WIP Beta released Graphics Mod AL - Fancy stuff instructions 20220818 for 0.25

Discussion in 'Mods and Skins' started by Brother_Dave, Jun 16, 2020.

  1. zachariah.74

    zachariah.74
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2022
    Messages:
    305
    Sort of unrelated, but why do you have all your old game folders still?
     
  2. Brother_Dave

    Brother_Dave
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,601
    It might be right, my tonemap is a ACES one by Thomas Lottes and the new tonemap (its been in there but unused) for BeamNG is a ACES one by Stephen Hill. I just tested one thing and it seems the new tonemap for Beam is in use but hasnt been mentioned in the info. IMO its a really big thing, more or less THE biggest thing with this release. The difference between the one i used and the Beamng one shouldnt even be noticable since they both are ACES tonemaps.
    That being said, it seems like the tonemap will now be removed from my mod, finally :) I might makwe changes to the maps and some other stuff (like incooperate the SAO mod) but my guess is that Vulkan works good enough for them to release the othe gfx updates in 0.26. I hope atleast but im currently getting 5 fps with Vulkan, 11 fps with Vulkan Safe Mode.
     
  3. cheems_samurai

    cheems_samurai
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Messages:
    147
    It might just be me because BeamNG still looks pretty much the same as it did in 0.24 apart from better PBR textures, glare and such. I still would love if you continued your mod because 'stock' BeamNG is still a little bland, but that's just me. The sky still looks a little gray, so does the lighting too. Your mod brings out the crispness and flavor.
     
  4. Mightyツ

    Mightyツ
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 9, 2021
    Messages:
    20
    It should auto install, you go to appdata, local, beamng, latest, IMPORTANT: Extraxt/open the AL18 content folder. Then drop it in. Then you clear your temp file.
    --- Post updated ---
    And it seems you have reflections off, if you cannot turn them on because of performance issues I understand, but it makes a huge difference of how the game looks.
     
  5. cheems_samurai

    cheems_samurai
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Messages:
    147
    Yeah that was before I played with the settings. When I deleted the temp it deleted my saved settings for some reason so had to put those to maximum again. I have a NASA PC so I run all on maximum including reflections. Still doesn't look as good as AL18
    --- Post updated ---
    Gotta say for some reason it wasn't working before but now it is. The difference looks smaller probably due to what Dave was talking about earlier with the new tonemap in 0.25, but it still looks great as always.
     

    Attached Files:

    • DesktopScreenshot20220618-09532198.png
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Exchy

    Exchy
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Messages:
    469
    If only beam had more LODs for objects, smaa can't handle all the jittering happening on native reso, i have to play 2160 (1080 monitor) to have at least smoother objects, everything in a distance still edgy
     
  7. yeahbuddyind

    yeahbuddyind
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Hey guys I have ran into a problem installing this. this pops up now in weird langue and i a=cant acess post fix. I followed instructions I thought right. It asked to replace files when first doing so. any suggestions on what todo? thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    • issu2.png
    • issue1.png
    • issue3.png
  8. cheems_samurai

    cheems_samurai
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Messages:
    147
    Uninstall the files from the Al18 folder, and the Al18 folder in BeamNG itself. Delete the temp file as well, then follow these directions.
    -Install AL18 on another drive or different place other than beamng folder
    -Extract it
    -Put the contents in Al18 in the BeamNG folder (appdata 0.25)
    -Delete temp folder if you havent already

    The UI folder is so that SSAO changes made in photo mode will stay while playing
     
  9. yeahbuddyind

    yeahbuddyind
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    what folders do I remove? since I have to start over what do I delete?
    --- Post updated ---
    Just want to make sure I dont remove the wrong folders
     
  10. notpee

    notpee
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2022
    Messages:
    134
    you just placed the zip file in your userfolder bruh
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. yeahbuddyind

    yeahbuddyind
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    yeah but their is no post fix AL18 in the file
    --- Post updated ---
    My old version had this but I don't see it on the new one?
     

    Attached Files:

    • oldversion.png
  12. Labont

    Labont
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2022
    Messages:
    1
    When you install in 0.25, do you have to put all the files in the directrory because the ui file for an exemple makes my menu very laggy and also idk what are the ks nord and the other map
     
  13. cheems_samurai

    cheems_samurai
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Messages:
    147
    I would uninstall beam then reinstall
     
  14. TheRiderHaru

    TheRiderHaru
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2022
    Messages:
    4
    Does the AL 18-2 still works in Version 0.25?
     
  15. Nazu

    Nazu
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2021
    Messages:
    955
    literally looks better than forza [imo]
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  16. Chiraen

    Chiraen
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2022
    Messages:
    25
    Time to roll back to 0.24 i guess. Your mod is more worth it than the update...
     
  17. cheems_samurai

    cheems_samurai
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Messages:
    147
    on god
     
  18. notpee

    notpee
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2022
    Messages:
    134
    what ssao settings do you use?
     
  19. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2,815
    It works on 0.25, plus you can only roll back to 0.23, in which AL18 probably doesn't work
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. Brother_Dave

    Brother_Dave
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,601
    I leave the contrast at 1.5 but increase the radius to 1.25ish. I also experiment with which quality to use, highest quality makes the SSAO normals map (the one causing the dots) to be more distinct.

    I also use a bunch of other settings in the world editors Renderer Components, all beamng things now, none of my hocus pocus except i do att the color correction strength file cause that elliminates the dullness. Also using my lens flare. BeamNG can look really great now, even in the shadows.
     

    Attached Files:

    • screenshot_2022-06-20_21-25-43.png
    • screenshot_2022-06-20_21-25-19.png
    • BeamngdriveScreenshot20220620-21271294.png
    • BeamngdriveScreenshot20220620-21272094.png
    • BeamngdriveScreenshot20220620-21274636.png
    • BeamngdriveScreenshot20220620-21270420.png
    • BeamngdriveScreenshot20220620-133238102.png
    • Like Like x 9
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice