Introduction to scenarios creation

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by Nadeox1, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. mumboking

    mumboking
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,404
    So you tried changing the partConfig line?
    Make sure it's still like "vehicles/sunburst/configName.pc".
     
  2. monte379

    monte379
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    789
    Yeah, I'll try again later maybe I made an error.
     
  3. -randy-

    -randy-
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    One great tutorial! It was really easy to follow the steps. Thanks! :)

    But now I've reached a temporary limit:
    I want to create a scenario on a user map (Crimson Valley by Ouerbacker). There are no objects (e.g. barriers etc.) in this map. What is the best way to get objects to load with a scenario without causing the mentioned errors?
     
  4. jetFire55

    jetFire55
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Hey Nadeox how can I make a scenario that contains AI. I wanted to make a police chase but I don't know how to...
     
  5. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,654
    Study how official scenarios are made and learn from them :)

    For AI, you surely need a LUA script, else the AI will not know what to do (the police chases scenario do come with LUA Scripts)
     
  6. jetFire55

    jetFire55
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    does this mean I actually need to know how to code in LUA or I can just use a tool ingame?
     
  7. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,654
    LUA requires scripting.
    If your plan is to just make another chase scenario, you can just pick the lua file from an official scenario. But you must setup your scenario in the same exact way, or it won't work (means all objects must be named in the same way)
     
  8. jetFire55

    jetFire55
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    so different map, different cars but same code and same names otherwise I'll have to change the code?
     
  9. TheMohawkNinja

    TheMohawkNinja
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    206
    I'm trying to make a scenario for the Bathurst map, but I am having a weird issue. Not doing anything in the scenario works fine, just to let you know.

    Once I added in the waypoints, and altered the .json accordingly, none of the scenarios show up at all. Only the "download more" option.

    Here's the .json code right now:
    Code:
    [
    {
        "name": "Bathurst Time Trial",
        "description": "See how fast you can get around one of Australia's most famous race tracks!",
        "previews": ["my_first_scenario.jpg"],
        "type": "race",
        "authors": "TheMohawkNinja",
    
        "difficulty": "10",
       
        "vehicles": {
            "scenario_player0": {"playerUsable": true, "startFocus": true },
            "*": {"playerUsable": false},
        },
       
        "whiteListActions": ["default_whitelist_scenario" ],
        "blackListActions": ["default_blacklist_scenario" ],
       
        "lapConfig": ["p1","p2","p3,"p4","p5","p6","p7","p8","p9","p10","p11","p12","p13","p14","p15"],
        "prefabs": ["BathurstTimeTrial"],
        "radiusMultiplierAI": 2
    },
    ]
     
  10. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,654
    Where did you put that file?
    Does the map actually have p1, p2, p3 waypoints in it?
     
  11. bobby_boulgat

    bobby_boulgat
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    453
    all the elements of the scenario must match at what there is written in json. the name of the picture, prefab, etc
     
  12. Scepheo

    Scepheo
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    601
    Trailing commas are not allowed in JSON. I count 2 (in "vehicles" and the main array). You wrote "p3," p4" instead of "p3", "p4".

    Checking that you actually wrote sensible JSON is not hard. Put some effort in next time.
     
  13. TheMohawkNinja

    TheMohawkNinja
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    206
    I had a feeling it was somewhere in there, given all the quotation marks

    (A) I didn't know tools like that existed, and (B) I would have been looking for a comma in the wrong spot with a bunch of quotations around it with no color-coded text. That's not easy to do manually, or else I would have found it already.
     
  14. -randy-

    -randy-
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Is it possibly an obvious solution I'm just to blind to see or has my post been missed?
     
  15. coolbill14_ 2

    coolbill14_ 2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    244
    anyone going to make a video tutorial?
     
  16. Kola360

    Kola360
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    i made a video on how to make the start of the race for the people who are still struggling.
    will make a video on how to make waypoints soon :D



    EDIT: part 2 is up.

     
    #96 Kola360, Mar 20, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  17. ThreeDTech21

    ThreeDTech21
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,614
    Does anyone know? Is this tutorial outdated? I want to follow it to a T but I need to know if it is or not so I can include other updated sources in learning.
     
  18. Regenworm

    Regenworm
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    197
    --- Post updated ---
    Help me please Nadeox! I dont know how to find all of the codings of the cars! whatis the coding of the Hiroshi Sunburst Rally version? Thank you already :)
     
  19. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    Spinning Cube
    BeamNG Team

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    14,654
    What is the 'coding' of a car?
     
  20. Regenworm

    Regenworm
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    197
    Help me please Nadeox! I dont know how to find all of the codings of the cars
    I mean the thingy you have to fill in the json file to get the car into your scenario as a car you drive. I hope you get it now

    Edit : the Player0 or Vehicle0 was it called?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice