1. Stuck, Having problems with creating your mod? Let us help you: Mod Support

Introduction to Vehicle Creation - Feedback Thread

Discussion in 'Content Creation' started by B25Mitch, Nov 26, 2014.

  1. SquishyPanda

    SquishyPanda
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Aha! That worked ^_^ Thanks!
    --- Post updated ---
    I am back on track :) Thanks for your help
    upload_2016-6-18_20-21-55.png
    As you can see, I am also a master of Photoshop.

    The reskor body currently wobbles like an underinflated air mattress left outside in a gentle breeze. Is it good practice to add some internal jbeams to stiffen it? Or should I be tweaking the jbeam properties in the jbeam file?
     
  2. SquishyPanda

    SquishyPanda
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    I threw in a few interior beams and it seems to work pretty well. It would be better if I added more but I was just doing them in notepad because I didn't want to do the blender bits over again haha.

    I know I'm getting ahead of myself if I've blown an evening being confounded by a three-click operation in Blender, but will there be/is there already a tutorial on making vehicles out of separate pieces (chassis, body panels, suspension bits, etc) and anchoring them together?
     
  3. SquishyPanda

    SquishyPanda
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    I don't know what happened but everything's gone off the rails. I tried starting over to make a different car body now that I have an idea of how the jbeams structures are supposed to work, but following the same steps as the first time yields a console full of errors:
    upload_2016-6-19_20-21-34.png
    "unable to get original node positions"
    The camera goes to the floor and is stuck there, and the debug menu won't open. Hitting K doesn't do anything. Everything works fine if I tab back to another vehicle.

    What's weird is the thing that was working yesterday is now giving me the same problem :/ I feel like I've messed something up translating a blender file to jbeams. I applied my mirror modifier and hit Ctrl-A and made sure Location, Scale, and Rotation were checked before exporting. I couldn't even get the Blender starter cube to load in the game.

    In blender, I typically leave the object origin at 0,0,0 and move things around in edit mode to make sure everything stays above the Z plane. I've also tried moving the object so the origin is above the Z plane. Neither option seems to be working today.

    Should I just take up pottery or something instead?
     
  4. SquishyPanda

    SquishyPanda
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    As far as I can tell all my brackets are paired up and I'm not missing any commas. I don't have any refNodes but it worked without them the first time I tried this. The jbeam file loads in NodeBeam editor but one of the nodes is red
    upload_2016-6-20_14-36-6.png
    Should I try to make a refNodes section? Is the red node screwing me up?
    --- Post updated ---
    Oh nevermind the red one is just the first node in the list haha. I'll start working on that refNodes section
    --- Post updated ---
    Still no dice :(
    jbeam file
    (BTW your rock crawler and rock bouncer are neat-o. I totally blew a couple of hours cruising around the Utah map with those.)
     
    #124 SquishyPanda, Jun 21, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2016
  5. SquishyPanda

    SquishyPanda
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Hm. I removed the extra commas and junk, cleared the cache, and tried again. Still the same problem :/
     
  6. burilkovdeni

    burilkovdeni
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,080
    Put in mods.

    This should work.

    20160621112124_1.jpg 20160621112743_1.jpg < Ingame.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. SquishyPanda

    SquishyPanda
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    The camera works now for some reason but I'm still getting teh same "unable to get original node positions" message:
    upload_2016-6-21_10-25-12.png
    Looks like there is a line of red text for every node and beam.

    I will do that. My bad cluttering up this thread.
     
  8. Acrain7

    Acrain7
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2,823
    what am i doing wrong with the collision triangles? i followed the same steps as the tutorial, but it wont show up ingame...
    upload_2016-6-23_7-25-7.png
    EDIT:
    fixed, had forgotten to save jbeam file XD
     
    #128 Acrain7, Jun 23, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2016
  9. RedBoyRyan

    RedBoyRyan
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    nvm, i figured out how Thx Google but the other guy is not encourging
     
  10. CaddyCar02

    CaddyCar02
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Good But not exactly what I'm looking for. This tutorial is more for building from scratch. I have recently remodeled the pigeon but extending the body but don't know how to edit the jbeam correctly.

    - Looking for how to edit jbeam files already associated with a vehicle.
    - If you want a more detailed answer just ask
     
  11. Dextc18

    Dextc18
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Hi there, I am having trouble creating my new mod. I have followed all the steps up to the point of the first game test, but the game does not recognise it. I have checked in the mods menu, and it is not there, I have tried using just a folder and a zip file, and neither work, and I have also tried placing both of these in the content/vehicles folder, and that also did not work. I remember after some certain updates, some mods would go "missing" that I had installed. Would be possible that it is the version that is the problem? (I am using the most current version- 0.61). Thanks!
     
  12. Mario64iscool2

    Mario64iscool2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Sorry for bumping this thread but my vehicle won't show up in selector...
     

    Attached Files:

    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. Mario64iscool2

    Mario64iscool2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    It just won't appear, that's why I'm confused.
    The video says it all.
     
  14. Mario64iscool2

    Mario64iscool2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Is it a matter of the exporter being unable to handle the load?
     
  15. gianpiero

    gianpiero
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    373
    i have this problem
     

    Attached Files:

    • screenshot_00026.png
  16. Nadeox1

    Nadeox1
    Expand Collapse
    BeamNG.Support
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    12,955
    3D Model 'origin' is not at 0,0,0 probably.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Mario64iscool2

    Mario64iscool2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    Cross bracing this would only add more beams. Besides, It's already triangulated.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Screenshot (59).png
    #134 Mario64iscool2, Sep 6, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2016
  18. Mario64iscool2

    Mario64iscool2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    ...
    Why?
     
  19. Mario64iscool2

    Mario64iscool2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    How would I use the High Poly for the render with the low-poly Jbeam? BTW, the vehicle is built to be indestructible.
     
    #136 Mario64iscool2, Oct 1, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2016
  20. Mario64iscool2

    Mario64iscool2
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    I exported it, it won't load in-game...

    Edit: It'll load, it turns out I had more than one Jbeam, and they conflicted with one another.
     
    #136 Mario64iscool2, Oct 11, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2016
  21. DankEngihn

    DankEngihn
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    I know I'm bumping, but I'm stuck at the textures part. I have the everything up to the textures done, but I have no clue what to do from here.
     
  22. blueshift

    blueshift
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    457
    Have you taken a look at the wiki? http://wiki.beamng.com/Modeling_and_Texturing_Guide
     
    • Like Like x 1
  23. DankEngihn

    DankEngihn
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  24. booger4495

    booger4495
    Expand Collapse

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Troubles with 3D Model


    Sorry for bumping but i'm having issues with trying to get my 3D model to show up. I have my Jbeam showing up and i can crash into it. But when i add all the scripts that the tutorial said too, the project is still just a Jbeam. :/. I've added the materials.cs and name.cs and i'm pretty sure I've checked my main Jbeam script and i can't find whats going wrong. Anyone have any ideas for whats going on? Would appreciate :)
     

    Attached Files:

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice