Unsolved Help i Am making a suzuki Jimny called the ibishu crawler but Jbeam exporter is not working

Discussion in 'Mod Support' started by BADSUPRA0708, Jun 23, 2021.

  1. BADSUPRA0708

    BADSUPRA0708
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2021
    Messages:
    31
    Im trying to do this hood But it will not work with The jbeam exporter Says
    ERROR: Mesh contains Ngons, only triangles and quads are supported.
    idk what is wrong
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2021-06-23.png
    • 2021-06-231.png
  2. _Diamond_Coal_

    _Diamond_Coal_
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Messages:
    505
    Maybe it's because you use Ngons instead of tris or quads? lol
     
  3. BADSUPRA0708

    BADSUPRA0708
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2021
    Messages:
    31
    Sorry its my first time
    --- Post updated ---
    soo does this mean i have to do everything allll over again
     
  4. Cincinnatus

    Cincinnatus
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2020
    Messages:
    612
    That looks way too messy to be a jbeam. There are vertices in places that aren't necessary, and if you did need them, you should've created more edge loops. I'd recommend restarting and taking a look at vanilla jbeams. Also, I wouldn't recommend using the blender jbeam exporter to make a hood jbeam.
     
  5. BADSUPRA0708

    BADSUPRA0708
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2021
    Messages:
    31
    welp i already did it time to find out what happens in beamng
    --- Post updated ---
    well i hit it once it glitched so hard the game crashed
     
  6. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    484
    You can't have ngons, ngons are faces that have more than 4 vertices. You must separate everything in quads.
     
  7. BADSUPRA0708

    BADSUPRA0708
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2021
    Messages:
    31
    Welp yep restart
    --- Post updated ---
    Alright im restarting
    --- Post updated ---
    Do you wanna see it when it is finished?
     
  8. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    3,662
    At least learn the absolute basics of Jbeam before using the exporter... This won't work.
     
  9. BADSUPRA0708

    BADSUPRA0708
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2021
    Messages:
    31
    Like this?
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2021-06-232.png
  10. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    484
    Yes, like that.
     
  11. Agent_Y

    Agent_Y
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    Messages:
    3,662
    This looks a lot more fitting for Jbeam
     
  12. BADSUPRA0708

    BADSUPRA0708
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2021
    Messages:
    31
    Right so do i need to press e and add Another vertice or do i add another plane
    --- Post updated ---
    idk its my first time sorry im like patrick star who breaks the retard limiter
     
  13. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    484
    Select an edge, press e, repeat until you have everything in place, fill the areas you need to fill with F an forming a closed mesh, then adjust vertices positions.
     
  14. BADSUPRA0708

    BADSUPRA0708
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2021
    Messages:
    31
    Alright then i will keep this thread open just in case something else goes wrong
    --- Post updated ---
    or just triangulate them??
     
  15. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    484
    No, that's gonna give you a very messy result. For the jbeam to work properly the beams must be arranged well, and triangulating will put them in a messy manner.
    --- Post updated ---
    You could use the knife cut though.
     
  16. BADSUPRA0708

    BADSUPRA0708
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2021
    Messages:
    31
    how though?
    --- Post updated ---
    so use quads?
    --- Post updated ---
    also does this still be able to work
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2021-06-233.png
  17. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    484
    No, cut lines vertically beetween those vertices so that each face only have 4 vertices.
     
  18. BADSUPRA0708

    BADSUPRA0708
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2021
    Messages:
    31
    do i seperate them??
    --- Post updated ---
    seperate them into 4 vertices each?
     
  19. Turbo49>

    Turbo49>
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2021
    Messages:
    484
    Yes
     
  20. BADSUPRA0708

    BADSUPRA0708
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2021
    Messages:
    31
    so like this
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2021-06-234.png
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice