Introduction to scenarios creation

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by Nadeox1, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. Dbeehler

    Dbeehler
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    could anyone link me on how to upack the mods for 5.0 ... i cant find it
     
  2. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,619
    Why do you need to unpack mods?
     
  3. Dbeehler

    Dbeehler
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    when i unpack the starter for the scenarios, it doesnt show up in game. (quick reply thanks!)
    EDIT : nadeox (cant spell) said it changed for 5.0 , so how do i do it?
     
  4. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,619
    Take a look at my post #39 in this thread.
     
  5. Dbeehler

    Dbeehler
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    oh my, THANK YOU! i can now have a chance to do this
    i might need some help, i want to add AI but im going to play with it a bit
     
  6. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,619
    You are welcome. I strongly recommend that you start out by creating things as discussed in this thread (you have no reason not to read the entire thread) before considering anything not covered in the thread. Please do not bounce back in here asking for help adding AI before you can create a standard scenario for example. Once you've mastered that, the next step is to look at other (preferably stock) scenarios which include AI. You'll need to use Lua.
     
  7. monte379

    monte379
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    789
    Deleted: Sorry for inconvenience.

    Now I have a question.

    @Nadeox1 or anyone who knows, when changing the vehicle where do I find the exact info. How do I find the info for the sunburst rally. Like how the covet's is partConfig = "vehicles/hatch/stock_M.pc";
     
    #47 monte379, Jan 10, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2016
  8. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,654
    In that vehicle's ZIP.

    For example, go to (BeamNG.Drive Directory)/content/vehicles/sunburst.zip and see which config you want to use
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. monte379

    monte379
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    789
    I was looking in the wrong place in the vehicle's folder and after asking some steam/forum friends I actually got the info I needed, thanks anyway.

    Also thank you for the tutorial it was easy to understand and done well. I actually have a scenario awaiting approval in the repository now and know how to make more in the future:)
     
  10. RXmonkey

    RXmonkey
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Hello Nadeox1 & Others,

    I was able to get the scenario to load for editing by placing the files in the path you use but without the mods directory. For me it was documents/BeamNG.drive/levels/'map_name'/scenarios. If I used mods/levels/'map_name'scenarios it didn't show up. I thought I'd add what helped me for the sake of helping others on the forums.

    I do have a question: I have tried to mod levels that are custom made (I like the rock crawling courses) to add waypoints and make it into a scenario and not just a free roam course. When doing so the my_first_scenario appears miles from the actual land way out in the ocean. I cannot get the coordinates to move it so I have to click and drag it for 5 mins to get it back to the mainland. Even after doing this and deleting filename and repacking, it still spawns the car in the ocean... Any thoughts?
     
  11. monte379

    monte379
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    789
    When you repack it, it makes you save the .prefab. You will then need to save it to your desktop and you can find it in documents-beamng.drive-content-users-owner-desktop after you do that take the contents from that .prefab file and replace the contents of the .prefab file in levels-map_name-.prefab

    I hope this helps:)
     
  12. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,619
    I'm not sure where you came up with that path that didn't work. The paths were addressed here in post #39. Was I unclear in some way?
    ... if you read the thread you'll see that Scepheo and I have both explicitely pointed out that this is unnecessary. See post #'s 21 and 27 for that information.

    FWIW this is not a long thread, I recommend reading through all of it for anyone interested in the topic of making scenarios.
     
  13. monte379

    monte379
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    789
    So I don't have to delete the prefab_filename? Just repack and it will save to levels-mapname-.prefab ?
     
  14. torsion

    torsion
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,619
    :cool: Certainly 2 experienced creators of scenarios are saying that. It won't take you long to confirm it for yourself!
     
  15. monte379

    monte379
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    789
    While your here, how do you add laps to a scenario?
     
  16. mumboking

    mumboking
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,404
    I can answer this! Add
    Code:
    "lapCount": numberHere
    to the scenario's json file.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. monte379

    monte379
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    789
    Oh it's that simple? Thanks:)
     
  18. minisnooken

    minisnooken
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    I have one question that I am pretty sure nobody has asked yet:
    I changed the screenshot for my scenario but the picture does not show up on the selection menu/screen. I checked, and all of the properties of the picture seem to be fine; JPEG, 1920x1080, etc. I just don't know why the tile (if ya will) is just white.
    THX!!
     
  19. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,654
    Are you sure the name of the image and the name written in the .json file match?
     
  20. minisnooken

    minisnooken
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Messages:
    88
    Yes... everything matches. I'm fairly certain about that.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice