Unsolved Jbeam properties compared to real world physical properties

Discussion in 'Mod Support' started by crashmaster, Nov 4, 2019.

1. crashmaster

crashmaster
    Expand Collapse

Hey everyone!

Today ive got a really big question/discussion that id like to start with the forum.

Over the past few years ive been doing a lot of different jbeam related stuff, ive been able to know how jbeaming works, aka the language itself and the conditions in which you should write code. The syntax in other words haha.

But my biggest question thats been stopping me since i started modding is the relation between the numbers we give the jbeam and real world data.

Im currently studying in technical design (3d solidworks stuff)
    and in those 2 years ive had a few different classes related to materials and such.

Quick warning before we start in some technical stuff, the numbers i give might be off or simply completely wrong, im no engineer and i know little about this stuff but this is stuff that is easy to learn when the right person comes in and explains this stuff.
    Lets say that i dont have a technical specs sheet of every material on earth so im just gonna give out examples to know what i should do if i end up needing to calculate the weight/mass and force of certain items.

Hopefully with this thread, a lot of experienced modder could pitch in a explain about how they calculate such things to get a realistic acting jbeam.

Lets say ive got a 2x2x1/8inch square tubing that i wanna make a frame with in beamng.
    if i know that for every 1m cube of steel it weights 3.47lb/ft how would i go about in jbeaming something that is equal of the strength of the material i want to simulate?

I know how to calculate the weight of an item given its size/total volume and weight per cubic meter.