you give a mouse a cookie...

    Playing Beam on a wheel for the first time makes me feel like I'm 16 and learning to drive all over again. I did not miss those days, but I'm sure once I'm use to this it'll be great. I can do alright in first person, but third person plus a wheel... Nope.
     
    #8685 ManfredE3, Sep 3, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2019
  6. C747

    C747
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    258
    What's the best GPU to couple to a Pentium G2020?
     
  7. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,029
    Just about anything modern will not pair very nicely.
    I literally had a g2020 equivalent to hand over the weekend while doing some work for someone else, paired with a 1050Ti, still couldn't run anything.
     
  8. C747

    C747
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    258
    Guess I'll be using this piece of crap...

    And the CPU is most of the time running 195°F/90°C....
    Oh wait, I can't even afford a GTX 780 Ti. FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU...
     
  9. PriusRepellent

    PriusRepellent
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2018
    Messages:
    270
    Current CPU: Intel Core i7 4790k
    Current RAM: 16 GB of dual-channel DDR3 (1866 MHz, Intel XMP enabled)

    Upgrade CPU: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X (16-core, 32-thread)
    Upgrade RAM: 64 GB of quad-channel DDR4 3200 MHz

    I am looking forward to trying some RAM disks with this monster of a CPU when I order the parts and get it setup. Finding a compatible AIO liquid cooler that fits TR4 was a pain but I managed to find one that will fit my case quite nicely (240mm).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. C747

    C747
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    258
    That's an amazing upgrade! Hope it goes all well
     
  11. C747

    C747
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    258
    I want a little clarification regarding Intel's best CPUs: The 9900K is the best for gaming and the 9980XE a jack-of-all-trades?
     
  12. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,029
    9900k is overkill for gaming, and if you restrict it to Intel's advertised tdp rather than the figure they actually set it to, beaten by loads of other stuff, including other intel products like the 8700K and also the Ryzen 2700X, plus a few 3000 series parts

    9980xe, that's for workstations, not meant for bein a jack of all trades, it's needed for the tiny handful of people that need a massively multithreaded workload.
    --- Post updated ---
    The 9900K situation is great. They advertise it as 95W. Except the microcode file they shipped all vendors, people have reverse engineered, they set it to target 125W. As a result, some.motherboards that show the raw tdp figure will even display 125W, and most allow tweaks and such, set it to 95W manually. It can't boost properly. The 9700 and 9800 are also impacted by this though with a 110W setting. Intel loves to say their chip is better than the AMD 2700X, and maybe they're right, but fact is when you set the 9900K to its advertised 95W, the 2700X is faster.
    Also means you need a beefier than advertised cooling solution.
    Though both are null points, these are high end K/X parts, probably already using high end coolers, disabling power limits, driving clock speeds higher than stock
     
  13. C747

    C747
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    258
    All "Extreme" series chips (the ones with the X/XE in the end) are for workstations then (or just the behemoth the 9980XE is?)
    And, are the newer Ryzen proccesors better than the 9900K (talking especifically about the 3950X)?
     
  14. SixSixSevenSeven

    SixSixSevenSeven
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7,029
    even the 3900X can be better than the 9900K, though ultimately the 9900K issue is pretty non important due to how its a K series part so most people probably are using beefy cooling and wont care that its actually a 125W CPU not 95

    XE isnt for mainstream, its for workstations, the entire X/XE line is for workstations.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. Joeyfuller2000

    Joeyfuller2000
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,228
    This computer hasn’t been used in 3 years. Remember this crap?
    BDF1709B-7FC6-49DF-A9F4-86BB69FB6FBF.jpeg 523C1AA9-3C08-4EED-94C4-2934C20FFC31.jpeg 3F867279-3C33-4E73-A553-4BEF367F0F6A.jpeg
     

    Attached Files:

    • 8812F32E-8121-4AB6-A46B-52668A839D33.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  16. WhistlerXPWhistler7

    WhistlerXPWhistler7
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2017
    Messages:
    571
  17. C747

    C747
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    258
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Codeslamer

    Codeslamer
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    195
    I'm pretty sure that if you were to update using it, you'll still end up getting it activated for free
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. C747

    C747
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    258
    It was. I remember my (shitty) laptop that ran 8.1 got 10 for free
     
  20. christian kuhr

    christian kuhr
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    i have a i7 8700 and no GPU Yet but was playing and now after every car crash the says GPU unresponsive but was working fine without one before all this crashing of the game
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice